Out of Sight, Out of Mind

image.png


I have mentioned this before I think, but it is really amazing to me how little I pay attention to my traditional investments now that I am so heavily invested in cryptocurrency. It wasn't uncommon for me to check my portfolio and the stock charts at least once if not multiple times a day. These days, it is more likely I will check the status of my stocks and mutual funds maybe once per week if not every other week.

Part of me wonders why that is the case? Is my heart just not in the traditional investment world anymore? Given the relative volatility of crypto, do I see those fiat investments as "more stable" and therefore not worth worry about as much? Maybe it is a combination of both those things (plus a couple more), I honestly don't know for sure.

In contrast, crypto has basically consumed my life. I check my holdings at least once or twice per day. In fact, I have a favorite token feed running on a dedicated fifth USB monitor connected to my desktop. It is a bit of an addiction.

I remember seeing a meme a while ago that I can't find right now, but it basically said this:

You know how a toddler discovers a new tv show and it totally consumes their whole life... That is adults with crypto.

I might have missed a couple of words, but that is the gist of it. I had to laugh when I saw it. A friend of mine who is apparently not into crypto posted it on his Facebook page and I didn't know if I should be offended or honored, because that is absolutely me.

I mean look, I basically go on and on about it for at least 500 words every day. That doesn't include comments or all the time I spend on Discord and Telegram. I am sure a lot of us here feel the same way.

Meanwhile, those other investments are still sitting there making me money, I just don't really care about them as much anymore. I mean who cares about a couple dollar increase in the price of Apple stock when Hive is doing a 2x right?!

I am sure once we get to the end of the year I will probably be taking a closer look at those accounts. November into December is the time of year when capital gains and dividends are paid out, for me it is one of the clearest views on how your investment is compounding.

I am I alone in this or have you kind of put your traditional investments in a "set it and forget it pattern" while you focus more of your time and energy in crypto? I can't the attention it would day trade the traditional markets and the crypto markets on a daily basis. Heck, I don't day trade either of them because it takes way too much focus and attention for me to handle.

I look forward to reading your thoughts and comments!

source


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency