Bills With Intrinsic Value? | Moar Goldbacks!

To recap from my previous posts:
@joshman/bills-with-intrinsic-value-goldbacks
@joshman/bills-with-intrinsic-value-republic-of-ghana-one-cedi

I found these bills on APMEX called Goldbacks and thought it was a cool concept. Neither my photos or the photos on their website really do them justice.

For more information about them, check out: https://goldback.com/

There is a significant premium in purchasing these over gold bouillon, but they are very collectable. So much so that I plan to accumulate more of them. As you will see from the photos they are a really nifty way to accumulate gold.


goldbacks2.jpg.jpeg

This time around I found some Utah Goldbacks, which are equally as beautiful as their Nevada counterparts. In addition, I bought a 1/10 gram D'oro Bar note.

For this image, I ran them through my scanner. It gives you an excellent idea of their detail, however the gold itself shows up as black.


IMG_20210221_194049.jpg

IMG_20210221_133800.jpg

I purchased one of each of the 10 and 25 notes, however I picked up quite a few of the 1 notes to give as gifts. Because they are so reflective, it's difficult to get a decent photograph of them.


IMG_20210221_124900.jpg

The design of the D'oro note is supposed to resemble an actual gold bar, but it just doesn't have the same appeal as the other notes in my collection.

Next I'd like to pick up the 50 notes for both Utah and Nevada, which are 1/20 oz of gold. I'm also considering carrying around one of the 1 notes in my wallet as an experiment to see how it holds up. It might even make a good conversation piece.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency