I've deleted the Facebook App from my phone.

It unfolded right in front of me today

this awareness

this awareness of just how much time and energy I still waste

on a platform I really don't love anymore.

It has its uses,

I use it for a few very specific things

and to have access to those things,

those groups,

those people,

I am grateful.

But most of it?

Most of it I no longer need or want.

I don't need to see updates from people who I was friends with 10 years ago

or people I met once 6 months ago and expect to never see again.

I don't need to be targetted with ads for charities;

I give to them when I what,

when I'm ready.

I was wasting so much time scrolling

looking for things that were truly interesting,

engaging, enriching for me.

Instead, I would find myself, again and again

consuming news that is meaningless to me.

I rarely want to write a post and share it there.

I rarely want to write a story or teach a lesson or even ask a question to learn something new there,

so what am I doing there?

Wasting time. That's what I've been doing,

wasting time, living out an old habit,

when I could be on Hive

sharing my thoughts,

sharing my feelings,

teaching cool things,

learning cool things,

and playing with formats that are strange,

unusual,

unfamiliar,

without feeling fear of being judged.

I've deleted the Facebook App from my phone

with a clear intention to be here more often,

to engage with the people I admire, adore and appreciate more often,

to speak my mind and my heart more often,

and see how much I can grow through spending more time in this space

and less time on that one.


That's me, and a very big tree that I was totally admiring, like the goddess of a creature it is. The photo was taken by my love, @new.things, when we were out and about, exploring the world, well away from this screen.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency