ChainLink Telegram Scam: Robbed of 0.61631 eth

There are several telegram groups which are running "Double the Cryptocurrency" or more accurately "Double Giveaway" Scams.

I am the victim of one of them, ChainLink Telegram, and lost 0.61631 eth to be exact.

The scheme was to send 0.5 to 50 eth in order to receive the double the amount of the sent eth.

We all face situations once or more times in our life when we are in a jam and looking everywhere for a solution, well, I am in that situation financially for a couple of months now.

This Giveaway was seemed a miracle solution. (I came to know about Double Bitcoin Giveaway Scam after being scammed, though, and read about Chainlink's statement that they will never airdrop LINK and will never give Double eth on cltalk.club Airdrop later as well)

Anyway, what I am sharing here it might help newbies and less experienced people in the crypto world.

In response to my query related to the Double Giveaway Marc Mercer, this is the ID of the Admin In-charge at the time, asked me to send a PM to him.

It took me 4-5 days before I transferred the above mentioned eth, and when I did, he sent a message to me showing some fake WiFi progress of 72.37429%, then second message with WiFi progress of 99.52163%. Both these messages had another line below the WiFi progress one, "Click/increase to increase the gas".

In the next messages he said, "Exchange gas is high sir", and, "You need to refill gas". He asked me to send 0.4 eth more, which was not possible for me, I told him that. He asked me how much did I have, I told him the amount, he asked me to send the rest of the amount and I sent the rest the left eth in the wallet as well. (Believe me, now I know, how stupid that was, consider it as the situation of a player facing the pressure of the game)


After some time he once again told me the gas is low and asked me to send 0.3 eth more, I refused and told him to send me the eth back, he said not possible, in other words refused to send the eth back. I called him fraud...

I closed the telegram after saying many things and threatening him. Next day, his account was deleted, scam was written there against the deleted account.

There was another ID as the admin in-charge of the group. I started chatting with him via private messaging and after some time he asked me the same, to send 0.3 eth. That moment, I knew it is another ID of the same person.

This time, I message on the group, and he blocked me. In the PM he said I was spamming.

There are many other similar scams still running on telegram,

  1. Gemini (https://geminimultiplexa.live)
  2. Dubai Ethereum Giveaway or Dubai Admin
  3. UNI, second chance.

This was a lesson, expensive one, but a lesson.

The ETH address where I sent the amount (7-8 days back) is 0xad285fdedfc0d5f944a33e478356524293c7ec68 and it is still active.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency