Hired on to 2 new projects and what else I've been up to!

image.png

Over the last couple of months things were a bit slow. I have been working on the Skica mobile application in Flutter (though that isn't a paid project, yet), doing some cryptocurrency trading, and blogging on Hive and some other platforms. But, as far as work is concerned, I was having a bit of a dry-spell.

However, over the last month-month and a half that has changed quite a bit, thankfully! First, I was contacted by Solar CRM. I had an initial interview with them right before Christmas. Due to the holiday's it was a few weeks before I finally heard back from them and had gotten confirmation I was being hired for the job.

Solar CRM (Ruby on Rails & Django)

For this project I will first be working with Ruby on Rails which runs their support ticket and knowledgebase application. After spending a couple months working with Flutter, I'm excited to get back to the web side of things and working with Ruby and Rails is probably the best way for me to do so.

If all goes well with the Rails application, I will also be brought on to Solar CRM's main application which is written in Python with the Django framework. My experience with Django is quite limited. I have done some messing around with it on my local machine. But, I'm confident in my ability to pick everything up quickly as I'm familiar with Python. I'm also always picking up new languages and technologies, so I guess you could say the versatility is a skill of mine. 😎

I've already submitted a few PR's on the support app. I'm looking forward to doing more work with these guys and helping them build a successful company and application. I hope we have a long future working together.

CattleFinder (Crystal & Lucky Framework)

The second project I have been brought on to is a bit more random. Anyone that knows me knows that I am a big fan of the Crystal programming language. Well, while on their forum I saw a post of someone looking for developers to help out with a project. So, I inquired, we did an interview, and unfortunately I wasn't selected.

BUT! A few months later I get a message from him asking me if I'm still available and if I'd still be interested in joining the team for this project. Having only one part-time gig going on at the moment, of course I said yes!

This project is an application built using the Crystal programming language and the Lucky web framework (probably the only Crystal and Lucky job in existence, which is cool). As the name CattleFinder suggests, the app is being built to help those buying and selling cattle, especially breeders.

I just submitted my first PR today. But, the guys that have been working on it have done an amazing job and had accomplished a lot more than I expected over the last few months.

I'm looking forward to contributing the best work I can to this project as well. Hopefully, it will turn into something more long-term as well. The current timeframe is a bit of an unknown.

Skica (Dart & Flutter)

Skica is the mobile skincare application that I have written about in other posts. We are a 3 person team and I am the only developer. The mobile app is being built with Flutter.

Not too much has changed since my last post about it. But, I do have about 95% of the homepage completed. I'm also about 50% of the way through completing the skin routines feature. Once that feature is complete, the rest of the project should be creating the user profiles, cleaning up code, optimizing, and preparing to release an MVP.

After the MVP release, we plan to add in additional features with a lot more customizations. It will be neat! Stay tuned!

Well, there's a little update on what I've been up to. The winter had started out very slowly, maybe because of the holiday season, but now things are finally starting to pick up. I can say now that I am happy with the amount of work I have to do. I'm excited to see what else the future holds!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency