What Hive Isn't...

In my previous post, titled "What Hive is", which was inspired by this tweet coming from the official Twitter account of @leofinance I talked about how I see Hive and what it means to me. I expect different users to have different opinions on that one and I fully respect these. I even respect the take of the person from the screenshot featured in that post and in the above-mentioned tweet.

As mentioned in that article too("What Hive is") we oftentimes take Hive for what it isn't, and in this one, I'm going to tackle this exact topic. Now that I made clear what Hive is to me, or better said how I see Hive, let's see what Hive isn't.

First and foremost it is not just a blogging(long-form content) platform. If that was the case then all we did with forking Steem was to create a replica of the chain and that would have been awful, but luckily this is not the case.

We had to have microblogging because we want to attract the masses on this chain and the masses, as you might have noticed for yourself are using the short-form content type of social media consistently. People are on TikTok, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter all day every day. By sticking to, and encouraging long-form content and vlogging, and nothing else, we would have simply wasted our potential for expansion. We had to have diversity. Hence #threads and @liketu posts.

fsdgfdg.jpg

My bet is that sooner than later we will have some sort of a community/app that will be dedicated to TikTok type of posts. Does that mean that all we do with Hive is copy what others are doing(Facebook, Instagram, Twitter)? Not necessarily... Hive is the exact opposite of WEB2 really is. Remember?

While there are certain accounts on traditional media apps making good money from creating content, through advertising, and whatever, these are probably less than 5% of the total users that are active on such apps, whilst on Hive all of the content creators that are putting out posts on a constant basis are earning L1 and L2 tokens.

However, and this is a big one... Hive is not a job. Some are mistakenly taking content creation on Hive for a traditional job and this might go well for a while, especially during bull markets, but as soon as we enter the bearish territory, this no longer feels like a job as it can no longer provide. And this is why many are quitting and failing at becoming full-time content creators on Hive.

They underestimate the power of volatility and oftentimes get washed out by it. I am in crypto for over five years and still haven't managed to sail the bull markets properly, so I don't end up frustrated and poor during bear markets. Luckily I managed to get alive out of the 2022 bear market and I believe that I will do better in this bull market. HBD is your safe haven and HBD savings can make a bear market more bearable, don't forget about it when we get into the euphoria phase ;).

Hive is not centralized. While there are many projects out there that claim to be decentralized, truth is that Hive is one of the few that are truly decentralized the way I see it. No ninja mine, no CEO, no large whale manipulating anything, no signs of centralization to me.

Hive not being centralized means that it is uncontrollable by the government. While traditional stablecoins can be regulated, HBD which is a Hive product can't be regulated by any government in the world and no government has the power to intervene in regard to content being shared on Hive and "shutting down any account". This attribute of Hive is often times overlooked.

There's something else I mentioned in my previous post that I want to bring up for discussion once again and that is the fact that Hive is not a Steem replica. Traditional Steem thinking should be long gone for many of us, but unfortunately, some have not yet managed to do the transition. Hive has probably been a Steem replica for a couple of days or weeks after the hardfork, but it has long managed to overcome that stigma.

Leofinance is an example of a Hive project that somehow managed to change this blockchain and how we interact with it and this is all part of "the new way of thinking". Anyway... The post might go longer, but it's Saturday and I bet you already lost interest in reading it after the third paragraph or so, thus I will end it here by wishing you a great Saturday, and see you all next time.

Thanks for your attention,
Adrian

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency