DEFI staking overview July 2021 - Cub Defi is just too good! And no more chasing shitcoins

I've been a bit more disciplined with my approach to DEFI staking over the last month.

Having diversified out of Cub and Binance Smart Chain because I don't like the idea of having such a high proportion of my funds staked on one chain, and a centralised chain at that, and worse, the fact that well, it's Binance, a company with a proven track record of Nepotism and criminality, I now bizarrely find myself once again with quite a large chunk of my funds on Binance Smart Chain...

Here's the overview of proportion of funds staked to different platforms....

DEFI STAKES .png

Note that the amount on BSC is strictly 'for now' - once Cub opens up its Polygon staking option, I'll move a portion from BSC to Polygon.

NB - ATM 'Cub' means 'BSC' - the only funds I have on BSC are on Cub

Damned Cub Defi - it's too good!

The reason I'm risking so much on BSC is because the returns on Cub Defi are just too good, and while the returns in the kingdoms are lower than in the farms I like earning in both the tokens I've got staked and in Cub too.

You'll note that I'm mainly in the 4 Belt stables pool - TBH I'm debating with myself whether I shouldn't maybe move a little bit out of this and just into HBDs, albeit for a lower return.

Roughly equal dollar amounts of BTC and ETH in the Kingdoms too - just a certain fraction of what I hold, most is in cold storage.

Cub (1).png

And I've powered down some Leo to get into the BNB pool - the return is about six to seven times greater than what you get in curation, and I can't see BNB going down in value anytime soon - It's the always win token of Binance Smart Chain after all.

I haven't gone too mad on Cub - but I'm holding more than I would usually for a 'DEFI' token - that's a real sign of my level of trust in the platform.

Polygon

I've got mainly USDC staked in a single pool earning me FISH which I farm every other day or so.

Polygon (1).png

Besides that relatively small amounts in the other pools.

I don't hold FISH, I sell it all!

Rune/ Thorswap

What hacks?

I kind of just ignored the recent attacks on the ETH side of the network, although I was expected my position to have shrunk considerably, but the Rune price seems to have bounced back surprisingly well....

Rune (1).png

I've got remarkably similar amounts of BNB/ AVA/ BUSD pooled with Rune...

And the Rune proportion is always 50% - IL protection (If we still get it now with all the promised hack compensation?) means at least HALF of my investment is protected in value - so a Rune hack which drains my other assets will be compensated IF after 100 days the value of my pooled Rune is lower.

NB thankfully I'm entirely on the BNB side of things, not ETH! (More Binance though dammit!)

Osmosis

I'm mainly in AKT-ATOM - interesting pool this with a two thirds AKT to ATOM stake weight - which is GOOD as the price of the later has held up better than the price of the former - meaning I'm not getting too much ATOM drained ATM.

I kept a little Osmosis and staked it with AKT too, a tiny amount. I think this was just because I had some spare AKT going begging.

ATOM.png

I do the same here as with FISH - besides the tiny amount i pooled with AKT, I sell it all for ATOM every few days or so, and then I trade that for stables.

It's a nice yield albeit with a relatively small stake.

Final thoughts/ Splinterlands Next!

ATM I'm not happy with the proportion of my funds on BSC, but some of that is just waiting to be transferred over to Polygon.

I'm hoping there's going to be an option there other than the new coin offerings - I don't want to buy any of those, just stake some sensible tokens outside of BSC.

I was hoping to go harder into Rune - but given the recent hacks I think I'll hold off that for a few months.

My SPS airdrop starts TODAY from Splinterlands - and I'm planning on staking ALL of that, and maybe counting that as a kind of YIELD going forwards, for holding Splinterlands assets, so I might add that into my DEFI staking report - it is in the spirit of DEFI if not strictly DEFI after all.

I'm also aware there will be some kind of Pancake swap option with some Splinterlands assets - I might get into that too, it depends how they play it - will there be yet another asset up for grabs? Who knows?!?! It wouldn't surprise me!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency