“Starting from scratch“

F7C72F7A-9626-4ED2-913E-966429DBE7A3.jpeg
As a little “ghetto yute” to barrow a phrase from many reggae artiste, I often wonder how to develop,sustain and grow wealth.
As someone who literally has no “Dead leff” (inheritance) to look forward . Pushed himself through school in spite of the challenges and now has to build a little nest egg for the lads ; what is the best way forward? This has become a more pertinent and pressing question since I recently got closer to the big 4O.

394AFE73-DA3E-407F-ADB7-0FD9E9BB10CB.jpeg

I moved to Japan some years in a volunteer role but I branched out 4 years later. I was looking forward to earning some real dough but the new company I joined went bankrupt just before getting my first salary. I now had to move back to Osaka from the country side in the height of the non hiring season - thank heavens for unemployment insurance.
As is the life of many ESL teachers who work for dispatch companies (this was the first available and often the most available work in Jp for people from overseas) I got a job that meant prorated salary in May, July, December, January and March (no salary in August ). I did this for a year or more.
385B6ADC-0159-4919-A10A-300A991F1AF0.jpeg

It always seems as if just when we are about to break even and start building , there is something more. As buju banton put it , “It’s not an easy road... who feels it knows.” I have thought about sending money home to Ja and watch it grow -No. the Japanese government keeps the yen low and the Jamaican government tries to keep the Jamaican dollar high. That means that 1 yen is about 1.30 Ja dollar more often than not. That won’t do it.
How about saving in Japan 🇯🇵? Let’s look at the interest rate , a whopping 0.001! “Are you serious ?”I asked the lady at the post office bank. Do you have anything better, I wondered aloud. , she smiled rather excitedly and said “There is the fixed deposit account that’s already in the passbook where you can earn 0.01!”
That won’t do. It has become more a source of concern as I meet much older people than myself here who are on the verge of retirement age wise but will have to keep grinding as the jobs we tend to do don’t offer much in terms of retirement benefits. Unlike native Japanese who when hired full time receive two bonuses per year at 2-3 times their regular salary and either another retirement payment plus stocks in their company, that is not the case in the field of education.

22A63383-0045-4A58-85EB-1986B5CF6E5D.jpeg
Thanks to my brother @dmilliz who introduced to crypto and has taught me so many things. I started out cautiously with steem- that turned out nicely for the most part. Then hive , these provided avenues to post things I like and earn something in return . There is also noisecash.com which has given me some BCH for simply sharing what they have shared with me.
I have since discovered BlockFi which offers something on your small investment . See my link here : https://blockfi.com/?ref=55c97f9b
I was introduced to cashfx as well which offers 300% on your initial investment overtime at which time you either upgrade or take your cash and go(this is all without inviting a single soul to join with you)
Check out my link here : https://MissaJlevels876.cashfxgroup.com
I hope crypto will be a source of growth and will help me to realize that which my grandparents and father could not. Which is retire comfortably and leave something behind when I give up the ghost. I have also discovered a couple index stocks companies (the taxes are out of this world ) but I’d rather a little growth than no growth at all. I look forward to your comments as to I could try , what has worked for you. If you got to the end... thank you 🙏
Disclaimer: these are things I am trying and so far they are working for me. Do your own due diligence- this was by no means financial advice.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency