The Rise of AI Content and the Fall of Human Content

humanvsai861x519.webp
source

Human vs AI content, can we tell the difference anymore? AI technology like ChatGPT, DALL·E 2 and QuillBot AI are blurring the lines between what content is created by a computer or humans. It's also complicating the way we consume content as you now need to be suspicious about who or what really created what you are consuming.

Over the past several years the rise and rapid innovation in the AI space is making it difficult to predict what the future of content creation will look like. There’s plenty of stories about it in the news. The sotries about how AI is impacting education, business and social media is intriguing.
source

Chatgpt_ShutterStock12167584021816x9.webp

For example there was a recent article that really got me thing about how Students are using ChatGPT to cheat and how complex and difficult it has been for teachers and school districts to combat AI. From my perspective, AI has its place and should be embraced by teachers, business and content creators to more effectively complete task. However, if we blindly use AI as a substitute to actual research, content creation we are doomed.

I recently ran an experiment on Hive with AI. I used ChatGPT to create three blog post on three topics to see if anyone could actually tell the difference between my content and AI generated content. Those 3 posts were the following:

I was a little bit apprehensive about performing this experiment for the blowback it might receive. However, I thought the conversation around this was worth the risk. CHatGPT made writing these post scary easy. It took about 5 mins a post to write the prompt and let ChatGPT to create and organize the content. After doing a quick proof read to try to catch and glaring errors I left the rest of content to try to preserve the content how it was presented to me. After that I added a few of my photos and hit the post button.

These post received about the same engagement as my other post with my core group of commenters stopping by. These posts also produced about the same amounts of rewards as my regular posts. At face value this was a highly effective way to write content, but was the content really mine? I feel like there are some real ethical concerns about this type of content create, but I struggle with where that line is which I will go into a little bit more down below.

The part of the experiment that I was hoping to happen-did in fact happen. My initial interest was to see if anyone could tell this was AI content and to see if they would say something.

Note, let me say the next part was from a private conversation and I have permission to talk about it in this post.

My good friend @bozz DM'ed my on Discord and had a question for me. He could tell my recent posts did not sound like me and he had to ask if they were written by AI. I was so excited, so I confessed about the post and told him all about what I wanted to do with this experiment.

We only talked for a few minutes, but the conversation I had with him is the one I want to have will all of you.

  • How do you feel about AI generated content?
  • How did tell AI vs Human content and is that line hard to see?
  • Even thought a post could be generated by AI it can create real conversation. Does that make that make the whole piece more human even though a machine made the prompt?

MixedRealityandArtificialIntelligence.webp
source

These questions are at the core of what I'm trying to figure out now that AI is here and innovations around it are not going to slow down. I nervous and excited about what it could mean for platform like Hive and Leofinace. I'm excited that it could help the pace at which content is created, but I'm nervous we will loose any value that actual content has.

I guess only time will tell what and how AI will be used in the future, but for now I hope we try to use it responsibly. I'd love to get everyone else's opinion on the subject.

Cheers,
Cryptic

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency