The Simple Solution to Hive's Biggest Problems - Removing L1 Content Rewards Completely

As anyone who's been following me knows, the last couple months have marked the end of my more than 5 years dedicated to growing Hive/Steem, building community here, and walking hundreds of people through this overly complex system.

You can scroll down a bit to see my last handful of posts, covering various facets of this, and showing the progression of the conversation (over 1000 comments on just a few posts.)

After digging through all the various conversations about these issues of centralized stake, censorship of opposing opinions by those with the stake, and the fact that the ninja mine was kept by the whales... It has become quite clear that Hive is doomed to be a terrible social media platform, run by a couple of tyrants.




Image Source



There's a solution, that most every side seems to agree upon...

We need to remove L1 Hive rewards from content completely.

No more author rewards, no more curation rewards.

This cuts the inflation rate significantly (increasing the value of Hive)

This puts all content curation onto the L2 projects - where communities can have their own guidelines and such - and creating more value for those L2 tokens

This would make Hive the free speech platform it claims to be, as there would no longer be an L1 means to censor content.

This makes Hive much more appealing to investors, developers, and content creators.



The whales downvote instead of conversing

Here is the last comment I made, in response to blocktrades (by far the largest stakeholder on Hive, and the top witness, who upvotes spam comments for thousands of dollars per day) - Of course, nobody responded to the comment, except to downvote it... as usual.

You characterize this post and his comments as just dissent opinions, but they and his previous post on the same topic are mostly focused as an attack on the reputation of the voters for these comments and on Hive in general. He is clearly attacking the chain and essentially accusing it of being worthless.

Here are my posts, in TLDR form, since I started down this path:

You whales who've never read or watched my content and didn't know who I was until I started calling out this activity can pretend that I'm just some Hive hater - but the last half of a decade shows how ridiculous that is.

If I didn't care about Hive or wanted to damage it, I would be shit-posting about Hive on my Odysee channel, on Flote, etc. Instead, I'm here, still spending my time, doing research, being slandered and verbally assaulted by multi-millionaires, and trying to shake things up enough that maybe changes happen.

I've accepted that means that I probably won't ever earn posting rewards on Hive again - and it's been freeing to release the attachment that I had to this place.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
92 Comments
Ecency