AskLeo - When and How Did You Earn Your First Money?

Enough with crypto for today... Bitcoin is taking a break just to gather more momentum for breaking past $50k and while taking the shower I came with the idea of making an #askleo post about how I made my first money, and would appreciate if you would also share your stories for the topic.

So, as far as I can remember I earned my first money by the age of 16 and I done that by selling fish. Yes, I monetized my passion for fishing and it paid for a summer full of parties. I learned fishing when I was 9 and it has still remained a hobby of mine.

Now let me tell you a bit about how I made my first money as a teenager... I was in high school, we were in the summer vacation and was seeing the big boys fishing for Chinese carp in my town. A type of fish I didn't had the experience with at that time.

This type of fish grows in considerable sizes and it also sells good. I don't know why, because I don't like eating it, but it sells. So, after having a look at how you fish for the Chinese carp I headed to the fishing gear store and bought myself the needed gear and started doing what the big boys were doing.

photo1544708049111feb82ab26.jfif
image source

This type of fishing was and still is illegal in my country but I didn't care. I just wanted to enter the big league and also wanted to make some money. The first day I only caught one of around 8 kilos, but being that happy about that I didn't even sell it...

Next day got to the water again and by the end of the day I was having two fishes weighing about 12 kilos both and cashed in about $15. You can't imagine how I felt when I got home with those $15. I felt like I don't even need a job anymore in the future and that all the summers would be just continual parties with the fishing money.

I got the taste of money with that type of fishing, and as said above managed to monetize a passion of mine. Not all the days that followed were that lucky, but even till date I still remember how much money I made with those two fish and that those were my first earned money. This type of fishing is not for everybody, so you have to really be a hustler and spend a lot of time near the water.

I started working way later though, and always searched for alternatives to regular jobs, like DJing for example, or selling clothes, perfumes and so on. Never really liked the 9 to 5... I tried quite many ways of earning a living in my pretty short experience on this planet, but the first money I made was on the back of two poor fish...

Now, as an analogy, I still feel quite often when blogging that I'm somehow fishing rewards, because you never know what you get. I'm not having curation trails on my account and not circle jerking either, hence it really feels like fishing, because there's no such thing as guaranteed income in here. Some days you score big catches, some days not.

What's important, at least in my case, is to show up every day and don't give up. I know tens of users that have gave up on their blogging activity on the blockchain and I get them, not everyone affords to hustle for that long, especially during the bear market, but for the perseverant ones time spent and efforts will be paid.

I'm curious to read what's your story with making money, how did you make your first bucks and how good did it felt. Was it hard or pleasant and dopamine releasing?

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency