This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

In The WEB3 Era IP Will Exist, It'll Just Be Different

I originally began typing this as a reply to the post "Triggered Again! There is no such thing as IP in the WEB3 era." by @edicted, but it became long enough that I decided that it might warrant its own post.

Intellectual property rights will be forced to evolve in a way that will benefit consumers, but I respectfully disagree with the argument that they will go away completely. I don't think most people would want to live in a world where IP doesn't exist anyway.

People want authenticity and that's a big part of what IP enforces. A brand name is an identity and all of the big brands will have their own identity on the blockchain just like how we all have identities on HIVE. My identity here is @jordand89 and no one else can post as me. The blockchain already enforces that right. Anyone interested in reading my future posts can follow me. Likewise, people will follow the identities of these big brands and no else will be able to post as them.

Sure, it will be more difficult for them to restrict other people from imitating their work, but it will be easy for the consumers to know that it's not authentic and the free market will then decide how much value is in the authenticity of that brand.

For example, I am eagerly looking forward to new episodes of the TV show South Park. Even if people can get away with creating their own cartoon with the same characters and calling it "South Park", I don't want to watch it. I want the authentic South Park episodes made by Trey Parker and Matt Stone that will be released at some point and I'm willing to pay to watch them.

That's why I believe that even in the WEB3 world that we are headed toward, there will be intellectual property rights to some degree. The difference is that the blockchain (rather than the law) will enforce authenticity and the market will reward brands based on the amount of value that they continue to provide to their fans, followers, and consumers.