Empire 🎥 Music, Drama, Power and Above All Family

Do you; like me; start watching a tv-series and after the scheduled break forget to pick up where you left off? I know some people who do and they even said that they don't go back in some cases. One of those mentioned was the tv-series Empire, but I on the other hand picked it up again and recently watched the series finale.

image.png

source


Empire (created by Lee Daniels) started airing in 2015 and last aired in April last year and it's about how a family had gotten successful in the music industry and what they're willing to do to stay at the top. The plotlines to me were sometimes too absurd, but I nonetheless enjoyed the drama, the character developments during the years and storylines and had my favorite characters.

Empire follows patriarch Lucious Lyon, matriarch Cookie Lyon and their three sons Andre, Jamal and Hakeem, who are constantly at odds with each other scrambling for power of the company and/or respect, but when outside forces "attack" one of their own they do come together.

I wouldn't know which character got pushed forward during the promotion (I assume it was Luciuos' character) of the series, but from the start my favorites were Cookie with her spunk, wit and comebacks and Jamal because of his soulful voice, musical genre and his big heart.

image.png

source


What also made me enjoy the show was the music and sometimes some artists who surprised me with their talents, like for example Rumer Willis (daughter of Bruce Willis and Demi Moore). I knew she wanted to break out into the industry, but didn't know she could sing until I heard her in a few episodes. Really enjoy her jazzy voice color in this episode:


Another breakout star for me was Kiandra Richardson as Yana, with her beautiful soulful voice that makes you believe the stories she's singing. Listen for yourself in this scene:


Did you watch this show till the finale or also stopped like others? If you watched the series, who were your favorite characters?


Chasse into the backstage! 💃

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency