US Citizens, Here's How You Can Move BNB from Binance.us to Binance Smart Chain (BSC)

On my post from two days ago, I received a request from @dagger212. Here it is:

Now if only you could create an easy-to-follow, step by step guide on how to get some BNB in your metamask account as a US citizen. lol

My response was a little evasive, as I thought I would need to be an American to see if the solution I find actually works for US citizens. Obviously I know you can be an American without being a US citizen and vice versa, but I cut corners and I'm sure everyone understood.

Some of the same difficulties I noticed on Leofinance discord from some of the American users. I'm not sure how their adventure turned out as I stopped following before it ended.

If they found another way, and will read this post, perhaps they should add their solution, so that people will have a choice.

Why do Americans want to do this? It's easy. In preparation for what Leofinance will launch on BSC, and for which you need BNB on BSC to pay the fees (just like you need ETH on Ethereum, only much lower amounts).

image.png
Source

It turns out Binance have already thought it would be a shame to lose such a big market...

Binance made a post on their blog about how to connect your Metamask extension with Binance Smart Chain.
https://docs.binance.org/smart-chain/wallet/metamask.html

Well, actually the post is more in-depth and goes from the start, from what is and how to install Metamask.

But if you already had Metamask installed for Ethereum, for example, you can skip to the section "Connect Your MetaMask With Binance Smart Chain".

If you don't need a test net, you can skip that too. I haven't installed a BSC testnet simply because I might accidentally use it instead of the mainnet and vice versa. It's one less thing that I have to be careful about.

Ok, now that you have your Metamask connected with BSC,
How do you actually send BNB from Binance.us (not .com) to Metamask?

Here's where the second part of the guide comes in.

Apparently Binance has a browser wallet extension of its own. One that can be used by US citizens to move their BNB from Binance.us to BSC, indirectly.

To do that, you first need to transfer the tokens to the Binance Chain (BC, not BSC) on the extension. Then transfer them to BSC on the same extension. Then you can move them from BSC on Binance's extension to BSC on Metamask.

I haven't used this Binance extension. But they provide complete instructions on how to install it and use it:
https://docs.binance.org/smart-chain/wallet/binance.html

If you have difficulties, you might want to read this source as well, for the whole process.

I know this isn't straightforward. Unfortunately, it involves a lot more intermediary steps than selecting the right blockchain, on Binance.com.

I still hope it helps those who don't have the access to the international platform, if they want to start their adventure on BSC together with Leo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency