Tapping the Knowledge


source

Most successful businesses individuals have a type of mentor figure that they can go to for guidance. I found mine about 7 or 8 years ago now and have had weekly meetings up until the end of last year. I phoned him today as I need that weekly meeting back in my life as I think it is the reassurance I am looking for.

Currently under lock down for the last 6 months and counting I am not 100 percent sure how and what to do to get things moving. He has a business which he sold for 100's of Millions a few years ago and the stupid fools who bought it from him have left enough loop holes for him to repeat the same tricks again. His new business is booming again and not quite the same size, yet I never doubted him for a second as believe it will be bigger than before.

I believe that there are some people who just know the knack and have the recipe for making money. It is easier once you have done it once as all you have to do is follow and improve on what you have done before. This is often not easy as it is starting over from scratch except his bank account was overflowing so possibly less worries.


source

Our weekly meetings will have me trying to pick his brain on certain decisions and possibly a different angle that I have not considered yet. A sort of shrink session with coffee and muffins without a bill at the end. I think he enjoys it as well as it takes his mind of what he is doing so it is beneficial to both of us.

Not every session is a success as we are left with more questions than answers but it does get the thinking juices flowing again. I think that is what is sometimes needed more than answers as you will find the answer if you attack a problem from many angles. Unlocking and solving something can be difficult if it is just you and having another mind tackling it that isn't directly involved has helped me in the past.

It is a two way street though and will sit with him when he is stumped and needs fresh ideas on his side of things. It doesn't happen often but when he sold and started over all his so called business "friends" abandoned him thinking he may not make it again. We have chuckled about that many times as he said it would happen when his phone would start ringing again when he had made it.

We have never made appointments with each other and just arrive with take away coffees and fresh muffins. Whatever is planned goes on hold for an hour or so and then it is back to work until the following week when it is repeated again. I used to get embarrassed for other meetings that got backed up but he always said they are here to see me and not the other way around and they can wait a while.

As a mentor I am lucky to have him as he stops and smells the roses on the way type of thing. It is weird how people find each other in total separate walks of life and when you do you have to realise what you have found.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency