How Much My Kid’s Education Cost

Hi Everyone,

It’s the beginning of the year and it is also the time to plan for extra curriculum activities for my kids. Due to COVID, we have cut back a lot but this year things seemed to look a bit better so I have been putting their names down for a few things. To start off, my kids are studying in the public school system so we don’t have to pay much except for a small school fee every 6 months to cover some small costs for the school. We cannot afford to go to private school so we moved to an area which has a reputable public school.

IMG_4255 3.JPG

Below I will be listing the costs for each kid for each week in Australian dollars to give you all an idea how much things costs at different ages. I have a kid in pre school and one in year 1. The costs is calculated on activities for Term 1 only.

Baby E (Year 1)

School fees - $12
Saturday sports - $20
After school care - $80
After school lego course (1 day for 1.5hrs) - $16
Kumon - $35 (queried but haven’t paid yet)

Total - $163

Baby M (Pre school)

Daycare fees - $250
Saturday sports - $20
Kumon - $35 (queried but haven’t paid yet)

Total - $305

Total for two kids = $468AUD

As you can see above, each week we are paying just under $500 for their education which also excludes the books I get for them to read, uniform or any stationary. The biggest cost will be Baby M’s pre school fee where we can’t wait for him to go into primary and save a chunk of that a week and use that money for him to do extra activities.

We are not well off and both of us are working and we just have enough to sustain these costs. I can’t imagine how much private schools will cost. Keeping in mind things will only go up in price but not our wages at the same rate. We are lucky that the primary school is nearly free so we can use the extra money to keep Baby E learning different things.

If you have kids, how much do you use for their education/activities. It will be interesting to see what everyone pays around the world.

happywalk02.gif

animation by @catwomanteresa

Travelgirl pic.jpeg


Thanks for reading. If you like my post, please follow, comment and upvote me. There will be more exciting posts & destinations to come.

All photos & videos are taken by me & co in all my blogs/stories unless quoted.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency