HF25 Can't See The Wood For The Trees

There is an old saying that I never used to really get, it goes, you can't see the wood for the trees. I remember hearing that phrase as a youngster and wondering what the hell it meant, I mean trees are made of wood so what does that mean???

Then when I was a bit older I realised that wood in this instance means forest, so the saying can be changed to, you can't see the forest for the trees and suddenly it made sense. It basically means that you are zooming to closely into the details and you are missing the fact that behind the details, there is an entire plan.

The Crypto Woods

Some time ago I wrote an article on Steemit entitled While Rome Burns Nero Fiddles With His Forks, it was about a previous hard fork whereby I felt that whilst the devs where focussing on a lot of under-the-hood stuff, there were more obvious things to fix about the site, namely the user interface (UI). Yet here we are about to enter HF25 and there are still fundamental fixes to be done.

The reason I didn't link the article above, or even name it correctly, is because the search function on Hive is completely and utterly broken!

Think about that for a second, would you tolerate that from any other site of this kind? It's absolute MADNESS I tells ya!

At the moment if you want to search for something on Hive, you have to leave Hive and go to Google. Wha-??? How the hell can this site be so far down the road without a working search function? I remember asking them to fix this four years ago, but for some reason the devs seem more obsessed with driving down the price of HBD and creating this magical stable coin than they are about fixing the sorts of things that aid user retention, i.e. a working, fully functioning website.

If I go to a site with no working search function, that's an indication that they've given up, the site is no longer maintained and I should go and spend my time elsewhere.

This looks bad guys, we talk about attracting investors, the Hive site is the jewel in the blockchain's crown and should be working.

Investor Blues

Now I'm sure in the comments I'm going to get answers like;

But Cryptogee if you go to INSERT CLONE SITE HERE you'll see the function works, just use that!

Yeah, that doesn't cut it for a couple of really good reasons.

  1. Our cryptocurrency is called Hive, our blockchain is called Hive, ergo a new investor whom has never heard of Hive (as in most people on the planet) wants to investigate Hive, guess what they type into Google?
DRUM ROLL

That's right! You guessed it! They type in Hive. Not Peakd or 3Speak or any of the plethora of clone sites that are linked to Hive, they simply type in Hive, and guess what happens then?

SLIGHTLY SMALLER DRUM ROLL

Yup again, you guessed it, you smart puppy, they are directed to this website and they look around, and maybe they try and use the search function and see that it doesn't work, and they take that, plus the basic look of the site, to mean that it is not worth investing and they move on.

Am I being overly dramatic?

I don't know, maybe I'm somehow completely unique in wanting to have a working search function on a site whose raison d'aitre is giving information. I'm guessing not though, seeing as how Google is like the third biggest company in the world, I'm assuming that searching for stuff online is actually pretty big business and people value the function because otherwise the internet and the sites within, are just a jumble of impossible-to-navigate information.

Info Please!

So the purpose of this post is to highlight the absurdity of a blogging site without a search function, and to ask if someone can direct me to an article explaining (hopefully in layman's terms) what the hell is happening in the imminent HF25 that I keep hearing people talk about.

Also perhaps maybe someone can tell me why crippling the Hive Dollar is more important than making sure this site works properly. I'm always prepared to be wrong on a subject, so please don't be shy, lay down a compelling argument as to why we don't need a search function.

HOW DO YOU THINK THE AVERAGE POTENTIAL NEW USER REACTS TO THE HIVE BLOG SITE? ARE YOU FRUSTRATED WITH A LACK OF FUNCTIONALITY? DO YOU BELIEVE THESE ISSUES SHOULD BE TOP PRIORITY? OR AM I BEING A DRAMA QUEEN AND SHOULD JUST ACCEPT THE HAPHAZARD NATURE OF DECENTRALISED CRYPTO?

AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Cg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency