I DON'T HAVE A RETIREMENT PLAN.

8af9b5266a71daaae0a2d0e0b17a1576f481f709644f7b467847d715730e3c06.0.png

One of my favourite people on the hive blockchain happens to be in his sixties. I am not mentioning his name because I don't want this to seem like I am pandering to him, but if you are active on the blockchain you should know who I am talking about (maybe).

This said person is one of the most active individuals on the chain. He surpasses my activities by almost 70%. He is an active creator and curator, a community leader and so many other things. Some community members liken him to a machine because of his work rate.

He is very much passionate about the future and technology. For someone his age, I find that quite refreshing because most people his age want to sit on a yacht reading newspapers all day. That is the life most people dream of in their sixties--retiring, but not this guy and that for me is quite admirable.

So how does this relate to not having a retirement plan? Well, I do not fancy the idea of working all my life to retire, why? I think work and leisure work in tandem. In other words, I do not believe there should be a prolonged designated portion of our lives where we are either just working or having just having fun.

Just like my favourite person on the blockchain, I want to be actively engaged in the things I love, continuously building without having a timeframe for these things. I strongly speak against the concept of ignoring one aspect of one’s life for another. What’s stopping us from having both?

Many people take delayed gratification to the extreme and out of context. Not investing in yourself and your family just so you can have a decent life in your sixties is messed up to me. What do you have left to enjoy when you’ve neglected everything else that is important to you?

I do not have a retirement plan because I don't plan to retire. I will continue to invest in myself, my finances, relationships, etc. I believe investing is something we do continuously throughout our lives and when it becomes second nature we grow exponentially without much conscious effort.

So rather than sitting in my yacht gloating over all the money I have in my sixties or seventies, I want to actively engage in the things I care about without having to worry about money.

My financial goal is to get to a point where I have enough not to worry about money. I also don't want to have too much that it defines who I am. Based on my estimation, I am less than a decade away from financial freedom.

Even when I become financially free, not much will change because I believe I am currently living a life of abundance and gratitude that enriches not just me but also the people in my sphere.

POST BANNER


My name is Chinonso Ekpemandu. I am a digital nomad. I create opinion pieces and share my life's journey on a decentralized platform called hive, whilst exploring the digital landscape for opportunities.

Below are links to some of my recent posts:


CONTACT AND SUPPORT

Discord: nonsowrites#0031
Twitter: iAM__NONSO
Telegram: @nonsowrites
BSC wallet: 0x88B30Cfe2cC50c84A673E7e0befF6b865D362E01
Bitcoin Address: bc1qprsj8vk576nev278ymqnxuc67vredaz0wjxymp

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency