A power up bonus thanks to DOGE

Every first of the month is Hive Power Up Day where people are encouraged to show confidence in this platform by committing some of their funds to Hive Power where it is locked up for 13 weeks. By doing this they can take part in the distribution of rewards whilst earning from curation.

There are prizes to be won by those who power up, but I an ineligible by being a bigger account. I still do it anyway as there are badges to be had!

Today I added about 1% to my stake. That does not sound a lot, but it is much more than I have added in previous months.

Power up

I was able to do this mainly thanks to the ridiculous rise of Dogecoin based on memes and celebrity endorsements rather than actually being useful. Some years ago I was playing around with faucets to see what I could get. I had amassed some DOGE in a MultiDoge local wallet, but it was only worth a few cents back then. I checked on it a few weeks ago and found that what I had was worth a few hundred dollars! Extracting it was not as simple as I hoped. MultiDoge has not been updated in years and was looking like it could take weeks to update the local data. With help from people including @the-bitcoin-dood I found Dogechain that allows you to access a wallet. As soon as I unlocked it I was offered the option to transfer it elsewhere. I used BlockTrades to convert it to HIVE.

I was also reminded by @slobberchops that I had some Obyte thanks to an airdrop for Steem users some years ago. I know some people did really well from the referral scheme that used. I sold some of what I got, but the rest was locked up for a year. Recently the price was well up and I was able to use their app to extract my funds to Bittrex where I had to make a new account as I had not used it before. It is one of the exchanges that handles Obyte. Again I sold for HIVE.

In addition to all that I won some HBD from @nathanmars via Twitter to enable this substantial power up.

As the HIVE price had been going up I was not expecting to be able to buy much, but these windfalls changed that. I am not expecting to be so lucky in future.

Hive will only succeed if we believe in it and commit to improving it. You can be part of that success.

Hive five!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
44 Comments
Ecency