No more credit card debt | Happy & Proud

no more credit card debt.png

Just 20 days ago

I shared with you that I paid off half of the the credit card debt using our crypto portfolio. Yes, it hurts to see things vanish, but let me tell you that it hurt a lot more that soon after I started using the funds for that, more than the full debt vanished in thin air. So if I started this a month earlier, we would had some more coins left. But hey, it is what it is, deal with it, right?

First we used crypto for a car

Which turned out to be one that has some issues, even though it drives super nice and the motor is perfectly fine so it seems. I have not regret using the crypto funds for the car, as it opened up a whole new world for us. The last time we drove a car was maybe 4 years ago, not even sure it could be 5 as well. So now we could go explore and find cool spots we never found as public transport was such a hassle. I hope the car can be fixed where it's having some issues as I truly started to get fond of the car while I was so scared to start driving the first month(s).

Then it was time to focus on debt relief

I'm not ashamed at all that we built up some debt here, because we simply had no other option at the time, promises were made by the employer of my boyfriend at the time, and they just fooled him (and many others). Once here, it's hard to just leave again like that, and we tried to make the best out of it. We had no savings at all so paying 3 months worth of rent PLUS furniture was not possible. We were offered the personal loan and credit card by the bank, it was arranged in a day, just like that.

We didn't even plan on spending more than needed, but sometimes life throws you lemons, and you have to deal with it. So we did. I was happy that the government here gave everyone the exemption to pay off loans/debts/mortgages during the first wave which came down to this: it was your own choice if you used the moratorium or not. We did, as I thought we could use that money otherwise, and knowing income would rise this year due to our plans, it made more sense to start paying off once we had some money left at the end of the month as we weren't obligated to pay it anyway.

As soon as it was possible, I started calculating

I set myself a goal to pay it off before July, and I managed to pull out a few bags of crypto cutting the debt in half in just 3 weeks time. That was 20 days ago and I was determined to reach the deadline. Every day that I'd pay it off sooner would save us interest, so it's worth it. There will only be one last interest payment left and that's that. We're done! When I saw the amount to zero this afternoon, I seriously had a few tears here and there because I was honestly proud of my determination to get it done before July and I made it happen.

We came a long way financially

I remember very well that just some years ago, we needed to make a decision to pay for food or a bill/rent and having nothing left after a few days. Using the food banks and people that gave away food to get through the month. I will never forget that time, and I will do anything to avoid ever being in that position again. That's where my determination came from. My boyfriend was a bit more laid back and said why are you stressing if crypto prizes fall, just pay it next month, but I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it and so I did.
This money was not just a few hundred bucks, but more than three thousand, which is a lot for us. There's not much crypto left now, but it's fine, we will start over. I kind of like having a "fresh" start building again.

Thanks to this achievement

I also have noticed that my thoughts are a lot more focused on the long term building now, because soon there will be nothing left that needs our attention. At one point the car will be fixed, or maybe exchanged, who knows it depends on the costs, and the personal loan (which is much smaller than this debt) will be paid off as well, so then we don't have to take out anything. I really look forward to that, building a long term portfolio without worrying about the current prices as that's not important. The fundamentals are and we don't need it now anyway. What a change in our crypto journey that will be.

We've been surviving for years, now it's time to build, and I can't wait!

Cryptocurrency truly can change lives! And I'm truly grateful for the opportunities out there and excited to learn more :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency