RE: Happy Block 50M + Blurt Under Attack

Unfortunately I don't have a lot of time to address the past, and it would take some time to talk about all the things you've mentioned in a comment this long, but your last paragraph really strikes to the heart of what I think is your misapprehension about Hive, so I'll try to address that.

It seems to me that you view Hive as some sort of traditional organization, with leaders and a bunch of followers. And that these leaders represent some form on united front on most issues (or that they should be doing this and they aren't).

From my point of view, this simply isn't the case. Most Hive users do have a few shared principles, especially those who are the most involved in promoting Hive as a platform for information exchange. Generally speaking, these principles revolve around decentralization of power and freedom of expression.

Beyond these core principles, many Hive users have radically different beliefs on many topics. Some may hate Steem, some may hate Blurt, some may hate Trump, some may hate Biden, some believe the Earth is flat and want to argue with everyone who disagrees about that.

I don't have the time or energy to personally deal with every individual user of Hive that dislikes some individual or organization. I don't aim to be that kind of "leader" on Hive. Sometimes those opinions are deserved, IMO, sometimes they're not. But if I spent my time and influence doing that, I wouldn't have time to devote to the software-based solutions I'm trying to build that I think can have a long term beneficial impact on our shared future.

I made a conscious decision many years ago not to go into traditional politics, and instead focus my energy on building systems that empower individuals. It's not a decision I've ever regretted.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency