I'm adding gaming to my portfolio

image.png

Splinterlands opened my eyes up to the immense possibilities that exist in gaming. I mean, the actual profit that I've derived from that game is bordering on insanity, so it got me thinking about how I could go deeper into the gaming industry.

For starters, I've always had some vested interest in gaming, and considering it's a huge money-spinning industry, it's a nice idea to get involved. Also, playing video games is a nice pass time for me and since it comes naturally, I'd be able to rack up a few extra dollars from just enjoying myself in my spare time.

Employing a hobby

Let's look at it from this angle, writing was a hobby I developed since I was a kid. It's always been a feature in my life and now, it has opened a portal to a whole new world of crypto.

Gaming has also been a hobby that I kind of excelled at. I always had the coordination to handle videogames, regardless of how difficult they may be.

Now I'm at this point where I have to ensure that I'm making the most of every second and that includes my chilling time.

So the plan is simple, I'll be making gaming content in my spare time. Think of it as another side hustle that will hopefully fetch me money.

No pressure

The fun part about it is that there's not going to be any pressure because I don't have high expectations. I'm simply going to play video games and show the world what I'm playing.

I'll play every day but it's not going to be a daily thing. It'll just be a "whenever I feel like" thing.

Cost of the thrill

To get into gaming, I bought a second-hand PlayStation 4. It still runs like a new one and is quite clean too.

The console cost me approximately $230 and overall. It does feel like a lot of money for home entertainment but when you think about it, life needs these sorts of distractions.

Other than the console, I also had to buy one more controller that cost about $30 and then got three games that cost $55 in total.

So the total cost of getting into making gaming content push me back approximately $315. It's yet to be decided if it's worth it but if I can get like 3 good years from this console, then I'd be grateful.

Also, in three years, I believe I'll be able to afford a PlayStation 5. In Nigeria, you're going to spend upwards of $1100 to even stand a chance of touching a PS5.

If I had the means, I'd probably have just gone for it but right now, I'm not in that kind of financial position to splurge that kind of money on a game.

The downsides

Now, it's worth noting that buying a PlayStation 5 will increase your audience and pull in the gaming industry. It's a game in high demand and low supply.

Getting a PlayStation 4 puts me in a disadvantageous position because PS5 people control the market but I'm hoping to still start here.

The beginning

To me, this is just a starting point for my new career and so, I expect it to have some growing pains. I'll take things easy because as I said, it's just a side hustle.

I'll have to teach myself restraint through this game and not try to do too much. I'll manage the simple things at my disposal and work with them.

Posting content

Yesterday, I was trying to sort out the streaming services available in the game. There's only Twitch and YouTube.

I'll probably go with Twitch, and then reshare the streamed content on Hive gaming community.

Alternatively, I'll just record my screen during gameplay and then upload on threespeak.

I'll use the proceeds of my earnings from the content to buy PlayStation headsets, a webcam, and hopefully, the VR gear. I'd like to have an enhanced gaming experience and share it with the world.

Time management

Gaming tends to be super addictive, so I'll need to regiment my time, to ensure that my new side hustle doesn't encroach into my writing jobs.

Funny enough, writing has taken a back seat in my life in recent times, but I'm still always reading and keeping my door open for opportunities. I get contacted regularly on Twitter and Fiverr but things have been quiet in the past week.

In summary

So is it going to be a good idea? Will it be lucrative? Does it even matter, as long as I'm having fun?

I'm trying out my hands in a different area. I've been playing blockchain games and made a lot of money that I've now used to buy an actual console.

I'm trying to create content in the gaming industry and hopefully, grow my online presence within the gaming community. I'm keeping my fingers crossed and lowering my expectations as well. Time will tell.




Please check out my Freelance gigs:

Signup for Presearch: A search engine that pays you

Contact me


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency