Is $250 per day actually enough?

So I was thinking out loud earlier and posted on a tweet that I honestly doubted was going to get any attention. It turned out to get more attention than I intended and in the process gave me some clarity about life.

For what it's worth, I'm firmly focused on migrating to another country that is preferably outside Africa. Europe is my preferred destination but if that doesn't work out, I'd be glad to relocate to somewhere like Canada with my wife and kids.

Since one of my short-term goals is emigration, I have been asking questions about different countries and deciphering the potential that might exist in different parts of the world.]

This my inquest about the type of life and cost of living in different parts of the world led me to post a specific question about a specific amount of daily earnings.

image.png

The question is if you earned $250 per day, would that be enough to lead a normal life in your locality?

Well, according to my replies, it is possible to lead a normal life in virtually every part of the world with that amount.

Culling from the replies, I can say that for people in Nigeria and Africa as a whole, that amount will be enough. According to @jaraumoses, this amount will be more than enough in Uganda. He offered an interesting view when he said the following with an image attached through a tweet;

Did you say $250 a day? That is way beyond the average monthly salary here and people raise families on that already hehe.
image.png

Outside Africa, it turns out that $250 per day could also provide a sustainable value of life in other parts of the world. In Asia, Tokyo to be specific, $250 per day might put you on a favourable end of the earner's spectrum. In fact, for people like @selfhelp4trolls in Japan, this might even be a dream come true as the user had this to say in a Tweet;

In Tokyo that is a bit above average. More than enough to live comfortably If I could make that being self employed it’d be a dream come true. If i had to work full time with all the overtime hours nah. I wanna build stuff.

Outside Asia and Africa

In other parts of the world, it is more of the same, with different people identifying how living on that amount per day will be enough to survive in their country. Amongst the numerous replies, I also got one from @taskmaster4450 stating that;

Yes it is although a small family.
It will not be the Waltons.

Basically saying that $250 per day is good enough to raise a family in America, presumably where he resides but you shouldn't expect to lead a fancy lifestyle like the Waltons.

In Europe, it is pretty much the same thing, with user @markkujantunen stating that;

That's €6,225 per month. Yes, you can comfortably raise a small family in Finland. A couple each earning $125 a day can do it even better because of progressive taxation. I don't think there are many locations in the world where you couldn't raise a family with that.

This view once again points at the fact that perhaps making this amount per day is enough to do better than survive in virtually any part of the world.

Is it possible?

Well, considering what we've seen around Hive blockchain, I like to think this is quite possible for an efficient content creator and Hive user.

If you put everything into a melting pot and squeeze out all the value from liquidity mining on Cubfinance, post rewards on all Hive front ends, and curation benefits, it is very possible to earn $250 per day.

So does this mean that it is safe to say that daily earnings on Hive can sustain life in any part of the world or am I reaching?


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
52 Comments
Ecency