"Unaffordable Sats"

I keep on reading tweets once in a while weighing in how much the stimulus money the US citizens have received about a year ago would be worth right now. The last time I checked one stimulus check would have been worth $11,000 if turned into Bitcoin at that time.

So, if anyone living in the US would have used his/her stimulus paycheck to buy Bitcoin would have 10x that amount of cash right now. That's a hell of an investment. As I was saying to a friend of mine who just got into crypto lately, 10x is a hell lot of money to make in a year.

But what if the moment you would receive that stimulus paycheck all your cash would not exceed $50 and you would be unemployed, would you still buy Bitcoin with that $1,100 stimulus paycheck? What if you had kids as well, while being in that situation... hard to afford buying crypto when you have to first put food on the table.

I bet there are plenty of cases who have received that stimulus money and could have invested it in Bitcoin, but they haven't, those have left some nice income pass by them, but you can't simply see anything around valued in Bitcoin, yet, and that's what I hate about maximalists.

https___specialsimages.forbesimg.com_imageserve_6060c976b991dac3aaa2aa11_IsthereafourthstimuluscheckHeresthebearcaseforwhyAmericansareunlikely_960x0.jpeg
image source

I sometimes have the feeling that some crypto community members act like cult members. It's like there's nothing outside this crypto sphere and every thing should be measured in sats. It's not like that though. We are not entirely decoupled from the fiat world, for the moment and some of us can't simply afford to buy as much as they'd please.

I also find annoying those types of tweets coming from celebs advising their followers to buy sats instead of beer, or having a dinner out, or buying a new pair of clothes... Man, why the fuck do we live on earth then, just to endlessly stack sats? I highly disagree on that.

I wish I had a Bitcoin fund that would never hit the market, I once tried to create one, but couldn't afford that. I couldn't buy the dip in March 2020 either. I had the cash, but the uncertainty and my life situation couldn't let me take such a risk.

Now when looking back is quite simple to add and subtract and draw conclusions, but life is not all about sats. You sometimes can't afford to add more, or at least to "buy a stash" for the future. Not every stimulus money could have gotten into Bitcoin...

As much as I love crypto, there's life outside this environment and there's needs that should be prioritized before stacking sats and that's what some did who haven't spent their stimulus money on Bitcoin. Have a great evening and see you to the next one.

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency