Chilean Un Peso 1921 - 50% Silver Content

1620049613601.png

Back To The Pile Of Coins ..

I reach in randomly and pull out a silver coin. Ah Yes.. The 1921 Chilean Peso. This particular coin came to me in spare change, like a few others had in the past. It's sort of weird because it's not as big as a quarter and a little smaller than other normally circulated coins. Sometimes I think cashiers just want to get rid of what they think is 'Junk', by pawning it off in an unsuspecting customer. That customer, this time, was yours truly.

Some time later, I returned home.. And emptied my pockets of the loose change. The coin was there again staring me in the face. I was somewhat drawn to the vulture like bird (What happens to be an Andean condor), standing on the edge of a rock. Right away I noticed that the coin was marked Chile and realized that it did not belong in with my other change. At this point, I still didn't realize that it had any silver content.

On the reverse, there can be found an interesting combination of a laurel wreath, with sickle and hammer. They are a bit worn down now, but still noticeable as such items. On closer examination of the front, I see that there are still several feathers that have nice detail. I can even make out the Condors clawed feet gripping that rock. (as seen below)

Diameter in mm's - 28mm

IMG_0346.JPG

As I flipped the piece over, I realized the edges are a bit worn and the ridges were just barely noticeable.

A Question For Any Coin Lover's Out There ..

On The Obverse.. there is a 0.5 just to the lower left of the condor. Curious if someone here knows or not (and I do not want to assume) what that stands for? Is it depicting the silver content which also happens to be 50%? Thanks in advance for confirmation or explanation.

IMG_0347.JPG

Bellow, I paned out a tad more so that you can have a relatively clean view of the coin. My setting on the iPhone camera had a short depth of field, so the bottom looks a little more worn than it actually is. I would consider the coin to be in good shape, not fine, although I wish it were. Either way, not a bad find. I am glad the cashier that thought they were getting rid of junk, did so. Otherwise I wouldn't have this coin.

"Thanks buddy!! You can give me silver anytime you want to!"

IMG_0342 (2).JPG

IMG_0343.JPG

Coin Specifics - Additional Information ..

1 Peso coin alignment

0187287476.JPG

1 Peso (coin alignment) - obverse1 Peso (coin alignment) - reverse
© Heritage Auctions

0187432764.JPG

Features
Country: Chile
Period: Republic (1818-date)
Type: Standard circulation coin
Years: 1921-1922
Value: Un Peso (1)
Currency: Old peso (1835-1980)
Composition: Silver (.500)
Weight: 9 g
Diameter: 29 mm
Thickness: 1.6 mm
Shape: Round
Orientation: Coin alignment ↑↓
Demonetized: Yes
References: KM# 152.5

Obverse: Andean condor on rock.
Lettering: REPUBLICA DE CHILE - 0.5

Reverse: Value within laurel wreath.
Lettering: So - UN PESO 1921

Edge: Reeded

Date: 1921 So
Mintage: 2,287,000

Numista Rarity index: 29 [0 being common and 100 being rare]
Bullion value: 3.75 USD 4.5g Silver

Source - Numista
Thank you to @silversaver888 that guided me to this cool site, Numista, that seems to have information to every coin under the sun!

Well, That's All For Now ..

And Molly is lonely over here in her little doggy bunk bed. She is soaking up the morning sun and Saturday (when I am writing this post) is just starting to wake up. I hear the birds chirping, and my coffee cup is empty.

IBXJ2164.JPG

It's going to be hard to get anything done today, now that my mind is thinking about Silver again :-/

Hive text divider.png

4564564576657657 - Copy.jpg

QUOTE

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

NFT Showroom Member

Are you interested in creating an NFT for your art AND using a HIVE based project???

Here Is A Link, in case your interested in listing something yourself!.. NFT Showroom

Are You Ready To Tokenize Your Art???

Come Check Us Out To Find Out How and To Get Started Selling YOUR Art as NFT’s!
NFT Showroom Thumbnail.PNG

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency