How I Claimed Flare Network's Spark Token Airdrop On Forgotten XRP Wallet

flare.jpg

I don't know much about Flare network and Spark tokens. To learn about Flare feel free to visit their website. When I heard that it is possible to claim Spark airdrop tokens based on the balance of XRP at the snapshot date and time, I remembered that might still have access to some old XRP wallets I used in the past.

One of the unique things about XRP is that when activating and using a wallet we need to keep 20 XRP in it. Few years ago when I experimented with XRP and had a couple of wallets. Even after I stopped using them, there were 20 XRP left in them, simply because they couldn't be transferred.

I was able to find the wallet address and the private key for one of them. I wanted to try to claim these Spark tokens. Right now Spark (FLR) is trading at $2.33, and if successful I would be able to claim at least 20 FLR, which potentially could be free $45.

If you used XRP wallet in the past, you may also have forgotten XRP wallets with at least 20 XRP in them.

To qualify for the airdrop claim, XRP balance had to be in the wallet on Dec 12, 2020 at 00:00 UTC. To learn more about the details of the airdrop and tokenomics please read this article. Those who had XRP balance in exchanges will receive airdrops in their exchange accounts as many exchanges seem to be participating in the airdrop. Visit Flare website to see the full list of participating exchanges.

What I was interested in is how to claim Spark (FLR) on my XRP wallet, that is not on an exchange. I followed this guide on XRP Toolkit website and was successfully able to claim FLR.

These are the steps I had to follow:

  1. Found my XRP wallet address and the private key.
  2. Install XUMM wallet app on my phone.
  3. Add my wallet address to XUMM wallet app. This apps give read only option for which wallet address is enough. And also full option by using the private key. I used the full option to make sure I have full access to the wallet.
  4. Then I went back to xrptoolkit.com website on my computer. It provides an option to connect a XUMM wallet app. After clicking the connect wallet button I chose XUMM App option. Then the website displayed a QR code. By using QR camera reader in XUMM App I was able to connect my wallet.
  5. Next I had to copy MetaMask Eth wallet address where the airdrop needs to be distributed to.
  6. On XRP Toolkit website, going to Properties in the Account menu showed Message Key input section.
  7. I entered Eth wallet address in the Message Key input. First it showed error 'invalid format'. After clicking at the eth wallet address, it provided a fixed format. I chose the fixed format and clicked Update button.
  8. XUMM App on my phone sent a notification that I need to sign the change/transaction. I approved on the App.

When I go to XRP Toolkit website, in the Overview section of Accounts menu, I can see Spark claim and Flare address. According to that I was able to claim 20.98 FLR on my XRP wallet with balance of 20.8 XRP.

However, I don't see any FLR in my MetaMask Eth address. I added FLR token to see them in my Eth wallet. Right now balance for FLR in my MetaMask shows zero. My understanding is these claimed tokens will be distributed sometime in June or July.

I am not sure if FLR will be worth same as today, or more, or nothing when they are distributed. It is not too important. I am glad I was able to discover tools like XUMM App, XRP-Tools, and old forgotten XRP wallet. This can be useful in the future when/if I decide to use or invest in XRP.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency