Having A Sense Of Direction On Hive

Maintaining consistency has to be one of the hardest and fun things to do while trying to achieve a goal. As humans, while doing something that seems repetitive, there are two things bound to happen, it’s either we get bored of doing it and look for something else to do or we get too attached to it that not doing it makes us sick. Our minds are sometimes distractive, well, most times distractive. Lots of self discipline is needed to show up everyday in doing whatever you love to do. Sometimes, a break is needed, you are human, you need to take that rest. What makes it fun is when there is a goal attached to what you are doing, this way it makes achieving it really fun.

AFCE49EB-3581-42F2-BA96-7EA36FD35B66.png

Engaging on Hive was an issue for me especially in the Leofinance community, because the Leofinance interface was really confusing to me at first. I felt I needed more time to understand the interface before I can start engaging fully, but then, there are lots of frontends and communities to explore on Hive, this got me distracted I ended up sticking with ecency and Peakd. The main reason is because, I could easily just search for anything and I will see it.

Setting a goal and achieving it on Hive is a sweet feeling that don’t come easy on one’s lap, it’s something you need to put effort and see the result. Gone are those days where I used to have wishful thinking without putting the work. Hive and life has taught me better.

I joined Hive thinking that my consistent posting will put me out there and give me recognition, I felt that all you need to be successful on Hive is show up, put out a post and come back to reply comments. That was some dumb thinking I had there, it got to a point I had to ask myself, why do I think people will want to check my post? Except your post is exceptionally good, one way to get your post appreciated is by appreciating others. If you don’t appreciate others post, you will be an island on Hive.

Appreciating other people’s is what we call engagement, reading other people’s post and commenting is a great way to show how much you appreciate their content because I won’t lie to you, it’s discouraging sometimes when you write a post you get 0 engagements. No comments and no likes, but then, engaging is advertising yourself out there, it’s like opening doors for me to enter your post. You must have interacted with them on their post, making them feel more comfortable with you, this way it gets easier when they see your post. They will be very excited to read your post and engage.

It took me a while to learn this because I was only focused on researching contents because I had lots of information to disperse in this space. Coupled with the Leofinance engagement contest, engaging is much more fun to do now because you are trying to get your name at the top of the list. There are people you just can’t compete with in that aspect, but then, setting a higher engagement goal just makes you work harder for that Golden price.

The dip came, it was sad, but engagement was there to remind us that we are all in this together, I am grateful for the Hive community and space. Before I joined Hive, I never liked socializing on Web 2.0 social media, during the dip, I ended up just reading lots of comments without making my own comment and voicing how I feel. But with the help of Hive & Leofinance, I can talk about how I feel on my post, read other people’s post and make comments.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency