Did Someone Say Harley!? - 1oz .999 Silver Harley Davidson Coin

162013836526901.png

AMC HARLEY DAVIDSON 1 TROY Oz .999 Fine Silver Coin ..

What do we have to look at today? How about a 1993 Harley Davidson Electra Glide! And it's on a Silver Coin too!!! Cool! Okay, I am guessing about the bike. I believe it to be an Electra Glide, but possibly I am wrong (please do let me know).

1620138722806.png

Again I dip into my Silver coin stash.. And happen to pull out this one. A 1 oz .999 silver coin depicting a Harley Davidson motorcycle on the obverse, and the 'Great Seal Of The United States' on the reverse.

IMG_0399.JPG

IMG_0400.JPG

I remember.. the exact store where I bought this and exactly how much I paid for it. I was in an estate shop in 2003, rooting around in a bin of junk. I saw this coin and thought.. "wow, this is cool".. so I purchased it for $5.00. I thought that was high then, but come to think about it, it was pretty much on the spot price at the time.

IMG_3093_01122.png

Pepper used to hate Harleys.. or any manufacture of motorcycle for that matter. I would have to hold the leash tight and try to calm him as they passed by. I guess most dogs don't like the loud rumble coming from the tail pipes. As soon as it would pass, he went about his business. Boy do I miss our nightly walks. When I was looking at this coin, I was reminded of him.

I Know Little About This Coin ..

And can't seem to find any useful information on the web either. Just a few 'Worthpoint' posts and what not. I even tried American Mint Company's website and turned up nothing. I did however find a little bit of info on SilverArtCollector.com ..

78768757657865987.JPG

Source

Any Information Is Appreciated.. If you know of this coin or can point me in a direction where I could research it, please let me know in the comments or via message on Discord. You would make me happy :-)

When I bought the coin .. I wasn't really considering the appreciated value it would eventually incur, nor did I think about protecting it from wear or damage. Without worry or care, I placed the coin in a box with a bunch of others, where it sat for the next 18 years.

About a year ago I happened across it while cleaning, and carefully relocated it into a plastic sleeve, then placed it with my other silver coins. I have to remember though, I did originally find it in a box of junk that store was selling. Overall I think it faired pretty well. It is still in decent shape.. not perfect, but fine shape non the less.

The edges are still quite sharp to the touch... Nice clean, deep, undamaged groves!

IMG_0401.JPG

It has a nice heavy feel to it.. Feels like 1 oz to me.. hehe. There is just something about holding silver in the palm of your hand. It almost speaks to you, telling you to buy more! haha. Really though, I like the feel of the coin, from the weight of it to the rough edges.

There is also a slight coloration to the shinny, flat surfaces.. almost like toning. Can you see it in the shot below?

IMG_0402.JPG

So, What Do You Think???

Have you seen this coin before? Think it's cool? Maybe you think it's ugly? Either way, I think it's a fun coin to have stacked into the collection! Hope you enjoyed the silver share :-)

EDIT - UPDATE ..

@silversaver888 was so kind to let me know exactly what I have here. THANK YOU @silversaver888!!! 😁😊😁

6565445654765465476.JPG

45634564576.JPG

Hive text divider.png

I know this is not a motorcycle picture, but Pepper did enjoy the wind in his face.. regardless of the ride.

IMG_2170 (2).JPG

“Something that sounded like ripping metal shredded the deadly quiet. The inaudible bass smoothed into a low, steady hum. Outside, a low, mechanical growl rumbled closer and closer. Darius caught his breath. He knew that sound, and it wasn't magic.... It was a motorcycle.”
― Laura Oliva, Season Of The Witch

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

NFT Showroom Member

Are you interested in creating an NFT for your art AND using a HIVE based project???

Here Is A Link, in case your interested in listing something yourself!.. NFT Showroom

Are You Ready To Tokenize Your Art???

Come Check Us Out To Find Out How and To Get Started Selling YOUR Art as NFT’s!
NFT Showroom Thumbnail.PNG

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency