Phone foolishness

Last March both my work phone (iPhone X) and my personal phone (Samsung S9) were stolen; It wasn't pleasant but the work phone was replaced the next day by my employer and within an hour of the loss I was at the phone shop replacing my personal phone with the Samsung S20 I currently have...That's where the problem started.

The phone guy did the transaction and right at the end suggested I take some stuff, a wireless charging pad and Bluetooth speaker, as well. I declined as I didn't need them. He insisted. I declined as I didn't need them. He insisted and advised they were free. I declined because I didn't need, or want them, and he insisted saying, "they're free, why wouldn't you take them?"

I relented because I was more focused on the fact I just had my phones, and everything in them, stolen. They sat in the bag he gave them to me in until I gave them away a couple months later.

P1270114 2.JPG

Three weeks ago I looked at my phone bill more closely than usual and saw a $15 accessory charge. I checked the last, and the one before that...$15 on all of them, for accessories. I wasn't pleased.

Something clicked in my brain right then; I recalled this telco had been caught out offering free stuff but in fact charging the customer each month for the next two years. I actually recall saying to my wife, nah, that's not what they did to me, my stuff was free. Clearly not though.

I started the process of having that cost removed from my future bills that day and today I got a resolution.

They ceased the charge and said they would waive the break fee; How magnanimous of them! There was no mention of a credit which took me two weeks to sort out and today the case was closed.

It makes me wonder though, how many are caught in these money-traps?

In Australia, under the Competition and Consumer Act 2010, false and misleading statements and unconscionable conduct is against the law - The Act is there to enhance the welfare of Australians through the promotion of competition and fair trading and considering how high profile the telco, Australia's largest, is I found it pretty objectionable that they'd stoop so low...But stoop they did. They're paying for it now though as legal proceedings have begun against them.

I see myself as a fairly savvy street-smart sort of chap and I know how to read contracts which makes me feel even more foolish in respect of this phone thing. Still, it happened and was a lesson for me; Fortunately one that was rectified...I wonder how many times they got away with it and for how many millions?

I think there's a lot to be said for reading the fine print, especially where there's money involved, and yet millions, probably billions, of people do not. I'll be making an extra effort to understand service contracts in the future, that's for sure though.

Have you ever been hoodwinked like this on a purchase or service contract? Assuming you even know it happened of course. I know I can't be the only right? I hope not anyway. Tell me about it below.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
73 Comments
Ecency