Metamask for newbies | Stuck transactions caused some serious panic! | The solution is included..

wisebanner.jpg
Banner for attention, more info in the second part of the post

I thought it might be funny to share this story

The annoyance started two and a half days ago, but this turned into panic a day later when other transactions piled up and I was afraid that my funds were lost.
Yesterday I managed to solve the issue by taking a deep breath, search for answers (again), and logical thinking. I have to admit that I could have probably solved it earlier if I wasn't caught up in panic all these hours (read: almost a day)

My Ethereum journey started this week buying Wise tokens

Before this moment, I refused to pay the insane fees on the ETH chain, and I stayed away from everything that people tried to convince me to buy. Something changed this weekend when I decided I should take a dive into the unknown world of ETH transactions using Metamask. It was sometimes not clear to me that a transaction seemed to be stuck in the cache when I was trying out the actual price/amount of tokens to fit it just right with my balance. So here's where it slowly went down and things weren't going as smooth anymore.

Transactions got stuck, like for a long time!

How did I solve this?

I told you in the title of this post, that I'd give the solution as well. So here's what I did. First, I searched online and mostly found info that was like gibberish to me, I had no clue what these terms meant, until I found somewhere that when 1 transaction is stuck, the others after that (the ones with a higher "nonce" value) will most likely be stuck as well. Now, I can't recall if all of them were stuck after, I have the idea that one or two went through (probably luck), but from now on, I know that if there's a stuck transaction, this should be solved prior to putting in another transaction!

Go to your Metamask and check activities:

meta example.png

Don't mind the little ETH in there :) as this is just an example to show you what to do
Click on activity and below you will see all the transactions, incoming and outgoing. You can see if they are still pending or already done, plus you can find the TXID there as well to follow your transactions.

Whenever a transaction is on pending for a very long time (let's say 24 hours or sooner if you're impatient and think you may have been cheapskating adjusting the transaction fee (I know I Have!), you should not fill in another transaction!
Because now you know that those after, probably get stuck as well, which makes no sense putting them in there, right?

In my case, there was a duplicate transaction for some reason, and both of these couldn't go through anymore due to the funds that were already moved different the night before. Metamask didn't understand, where I assumed it would bounce after X amount of time. It didn't. The next day, I tried everything, speed up this transaction, cancel transaction (for an extra fee, but no guarantee!) nothing worked. By the time that I started to worry, I noticed that the numbers were adding up actually.

I have to admit that it wasn't helping that I tried speeding up and later cancelling 2 transactions rather than focussing on one at a time, I may have made it more difficult for myself. What you have to do is start with the transaction with the lowest "Nonce value" You can find the nonce value by clicking on the transactions in the tab activities, there you see:

image.png

So 0 would obviously be the first to work with in case there were transactions stuck in this wallet, what you do is (yes even if your transaction is small!) speed up transaction and check the average box for the fee. Don't worry, if the transaction is invalid (like in my case as there was nothing to be moved anymore), it will bounch and cost you nothing.

Just 20 seconds, and it was fixed!

Just 20 seconds after I did this for the one with lowest nonce value, I received an error message something like transaction error. And with that, it was cleared from the activities tab. Then I repeated this with the second one and this worked again. Just 20 seconds, max!

Then I could finally get to the important transactions that were stuck, and speed them up as well. I knew Wise token had gone up a lot in price, so this transaction would defo not go through anymore, it was cancelled, and the next one as well. Then everything was cleared and I could fill in a new order that went through straight away.

Problem solved, headache instantly gone, and I bought myself some sweet little $Wise tokens extra in 1 transaction (but unfortunately much higher price already).

WISEstyleA761x697.png

Now that I finished the Metamask transaction part, let's talk $Wise

I have been trying to write a post about Wise token for a few days now, constantly getting distracted by the higher price and having to edit the images uploaded in my draft (lol, what a first world problem, ey?) so I still haven't completed the post. I hope to do so in the weekend because the price since I stepped in has gone up from $0.26 to $0.634 already.

image.png

When I was informed about this project, I had the idea this was another "Hex" project. So I ignored it for days and didn't want to hear about it. My boyfriend was in the middle of the communication between that person and me, while I'm the one taking care of the crypto (so far), there was this issue that he just couldn't convince me. Until I had a few days where there were little buy/sells in my wallet and I had some spare time to read and look into this project. It's selling at Uniswap, and already top 5 paired with ETH!!!

Mind you, I'm not the person that can explain the techs but I just decided for me it was best to step in, see what happens and slowly start understanding what was going on.
So what happened was, every day the price climbed, and I can honestly say, that even with the killing ETH fees, and withdrawal fees from one place to the other, plus the last rounds of buy-ins for prices in the 0.50 and up, are already in the green zone, aka profit.

For now, I would only like to leave you my ref link, as I'm super tired and you should always do your own research anyway, tomorrow I will come back to share some more of this hell of a journey so far! It's still early, and I already foresee the $1 mark soon, and much higher prices after that.

WISE token is backed by Ethereum!

Even if you won't feel comfortable staking (until Jan 13 you get 10% more shares for that), you can just buy a bunch, sit and wait a few days and take out your profits.
What I've done is, put in 2 stakes for different periods (1 year and 1,5 year) and these get great duration bonus (one 5.04 % and the other almost 9% !!!) on top of that, another 10% referral bonus.

After this, I bought in at several prices and left them in liquids until now, because I'm more comfortable spreading the risks to be honest.
I'm leaving my ref link here, because obviously, I hope if you are convinced to buy them, and stake them, you will use my referral link instead of the one of the team, so here it is:

Referral link Wise Token for 10% referral bonus

Tomorrow I will have a more solid post, I didn't want to leave the opportunity to chill this great project!

Thanks for stopping by!
Comments are highly appreciated..

Edit: just after publishing this post, this is what happened:

image.png

Now go check it out if you have some spare coins to invest...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency