The trade

A hard core crypto-trader I'm not. I find it complicated, confusing and feel nervous every time I transact from one place to the next, set a buy or sell. I guess dabbler would be a more fitting way to describe me; A crypto-dabbler since 2017.

This doesn't mean that I'm a novice investor; I've owned multiple properties over the last twenty seven years including residential and commercial spaces and have worked in the property industry at executive level for the last twenty years. I know some things.

I have several other investment strategies, diversity is important, perform research and have trusted advisors...None of which helps me with cryptocurrency of course.

I heard about Bitcoin in 2010 and, to my great annoyance, failed to throw a few hundred dollars into it; I had the money, just not the knowledge or the guidance.

These days I have BTC thanks to my blogging activities and fiat investment. It's not a lot, but I feel good to be in it even in my small way. I'm not expecting to be a millionaire but hope it will someday make a difference to my life.

It's with that thought I spoke to my younger brother @tarazkp recently; He has more of a clue than I do and I wanted to bounce some ideas off him.

I had it in mind to sell some BTC and repurchase later if the price dropped; I have no idea if the strategy will work but it seemed a viable way to increase my holdings. I bought USDT and immediately set BTC buy-backs with it, at much lower market prices of course. If it works out I'll have a little additional BTC; If it goes up though...Well, that's the risk I took, no different to any other investment strategy I've every gone into. Risk it always present.

There may have been better ways to do it, other tokens to purchase, but I just don't know what they are or have any reliable information to work with.

I've only taken $100AUD of BTC into Fiat as a test for my Wirex VISA card; It worked and having that mechanism to get my BTC into the real world feels good. Taking any sizable amount will trigger a text-event but I'll cross that bridge when I get there.

The Australian tax office (ATO) has very stringent laws around crypto and the capital gains and income tax it will incur - Maybe moving elsewhere could mitigate the liability, although I'd need a large amount for that to be possible. A problem for down the track.

I've embarked on a little BTC trading, not my first trading, but the first where my stash of BTC is concerned. I'm nervous, but the reward could be worth the risk and I hope to report a positive trading story eventually.


There are so many who have made cryptocurrency work for them; Bitcoin has changed peoples lives in many cases and I wonder, are you one of those people? Have you traded successfully or had some other successful strategy? Conversely, has trading brought you down through loss, miscalculation or simple bad timing? Feel free to tell me below, or throw down your trading secrets...I could use them!


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
42 Comments
Ecency