My Silver Collection 3 - The Athenian Silver Owl!

This coin that I bring today is one of my latest acquisitions and one that I really like.

The Athenian Silver Owl!


Buho 1.JPG

This beautiful 1 oz coin is from the year 2020 and comes from Niue. It is inspired by the "Tetradrachma", a coin from ancient Greece with a face value of four drachmas. Printed in honor of Athena, the Greek Tetradrachm coin featured the image of the goddess on its obverse and an owl, the official shorthand for Athens ΑΘΕ. an olive branch and a crescent moon on its reverse. The owl is a symbol of truth and wisdom and, according to ancient mythology, it sat on the "blind side" of Athena to allow her to see the whole truth.

Buho 4.JPG

Buho 3.JPG

As can be seen, in this reinterpretation of the ancient Greek Tetradrachm, the obverse does not show the goddess Athena but rather the portrait of Ian Rank-Broadley of HM Queen Elizabeth II. Like all Niuean silver coins, this one was also printed in New Zealand.

Buho 2.JPG

Buho 5.JPG

This coin also has a unique edge detail in the design for easy stacking.

Of these, I bought several and I gave one to my girlfriend, whom I have started in the world of precious metals and cryptocurrencies. If I buy several coins, I am looking to give one to a family member or friend. A gift that carries the explanation about the value of "money". This always comes together.

I hope you liked this silver Athenian owl!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency