Return of the Nikkei Cultural Center Coin Show, Feb 4th, 2023

image.png

“Black birds tend to like shiny things.” ~ The Bloody Raven

Usually I get the call from @punkysdad to go check out the coin show in Burnaby. This time, it was my opportunity to turn the tables. After more than 30 months absence the local coin show is finally back.

He wasn't quite prepared, but neither was I when I stumbled on an email notification a few days prior to the show, it was on. With a short list and scraped together a $200 cash limit we got to the Nikkei Cultural center by 9:30 am.
He went one way, I the other.

The show was put on by the North Shore Numismatic Society, a local club Punky used to regularly hang out with.

image.png

As expected, the number of dealer tables is modest; Sports Cards, stamp and postcard tables and the majority being coins and banknotes. No more than 30 tables.

Bullion coins seem more commonplace amongst the coin dealers like Perth Mint products, pandas, along side their numismatic and predominantly RCM products.

It was busy, and the room filled up fast as if everyone wanted to get in early pickings. Pent up demand? Could be.
At the end of two short hours and a choice set of questions I found answers to some of my inquiries.

  • Engelhard? Are hard to keep on stock, they are gone as soon, as I get them. How about Johnson Matthey bars? A few dealers do have them.

  • US Constitutional? Most dealers here are looking to BUY rather than sell. I noticed the serious absence of Morgan and Peace dollars with any coin albums being plentiful in US Nickels and pennies.

  • I'm looking for a Jamestown commemorative 2007 dollar? Sorry, see above answer. 🙁

  • Any 1888 Silver coins, anything not over $200? What you see is what you get.

To add, I did overhear plenty of talk and whispers about Inflation, the recession, the pension system, and even the rigging of the metals market prices. (I bought that one up.)

@punkysdad didn't get much, just a nice book on Canadian coins. He just enjoyed seeing his club friends after having not seen them for so long. “Find any silver ships?”
My non verbal expression said a resounding no, “They’re lower on the priority list but there isn’t much pickings of Cook, Samoa and Tuvalu Islands not even in small change.” I shrugged my shoulders. “Maybe in the next show in May.”

I didn’t spend all my $200. Disappointed, but I made sure I didn’t leave empty handed.

Northwest Territorial Mint Silver Trade Unit
image.png
Bald Eagle, Olive Branches, Arrows
TEXT; UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Text; IN GOD WE TRUST
Text; 1 TROY OZ. .999 SILVER
Diameter 39mm, Thickness 3mm
Weight 31.1g

I just joined the NWTM Silver Trade Unit club, I believe this round is also owned by @silverd510, @cve3 and @silversaver888.
So, who else has this round?

Northwest Territorial Mint Silver Trade Unit
image.png
Scale Balance, Wheat
Text; ONE TROY OUNCE
Text; .999 FINE SILVER, NWTM
Text; SILVER TRADE UNIT
Edge; Reeded

My Stackitis withdrawal symptoms are alleviated.🚑

Adding a Silver Trade unit to my Stack for the coming Economic storm!

The #piratesunday tag is the scurvy scheme of Captain @stokjockey for #silvergoldstackers pirates to proudly showcase their shiny booty and plunder for all to see. Landlubbers arrrh… welcomed to participate and be a Pirate at heart so open yer treasure chests an’ show us what booty yea got!

References

My own pictures shot with a Samsung SM-A530W
P. Image under Pixabay
W. Wiki Commons
💀 Page Dividers by thekittygirl 🎃

Sources

APMEX; NWTM Silver Trade Unit Round.
Original mint, Northwest Territorial Mint




"I’m just a gal in black, not a bloody Financial Advisor!"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
58 Comments
Ecency