Experience below the belt

One of the joys of yield farming is watching the little ticker count up every ten seconds and one of the bigger joys is coming home after a hard day of work and seeing that I earned less from my job than yield from an automated system. I am not sure if that is a joy - or it just means I don't get paid much.

image.png

Tomorrow, my wife will sign the contract for her new workplace and I hope that she will enjoy the position there. I reckon she is going to have a lot to learn in the first few months as it is quite different to the place she has currently, moving from a large retailer with tens of thousands of workers, to what is effectively a startup still with a few hundred, will be a bit of a culture shock - especially since the people at the new place are far younger and cooler. I am not sure how she will fit in there.... ;D I actually think she will have a lot of opportunity at the new place.

I don't know how all of this "crypto stuff" is going to play out for me, but I do hope that one day it is going to ensure that my wife will never have to worry about working for the money, but be able to choose what she really enjoys. I think I have given her that so far, but it has taken its toll on me personally, as I have had to work for the money.

I have always had to work for the money, though I am pretty lucky that at least in recent years, the work I do I also enjoy. Part of getting a wide range of professional experience under the belt is being able to have the background to have a little say over the picking and choosing of the future. I have had the pleasure of doing a lot of crappy jobs in my life and I think that if I hadn't done them, I wouldn't have the work ethic I have today.

Early jobs are like relationships at high school, there isn't a lot of skill involved and they aren't likely to last very long - but they are a learning experience, a place to get to understand where all the bits and pieces are and how they fit together. Mistakes are made, emotions are felt, breakups are experienced - but one leads onto another and in time, improvements can be made, if willing to learn that is. Some jobs are better teachers than others and it is good to have a job that has a bit of experience under its belt with training the inexperienced too.

One of the best jobs I had was at McDonald's, as the company knew how to train people to get the results they were looking for and, the people who worked there were a lot of fun socially - For me, it was two birds, one stone. There might have even been three or four birds in that time. I learned a lot from working there as a crew trainer and it helped me develop professionally going forward.

People look down on crappy jobs, the crappy work, the shittier pay - I have heard it said to me 1000 times at least on Hive "Why would I do the work here when I could earn the same amount flipping burgers?"

The argument was that they could earn more hourly and then buy HIVE or other crypto instead - how many do you think did that though? I suspect out of the group who spoke along those lines, the number who went and got a second job flipping burgers or similar and then bought crypto with the pay, is approaching zero.

So, I sat here writing, listening to people complain about not getting enough rewards even though they were similar to mine and watching as they slowly dropped off the back - and I kept writing. It sometimes annoys me when people say - "but you are successful because of your stake" - without them realizing that I have earned it here from zero. There are plenty of people who could have been in similar positions - they either didn't stay consistent or, they sold their stake - some just didn't have the right skills or experience to use what skills and experience they did have, well.

For me, my early days here were like the crappy jobs of my past, they taught me a lot. I learned about how to write, how to blog, the importance of engagement, the value of community and then of course, what the hell a blockchain is, crypto, tokenization and how they all work together to build a complex economy. Based on my starting position, I would never have got into crypto, let alone as heavily as I have and expanded out into other things like trading and DeFi, if I didn't have the early experience. I wouldn't have the understanding I do if I didn't go through broken hardforks, poorly thought out algorithms, bidbots, bad behaviors, social conflicts and all manner of scammers.

People want the fairytale ending, but they don't want to wade through the muck to get there. There is no story when "they lived happily ever after" is the only line in the book, meaning there is no value in the read. The value of Hive comes through the lessons learned and while those who will come in when everything is polished and shiny will have a good time, it will be those who got through the shit to get to that point, who will have the ability to pick and choose their future, because they have the experience under their belt to do so.

As always though, it isn't about how long a person has been here that matters, it is what they learned along the way that counts. There are people who have had a hundred jobs but can't get a position they like. Others who have had a hundred partners, but can't hold a relationship they value. And those who have had a hundred opportunities, but failed to take a single one.

No one can give you theirs, you have to get your experience yourself.
Make it valuable, as it might be the only thing you will ever own.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
37 Comments
Ecency