Ledger Nano S - Should I Purchase One?

Ledger nano s.png

Introduction:

For as long as I have been interested in cryptocurrency, I have not yet secured a hardware wallet to store any of my holdings. I am not holding wild amounts of crypto, so I have not really felt much of a push to get a hardware wallet, but I recognize that it is a necessary step to take if I am going to try to build a real savings with cryptocurrency.

When I think of hardware wallets, I immediately think of the Ledger wallets. I have been doing research and have determined that of those wallets, I would want to get the Ledger Nano S.

Pros

  • The wallet supports 1100+ digital assets including ERC-20
  • Relatively cheap ($50-$60)
  • Very secure (uses two security layers that would protect even if computer is hacked)
  • Clean and learnable interface and computer application

Cons

  • The wallet doesn't support Hive (does any hardware wallet?)
  • Can only store 3-5 wallets at a time per device (this simplicity does actually add to safety

Thoughts

When looking at a hardware wallet, something that is important to me is to buy one from a recognized name in the field. I have seen reports of different hardware wallets experiencing mass bugs that have resulted in the risk of funds for users; this is something that I want to avoid obviously.

I have heard the Ledger products mentioned throughout Youtube and even here on Hive and believe them to be a reputable product set.

Reference

Recommendations?

Is this a good move? Or is there a wallet that would be much more effective/useful for me? I'm looking to stack around 10-15 tokens and so this wallet would not need to be the only one that I am using. Let me know what you think and what you have learned through your own experience with hardware wallets if you have had some.

Leo author banner.jfif

@mariosfame gif once again, I love it:
Leo Gif.gif

@sgt-dan with this sick pic:

Dunk Social Whale.png

@gr33nm4ster made this awesome gif I needed to share, we thank him as well!:

video game gif DUNK.gif

NEW TRIBE HERE!

Dunksocial.io

BSK1.png

Links and Connections:
JOIN SPLINTERLANDS HERE
JOIN PRESEARCH BEFORE ITS TOO LATE!
Follow me on Twitter: Rob_Minnick23
LeoFinance/HIVE : rob23
NEW TRIBE: @dunksocial
Join me on Torum
Join Cake DeFi and get $30 in $DFI as a new user: https://pool.cakedefi.com/#?ref=187314
Noise.cash: rob23
Read.cash: R23
Join me on Publish0x: https://www.publish0x.com/?a=M7e587xqd2

Who I am:
My name is Rob and I am a college student doing my best to get involved in the crypto world. I have enjoyed blogging thus far and thank you for reading my article! Give me a follow and let’s build the community together through consistent engagement

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency