"End Alzheimer's" Awareness

Hi all,

While I am waiting for a few people to get back to me to run some interviews (Cake Defi and Torum Founders!!) I thought that I would share some information about a cause that is very important to me: the fight to end Alzheimer's.

My grandmother was born in Egypt to a half Egyptian and half British family almost 90 years ago. She has lived a long and happy life and has been there to support me for my entire life.

A few years ago she was diagnosed with Dementia and eventually Alzheimer's Dementia. It has been a rough few months for my family and I with helping to take care of her, but at the end of the day she is family and is still the feisty chocolate-loving and tea-drinking lady she's always been; we've been able to find a lot of good in the chaos, and we are lucky to have such a supportive and close family.

Some general facts that you probably didn't know about Dementia are:

  • Between 5-8% of Americans over the age of 60 will be diagnosed with Dementia of some kind
  • Dementia is a hereditary disease
  • Alzheimer's is the 6th leading cause of death in the US
  • Between 2000 and 2018, deaths from Alzheimer's have increased by 146%
  • Source: https://www.alz.org/alzheimers-dementia/facts-figures

I am writing this post to try to bring attention to what is happening silently in the United States and all around the world. I urge you to donate what you can to Alzheimer's research at https://www.alz.org/ and hopefully one day we can find a cure!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency