Inflation and Silver

October 20 is my 7th year anniversary of stacking. I started stacking the last quarter end of 2015. That was some 7 years ago.


Let us say that in 2015 you had $100 in you wallet, and you decided to keep that money "under the mattress" or in a shoebox.

And I, on the other hand, bought silver with it. Let us use the spot price of silver on October 5, 2015.

Source: Silver Prices 2015


I would have bought a total of 6.55 troy ounces of silver at spot price. I got that by dividing $100 by $15.25.

If I sold 6.55 troy ounces of silver at today's spot price of $20.95 per troy ounce, I would have $137.23.

What about the $100 kept under the mattress? What is that worth today?

Value of $100 from 2015 to 2022


$100 in 2015 is equivalent in purchasing power to about $124.96 today, an increase of $24.96 over 7 years. The dollar had an average inflation rate of 3.23% per year between 2015 and today, producing a cumulative price increase of 24.96%.


This means that today's prices are 1.25 times higher than average prices since 2015, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics consumer price index. A dollar today only buys 80.026% of what it could buy back then.


The inflation rate in 2015 was 0.12%. The current inflation rate compared to last year is now 8.26%.


Source: CPI Inflation Calculator


In other words, the $100 kept under the mattress is worth $80.02 only today.


Now, this is undeniable.

You can go back and do the research yourself. These numbers are true numbers.

Physical silver is a hedge against future inflation.

If you don't hold it, you don't own it.

Silver is a benefit to people who own it and have it their possession.


I regularly purchase silver from 6 online dealers. All of these six accounts show a good current value (as against acquisition cost). This is one of my accounts.




Silver Stacking is not for everyone.
Do your own research!

If you want to learn more, we are here at the Silver Gold Stackers Community. Come join us!


😍#ilikeitalot!😍


Best Regards,

@silversaver888

I am not a financial adviser. This article is not meant to be financial advice. My articles on cryptos and precious metals share my personal opinion, experiences, and general information on cryptos and precious metals.
All photos, gif, and video were taken by me with my iPhone6, unless specified.

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses πŸ₯°πŸŒΊπŸ€™!!!!



I post an article daily. I feature precious metals every other day, and on other days I post article of general interest. Follow me in my journey to save in silver and gold.

@silversaver888

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
84 Comments
Ecency