This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Shorting LINK on GMX

Translated by ChatGPT.

I don't feel so comfortable posting about finance and/or investments because it's completely outside my area of expertise. However, I'm constantly experimenting with new dApps, and these experiences are cool to share. That's why I decided to push myself to make a post about some of my "playings" in the DEFI world. Remember that THIS POST IS NOT AN INVESTMENT RECOMMENDATION since my methods are not technical at all 😆.

Today, I'll share with you my short operation carried out through GMX, which is a Decentralized Perpetual Futures Exchange. Despite the complicated name, this means that you can bet on the Long or short of a cryptocurrency, with the possibility to leverage to increase profits, assuming the risk of being liquidated more easily.

Source.

I only decided to open this short position during a strong upward trend in the last weeks because the chosen asset's price was already too stretched. Besides, it's the largest holding in my portfolio, meaning that if it continued to rise, it would be positive for me. In case of a fall, this short operation would yield some profit, serving as a hedge.

The asset in question is Chainlink ($LINK), one of the major cryptos that has surged the most in the last 2 months. My analysis was simple; looking at the chart, I noticed that when it reached $16.00, it lost its buying power and started to correct. So, when it reached this price level, I initiated my operation.

Chainlink/USD.

Using $100 USDC, I opened the short operation when the $LINK price reached $16.022 with a leverage of 15x. This led my liquidation price to $16.919, but at no point in the previous days did it come close to that value, so I considered it an interesting risk to take.

The order was opened on 12/02/2023 at 19:28 and cost me $2,088 in fees. However, on GMX, there's a financing fee mechanism to encourage operations with fewer bettors. In this case, most users were going long, incurring a financing fee of 0.0067%/1h, while short operators on the same asset received 0.0068/1h% as long as they kept their orders open (and were not liquidated). In my case, the operation was closed on 12/04/2023 at 09:10, and during this period, I accumulated $3.67 in financing fees, almost offsetting all opening and closing fees for the short, which totaled $4.798 in the end (summing entry and exit).

But let's get to the point; was this operation profitable, or was I liquidated, losing my $100 USDC? Despite the price rising to $16.30, the next day it started to fall and reached $15.252. Then came the recovery, and given the zone with many defined previous tops and bottoms, I preferred to close the operation at $15.535, pocketing a total of $141.05 USDC. Subtracting all costs and adding the gains from financing fees, my final profit in this operation was $36.252 realized in less than 2 days, a pretty interesting outcome for someone who knows nothing about technical analysis 🤣.

Although not good with technical analysis and price predictions, being a Hodl of $LINK made me calm. If I were liquidated, it would mean my hold position was rising, bringing me greater profits than the $100 USDC that would be lost. This gave me peace of mind to structure this operation without many concerns and yielded a good profit that will soon be converted into new purchases!

The futures market is quite complex and requires study, but if you feel confident and want to experience this market, I recommend using GMX to immerse yourself in the decentralized world of cryptocurrencies and participate in the Arbitrum incentives happening over the next few weeks.

GMX.

Thank you so much to everyone who read this far, I hope you enjoyed it. If you like my content, I ask you to send your vote on the post and follow my profile so you can read future posts.

If the king doesn't move then his subjects won't follow.

Twitter.

Eu não me sinto tão confortável em fazer postagens sobre finanças e/ou investimentos pois foge totalmente da minha área de conhecimento, porém constantemente estou experimentando novos dApps e essas experiências são bem legais de serem compartilhadas, por isso decidi me forçar a fazer um post sobre algumas das minhas "brincadeiras" no mundo DEFI. Lembre-se que ESSE POST NÃO É UMA RECOMENDAÇÃO DE INVESTIMENTO afinal meus métodos não são nada técnicos 😆.

Hoje compartilharei com vocês minha operação de Short realizada através da GMX que é uma Exchange Descentralizada de Futuros Perpétuos. Apesar do nome complicado, isso significa que você poderá apostar na Alta (Long) ou na Baixa (short) de uma criptomoeda, tendo a possibilidade de se alavancar para aumentar seus lucros assumindo o risco de ser liquidado com maior facilidade.

Fonte.

Eu só decidi abrir essa operação apostando na baixa durante uma forte tendência de alta nas últimas semanas pois o ativo que escolhi já estava com o preço muito esticado, além disso ele é a maior participação da minha carteira, isso significa que caso ele continuasse subindo isso seria positivo para mim, e em caso de queda essa operação de short me renderia algum lucro, servindo como um hedge.

O ativo em questão é a Chainlink ($LINK), uma das criptos grandes que mais subiu nos últimos 2 meses. Minha análise foi bem simples, ao olhar para o gráfico eu percebi que ao chegar no valor de $16,00 ela perdia sua força de compra e começava a corrigir, então ao chegar nesse patamar de preço eu iniciei a minha operação.

Chainlink/USD.

Utilizando $100 USDC eu abri a operação de short quando o preço de $LINK atingiu $16,022 e fiz uma alavancagem de 15x, isso levou meu preço de liquidação para $16,919 porém em nenhum momento dos dias anteriores ela chegou perto de atingir esse valor, então considerei um risco interessante para se correr.

A ordem foi aberta no dia 02/12/2023 às 19:28h e me custou $2,088 de taxas, porém na GMX existe um mecanismo de taxas de financiamento para incentivar as operações em que houverem menos apostadores. Nesse caso a maioria dos usuários estavam fazendo operações de long e isso lhes custa uma taxa de financiamento de 0,0067%/1h, enquanto os operadores de short nesse mesmo ativo receberão 0,0068/1h% enquanto mantiverem suas ordens abertas (e não forem liquidados). No meu caso a operação foi encerrada dia 04/12/2023 às 09:10h e durante esse período eu acumulei $3,67 das taxas de financiamento, compensando quase todas as taxas de abertura e fechamento do short que no final (somando entrada e saída) totalizaram $4,798.

Mas vamos ao que mais interessa, essa operação foi lucrativa ou eu fui liquidado e perdi meus $100 USDC? Apesar do preço ter subido até $16,30, no dia seguinte ele começou a cair e atingiu $15,252, em seguida veio a recuperação e por se tratar de uma zona com muitos topos e fundos anteriores definidos eu preferi encerrar a operação em $15,535, colocando no bolso o total de $141,05 USDC. Ao subtrair todos os custos com taxas e somar os ganhos das taxas de financiamento, meu lucro final nessa operação foi de $36,252 realizados em menos de 2 dias, um resultado bem interessante para alguém que não entende nada de análise técnica 🤣.

Apesar de não ser bom com análises técnicas e previsões de preço, o fato de ser um Hodl de $LINK me deixou tranquilo pois caso eu fosse liquidado, isso significaria que minha posição de hold estaria subindo e me trazendo lucros maiores do que os $100 USDC que seriam perdidos, isso me deu tranquilidade para estruturar essa operação sem muitas preocupações e me rendeu um bom lucro que em breve será convertido em novas compras!

O mercado de futuros é algo bastante complexo e requer estudo, mas se você se sentir confiante e quiser experimentar esse mercado eu recomendo utilizar a GMX para vivenciar o mundo descentralizado das criptomoedas e ainda participar dos incentivos da Arbitrum que estarão ocorrendo durante as próximas semanas.

GMX.

Muito obrigado a todos que leram até aqui, espero que tenham gostado. Se vocês curtirem meus conteúdos, peço que deixem o seu voto na postagem e sigam o meu perfil para poderem acompanhar as futuras postagens.

Se o Rei não se mover, seus súditos não irão segui-lo.

Twitter.