The Swing trading style

gif

Cover created in Canva

Greetings to everyone in the "Leofinance " community, it is a pleasure to share with you, the incredible knowledge acquired along my way in the crypto world. This time I will explain a trading style that consists of putting together a strategy using one of the trading styles that I like the most, I mean the "Swing Trading" or also called "position trading ". So, based on this, I will be sharing what is my experience and how I analyze the charts to have a profit target in the medium and / or long term.

image.png

What is Swing Trading or Position Trading?

line2.png

First, before I begin to outline my strategy, I must define what this style of trading is. Basically, it is a quite peculiar way of trading that involves the graphic analysis of higher time frames, in order to be able to make decisions to buy and/or sell respectively, letting the price make its displacement during several trading sessions. The essential characteristic of "Swing Trading" is to take advantage of the impulses made by the price in higher time frames in order to obtain greater rewards, without exposing ourselves to so much risk, unlike those who invest under the trading style called "Scalping", which base their strategy on taking advantage of much shorter movements in the market and that expose them to greater risk, operating with lower time frames.

Now, to build a strategy using the "Swing Trading", we must use several tools that will help us make the best investment decisions in the market, with the sole purpose of placing the highest probabilities in our favor, taking into account that our goal is to identify those impulses and / or setbacks that usually performs a trend, to join the movement and to make money. However, as I already mentioned, we must use elements that help us to take an operation, these determining factors are the following:

  • Using multiple time frames
  • Chartist or candlestick patterns
  • Technical indicators
  • Good risk/reward management

With all this, we will be ready to enter the market and look for those impulses and / or reversals that allow us to obtain the greatest possible rewards, taking into account that the strategies using this style of trading, can last days, weeks or even months to be executed.


image.png

Long term strategy / Application of Swing Trading

line2.png

First to illustrate my strategy I must detail and define what tools I will use to find the best opportunities to enter the market, in order to seek operations in favor of the trend that I observe in progress, based on this, I will show what is my "Trading Plan" under the "Swing" style. Also, I must emphasize that, the order in which I go placing all the resources in my trading plan, is just as the same that I use to discern my entries to the market.

Trading Plan:



Risk and Capital Management:

The first thing that every trader or investor must plan is his risk and/or capital plan, without having this first, we are already wrong and most likely, we will lose money, regardless of whether the strategy is very good or not. Based on this, I will detail what is my management below:

  • Initial capital: $500
  • Risk per trade: "2%" = 10 USD (i.e., I am willing to lose only 2% of my capital per trade).
  • Weekly Risk: "6%" = 30 USD (Weekly, I cannot lose more than 6% of my capital, trading for 3 days a week, assuming I see investment opportunities, which I will look for at least 3 trades).
  • Best Case Scenario: "6%" = 30 USD (For each trade at least 6%, so weekly, it could mean a profit of 18% (90 USD), as long as I can execute weekly, at least 3 winning trades).
  • Percentage to invest per Trade: "5%" = 25 USD
  • Risk/Reward Ratio: "1-3".

image.png

Time Frames + Order Blocks

line2.png

In order to determine the most relevant zones of the market, such as Support, Resistance and/or Liquidity Zones (Order Blocks), I will use 3 time frames to identify them and also to observe the strength of the trend. I do this to see what are the highest probabilities that the trend will continue or that there will be a reversal of the trend. In this sense, the time frames are as follows:

  • 1 week (Identification of Order Blocks and relevant zones).
  • 1 day (Identification of Order Blocks and relevant zones)
  • 4 hours (In the latter, I will take my entries to the market, looking at the strength of the candles in conjunction with the Order Blocks identified, in addition to the other confirmations).

In this same specific order of time, I will observe the "BTC/USDT" in the Tradingview platform, an asset that I have chosen to look for medium and / or long term operations with the "Swing" trading style. Now, to work these timeframes and find the most relevant areas with the highest probability that the price will turn in one direction, I will use a study based on identifying areas of high liquidity in the market.

Order Blocks: These basically house large amounts of pending orders in the market, looking to buy in a certain area cheaper and / or sell in a more favorable area depending on the trend, in short, are the areas that provide liquidity at certain points on the chart, now, to determine the area of an "Order Block" we must do the following:

  • A "Bullish Order Block", is identified with a specific candle, which means that, for us to see one, before a strong upward momentum, there must be a "Bearish Candle", followed by a green candle and then the momentum mentioned above.
  • A "Bearish Order Block" is also identified with a specific candlestick, which means that in order for us to see one, before a strong bearish impulse, there must be a "Bullish Candlestick", followed by a red candlestick and then the impulse I mentioned above.

This will help me to see which trend is stronger and determine my chances of investing in one direction and not investing in the wrong direction of the trend. So, this is what I will look for in each of these time frames to make a very likely investment decision.

Studies and resources to use:

In order to look for the best probabilities in the market, I use several resources (Studies and/or Indicators) that, allow me to identify possible zones where, the price can make a backward wave, look for liquidity and follow the trend in course, if in such case, it comes to happen that, these liquidity zones fail (Order Blocks) and the price makes a break against the trend, then, I would be considering a change of direction and I would look for operations in favor of the new predominant trend in the market. However, to support my "Order Blocks" previously identified in each temporality, which are basically stronger supports and resistances, I support myself with other indicators and studies, so that they confirm me this block of orders, these indicators that will help me are:

Moving averages (EMAS 40,60,100 and 200): In order to follow the trend, I use my moving averages in the periods specified above, to look for rejections in the direction of the predominant trend of the market and also, I look for these rejections in the averages to enter in confluence with my "Order Blocks", this gives me a layer of security in my analysis, to be able to invest in that direction.

Fibonacci Retracements: Fibonacci Retracements play a very important role in confirming my market entry, as they basically confirm if an Order Block is valid, as long as the price interacts with the Order Block and of course with the 78% and 88% Fibonacci Retracement levels. Which means that, if after an impulse the price makes a correction (Retracement) to the area of my Order Block and also coincides with the Fibonacci levels mentioned above, the block is valid and if the price reacts to this, it is the entry signal we need to invest.

Price Action and Candlestick Patterns (Optional): The next confirmation step is optional, however, this can give the final confirmation to enter the market. This last possible step in my strategy, has to do with the "Price Action", in which I evaluate the strength of a candle and additionally, if this candle of strength, passes over the "Order Block" that I mark when I identify the most relevant zones in each time frame, it can tell us that we can enter the market, following the risk and capital management that I commented at the beginning of this publication.

Exit the market (Stop Loss): In my operations I always seek to place the highest percentage of probabilities to enter the market, for this, I support myself with all the studies and indicators that I mentioned above, the only thing I am missing, is my limit of losses, for this, I place just my Stop Loss 2% below my entry price, although depending on the context that is present in the market and not get out early from a winning operation, the ideal area for my Stop is a little below my "Order Block".


image.png

Bitcoin Technical Analysis 1 Week

line2.png

image.png

BTCUSDT weekly chart of TradingView

In one week charts, I have identified a "bullish Order Block" and a rejection in the 60 period moving average, this gives me the first confluence I need for a bullish signal, then, plotting the "Fibonacci Retracements", I realize that the price interacted just with the Order Block marked just in the zone between 78% and 88% of the retracements, so, the Order Block is valid in this temporality. The only different thing is that the bullish candle that formed after the rejection, is not being a candle of strength, in that sense, I must wait for the price to exit the bullish Order Block marked to be able to enter. But we already have a clear picture on 1 Week charts.

We can also see a clear "Bearish Order Block", however, for this temporality and the direction that has the price and the EMAS, we are still in an uptrend, so, despite plotting and identifying it, we must wait for the way the price develops, to make a decision that supports my intentions and the odds I seek to enter the market, if the price rises and interacts with this block, I will be attentive, for a new downward movement.


image.png

Bitcoin 1 Day Technical Analysis

line2.png

image.png

BTCUSDT daily chart of TradingView

On 1D charts there are both bullish and bearish Order Block formations, and the EMAS point to a new price direction, in this case bearish, however, this is a Sub-Trend, so the strongest direction is still bullish, as per the 1 Week chart I shared above. In this context, where the price is at the moment, I would look for in the next 4H timeframe, a bullish entry, relying on the strongest timeframe found and its possible shift.

However, if in this 1D time frame, the Order "Bullish Block" identified does not have enough liquidity for the price to continue rising and the price makes a downward break below its zone, I can enter the market, following the direction of the bearish price. In the image above, you can see how my entry configuration would be in case the price makes the mentioned breakout. If this does not happen, and a strong candlestick is shown on this chart, I would look for an entry to the upside.


image.png

Bitcoin 4 Hour Technical Analysis

line2.png

image.png

BTCUSDT 4-hour chart TradingView

In the 4 hours chart the outlook is bearish, the EMAS are aligned downwards and show forcefulness in the bearish Sub-Trend that was formed, in this case, identify a new bearish "Order Block", where the price, has already interacted with it, and also has given positive signals to the downside. If it returns to this zone and interacts with the bearish "Order Block", it is a good opportunity to enter a trade, as long as the price interacts and we validate it with the Fibonacci retracements. In any case, if the opposite happens and the price forms a strong bullish candlestick, coming out of the larger bullish Order Block, identified in 1 week charts, and breaking the bearish Order Block mentioned above, my trade will be bullish, following the trend.


image.png

Conclusion

line2.png

To conclude, I must say that trading and operations in the financial markets involve many risks, but my recommendation is to educate yourself in order to mitigate the risks and place the odds in your favor. In addition, this type of trading style is much safer and more reliable than the others, so I like to analyze in higher time frames and let the price develop as much as it wants, until it fulfills my prediction thanks to the analysis I have done.


image.png

If you are new you can join the game under this LINK



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency