Travel the World of Postage Stamps - Protected Animals - Cuban Solenodon (Solenodon cubanus) - Cuba 1984 - Michel Cuba 2887 - my hobby

Travel the World of Postage Stamps - Protected Animals - Cuban Solenodon (Solenodon cubanus) - Cuba 1984 - Michel Cuba 2887 - my hobby.

20210215091144.jpg

Greetings friends!

Zoologists, biologists, naturalists of all stripes, as a rule, when talking about some living organism, use Latin, which does not allow you to know that we are talking about a specific species, subspecies, animal, and not something slightly similar to it, lol.

But, sometimes, Latin looks ridiculous, especially when you cannot imagine the external appearance of the object being talked about.

Something like, I observe by looking at a series of Protected Animals postage stamps issued on the island of Cuba in 1984.

On a postage stamp titled Cuban Solenodon (Solenodon cubanus), we see a strange mouse-like vole, an echidna and a desman at the same time.

Pay attention to the number of toes and claws on the paws of this animal.

It looks more like a terrible Chupacabra that drinks the blood of sheep and rabbits, this is a scary picture that, I hope, you will not dream of at night.

This postage stamp got a face value of 2 Cuban centavos and I don't remember how this series of postage stamps ended up in my collection, lol.

Let's take a look at this postage stamp.

Description of the postage stamp:

Type: Postage Stamp.
Country: Cuba.
Subject: # Fauna, # Animals, # Nature, # Cuba.
Series: Protected Animals.
Name: Cuban Solenodon (Solenodon cubanus).
Denomination of a postage stamp: 2 ¢ - Cuban centavo.
Michel's Cuba catalog code: 2887.
Episode release date: October 10, 1984.
Perforation: comb 12¾.
Postage stamp size: 33 x 45 mm.
Printing technology: Offset lithography.
Circulation: ?.
Estimated price for a clean postage stamp: $ ? - $ ?.
Estimated price for a canceled postage stamp: $ 0.04 - $ 0.17.
Photo: original from @barski collection.

Canceled postage stamp

DSC05793.JPG

Previous postage stamp from this series and a link to its description:

Type: Postage Stamp.
Country: Cuba.
Subject: # Fauna, # Animals, # Nature, # Cuba.
Series: Protected Animals.
Name: Cuban Land Snail (Polymita picta).
Denomination of a postage stamp: 1 ¢ - Cuban centavo.
Michel's Cuba catalog code: 2886.
Episode release date: October 10, 1984.
Perforation: comb 12¾.
Postage stamp size: 33 x 45 mm.
Printing technology: Offset lithography.
Circulation: ?.
Estimated price for a clean postage stamp: $ ? - $ ?.
Estimated price for a canceled postage stamp: $ 0.07 - $ 0.21.
Photo: original from @barski collection.

Canceled postage stamp

DSC05790.JPG

To be continued.

20191022121659.jpg

You can see the development of the story of my postage stamp collection on my Leofinance blog

I edited a photo in the program PhotoDirector, which I also installed on my smartphone.

Author @barski
Ukraine

For my publications, I do not use stock photographs, it is fundamentally important for me to use photographs that I have made with my own hands for publication and I can name them - authorial work.

You can go to our blog on the Hive platform by clicking on the bee.

bEEEEEEE.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency