Somali Republic Silver Coin & A Chai Latte

Somali Silver and a Chai Latte.png

This Is Sort Of An Art Show and Silver Show Again ..

Sure, I have some Silver to show and fresh chai latte made and ready to drink, but I also have a cool mug to show you as well. A cool mug that I made 13 years ago! Yeah.. I made it! I made this cobalt blue stoneware mug back in 2009 when our friends owned and ran a pottery company that made handmade wares. On occasion we would stop in and they would allow us to make something. On one of those trip to the factory, I made this here FINE LOOKING mug (haha).


The Silver ..

Then today came and I decided on a chai latte instead of a second cup of afternoon coffee. I got to thinking that it would be nice to photograph todays silver piece next to the handmade mug. So today you get a little Somali Silver, a little DIY art, and I get to drink a fresh cup of chai latte on a much needed break from the grind.

IMG_5023.JPG

A 2021 Somali Republic 100 Shillings African Wildlife Elephant 1 oz .9999 Silver Coin ..

Wow.. That was a long description, but very inclusive. I am in love with this coin I think. My heart seems to flutter a little whenever I look at it.. hehe.. maybe that is over dramatic, but it's really a nicely designed coin. The elephant is definitely a show stopper elemental piece. The details in it are wonderful. I like the mix of matte and buffed areas.

IMG_5024.JPG

If I had one complaint about this coin, it would be the bird flying just above the elephants head. Maybe if there were more than one it wouldn't look so out of place. Otherwise the Bavarian State Mint put out a nice piece here. I think I see an Acacia tree just off to the left side of the elephant. Small but nice they fit that in there.

IMG_5028.JPG

On the Obverse is the Somalian Coat of Arms .. the date of mint (2021) and the denomination as listed 100 Shillings. I really like how the coat of arms is displayed large and takes up quite a bit of real estate on that side. This is a BU coin, so it has a nice luster to it and very few if any milk spots. Did I ever tell you I have grown to hate milk spots!?

IMG_5027.JPG

The Edge.. Hard to see inside the coin case, but I think it's still visible enough. The favored reeded edge! Well, favored by me at least. It's okay to disagree with me.

IMG_5031.JPG

Time To Get Back To This Latte!

The mug holds about 10 ounces of coffee or tea, when full, and when empty it can hold at a bare minimum, 1 Somali Silver piece. hahaha.. Today at least, because that's all I have to put in there. It would be nice if it was full to the brim with these elephant coins, but I have to earn some more fiat before I can reach that goal.

IMG_5029.JPG

IMG_5032.JPG

Dang! I Don't Know What Looks Better In There..

Coffee

Or Silver?

IMG_5033.JPG

The silver looks good, but I can tell you out of experience that the coffee tastes better.

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

This blog post is not meant as financial advice. I'm not a certified financial planner/advisor nor a certified financial analyst nor an economist nor a CPA nor an accountant nor a lawyer. Conduct your own due diligence, or consult a licensed financial advisor or broker before making any and all investment decisions.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency