Vintage Engelhard Silver Bar PA28937



There are Portrait and Landscape Variaties, Art Bars and Commemorative Varieties of the Engelhard 1 oz Silver Bars.

Vintage Engelhard Silver Bar PA28937

ID: EI-01AV EI 1AV

Name: Engelhard Commercial Bar

Obverse: [Hallmark in Elongated Octagon] [1 TROY OZ.] [.999 FINE SILVER] [Serial Number: PA28937]

Reverse: Frosted, with a border.

MINTAGE: <800,000


Produced in 1980. The purity stamp was revised from ‘.999 FINE SILVER’ to ‘.999+FINE SILVER’ and font changes were made [e.g. the ‘S’ in ‘Silver’ was changed from a serif font to sans-serif] and the ‘H’ in Engelhard is slightly wider. Apparently, few survived melting. Note that some have a single letter prefix [‘P’] and some have a space between the prefix and the numbers [e.g. ‘P 59250′]. Occasionally observed in serial placement error as seen on bar PA83079.


Source: All Engelhard

Engelhard 1oz bars as a whole, are the most common and available of all Engelhard sizes produced. There were a total production of limited 4 million units of 1oz Engelhard bars over a span of two decades.


But in comparison to the popular US Silver Eagles, there are more produced of the American Silver Eagles in a single month than the entire Engelhard 1 oz bar production ever. That, in itself, is a compelling argument to pursue 1oz Engelhard silver bars.


Personally, I will try to collect known varieties of Engelhard 1 oz silver bars as I encounter them (at reasonable prices).


Prices for Engelhard 1 oz silver bars are notably higher than silver of from other manufacturers, but the name and reputation make it worth the additional premiums.



Sources: Bullion Exchanges, JM Bullion, Apmex



As I mentioned in my other post, I shall categorize the silver according to type when I present them to you. The 2022 coins are separate.

These are the pressed silver bar I showed you in 2022:

Engelhard Silver Bar PA28937
Engelhard Silver Bar PX37866
MTB Statue of Liberty Silver Bar by JM
Royal Mint Una & the Lion Silver Bar


I post an article daily. I feature precious metals every other day, and on other days I post article of general interest. Do follow me in my journey to save in silver and gold.

All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified.



HIVE: Fast, Scalable, Powerful.
THE BLOCKCHAIN FOR WEB 3.0


Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🥰🌺🤙!!!!

@silversaver888

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency