Basic Attention Token - Dapp Review

BAT or Basic Attention Token is a Blockchain based Digital Advertising token that provides a way for users to get rewarded for their attention.

v955-audi-01.jpg

What is BAT?

...
Is it a token or a DApp?
...

At its core BAT is just an Ethereum token but it is supported by an Ad Ecosystem and a Platform (The Brave Browser).

Onboarding

The concept was interesting to me, I read the whitepaper. To start using it and getting passive income all you need to do is start using the Brave Browser. You can download this on any platform

I tested it with a phone with the app from the play store.

image.png

  • The experience was just like installing any other app. Nothing special. Its quite straightforward.

This was where the experience got interesting though. You get so many configuration options to protect your privacy while browsing, block adds etc. What never occurred to me was added benefits that brave claim

  • Battery Saving - Ads are heavy on your battery
  • Usage Saving - Ads apparently also are quite heavy on data.

I'll be interested to see if I notice a difference.

Using the Dapp

This is just like any other browser I have on my phone. I have literally noticed no difference to using chrome of firefox, well less ads when I go to a website.

Why is everyone not using this?

Before you begin with Brave or BAT you might be interested in learning more about the history of the Brave platform.
For a good introduction to the development of the platform (The Brave Browser) and the adoption of the Basic Attention Ethereum based Token you can read about it in a post from a few years back by @ponpase

This did not come up on my radar when I analysed the sites a few weeks back as having many users.

image.png

  • This site suggests just a few hundred daily users but according to the brave website there are 13.4m daily active users for the platform * and my assumption is that everyone using it can earn BAT if the configure their wallet to accept.

*Source: https://brave.com/transparency/

Earning BAT

I haven't gotten a payout yet but I am excited by how easy it is to use.

photo_2021-10-20_21-30-01.jpg

  • This is not going to be life changing but just for doing my daily tasks I have apparently watched 38 adds and earned 20 cents for it. Happy Days!

Can it be really that easy to get started earning Crypto?

  • Do you use Brave or BAT. Please share your experience in the comments.

Previous Posts in this Series

detective-1424831_960_720.webp

If you are rediscovering crypto after an absence why not make a blog on Hive using the #rediscovercrypto and share with the community what you find.

Image Credits

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency