Condorito: The Movie (2017) review: There’s a movie?


Source

The screenshots in this post were taken directly from the movie
Separador.png

Like anyone who dedicates part of their time to reviewing and analyzing films from different angles, I feel that it is inevitable that this activity ends up consuming what it would be like to watch a movie for pure entertainment, without pretending to have something significant about it, this, although it is Totally logical, it can also be frustrating, and ironically it leads people like us who love cinema to enjoy less and less what we consume in the middle.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.48.09.png

From time to time I try to give a little thought to the matter and I watch films of which I expect nothing, without having to forge any emotional connection or look for aspects that I later have to dissect and films like Condorito fulfill this role perfectly.

It's pretty random, I know, but necessary from time to time.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.46.42.png

About Condorito as a character in popular culture I know little but more than enough, it is a Chilean comic created by René Ríos Boettiger "Pepo" in 1949, it is a kind of attempt to mitigate the erroneous preconceptions that the Anglo-Saxon market had of the cartoon about the South Americans.

Extremely popular, to the point that he could be compared to a giant like Mafalda - Or Garfield - to speak in more international terms, Condorito represented the Latin American way of life through a fairly healthy humor for his time.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.47.45.png

The funny thing for me is that despite his undeniable innocence, Condorito is far from being the perfect intellectual property to adapt to the cinema today, not only because despite his world-class popularity I do not feel that the target of a film coincides with the comic strips (where the nostalgia factor plays an essential role) but because the time has given a bitter taste to a good portion of their jokes, considering that we are in the era of correct politics.

But let's not give it much more lapses and let's talk about the movie in more concrete terms.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.46.47.png

Released in 2017 and co-produced by several countries such as Peru, Mexico and of course Chile, Condorito: The film was directed by Eduardo Schuldty and Alex Orelle. The result, which we could classify as barely decent, is a fun work that suffers a bit to stretch to almost an hour and a half in duration a character whose entire nature was built for fairly short stories.

With an animation that more or less effectively replicates the design of the original characters (not so much their aesthetics) Condorito The Movie packs a good amount of nods to the original vignettes, wrapped in a plot that has an unnecessarily large scale.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.47.50.png

His best moments are those that more or less faithfully follow the spirit of the comic strips, with simple approaches and equal gags that give everything a quite pleasant Hispanic flavor.

We live hard times for this type of film, with giants like Disney, Pixar, Dreamworks or Sony Pictures doing wonders in terms of animation and narrative, Condorito falls short to meet our expectations - Let us be children or adults well familiar with the character -, we it feels unnecessary and forced, it loses focus easily and is visually nothing to write home about.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.46.54.png

As an experiment it is an interesting product and I cannot deny that it made me feel a bit nostalgic (I had access to a couple of comics when I was very young) but in general terms it is a fungible and replaceable film, incapable of leaving a mark with a character that he had already done it over time.

I read that there were plans for a sequel and without a doubt I will follow it closely, perhaps they will repeat the mistakes of this first part ... or they will learn from it and deliver a worthy work that respects these great characters and knows how to successfully bring them to the present day.

Separador.png


Source

Las imagenes que acompañan este post fueron tomadas directamente desde la película por mi

Separador.png

Como cualquier persona que dedica parte de su tiempo a reseñar y analizar películas desde diversos ángulos siento que es inevitable que esta actividad termine consumiendo lo que sería ver una película por puro entretenimiento, sin pretensiones de luego tener algo significativo al respecto, esto, aunque es totalmente lógico, también puede resultar frustrante, e irónicamente lleva a que personas como nosotros que amamos el cine cada vez disfrutemos menos y menos lo que consumimos en el medio.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.48.09.png

De vez en cuando trato de darle pocas vueltas al asunto y veo películas de las cuales nos espero nada, sin necesidad de forjar ninguna conexión emocional o buscar aspectos que luego tenga que diseccionar y películas como Condorito cumplen este rol perfectamente.

Es bastante aleatorio, lo sé, pero necesario de vez en cuando.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.46.42.png

De Condorito como personaje de la cultura popular sé poco pero más que suficiente, se trata de un cómic chileno creado por René Ríos Boettiger “Pepo”, en 1949, es una suerte de intento por mitigar las erróneas preconcepciones que tenía el mercado anglosajón de la historieta sobre los Suramericanos.

Extremadamente popular, a tal punto de que podía compararse con un gigante como Mafalda - O Garfield - para hablar en términos más internacionales, Condorito representaba el estilo de vida latinoamericano a través de un humor bastante sano para su época.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.47.45.png

Lo curioso para mi es que a pesar de su innegable inocencia, Condorito dista de ser la propiedad intelectual perfecta para adaptar al cine en la actualidad, no solo porque a pesar de su popularidad de talla mundial no siento que el target de una película coincida con el de las tiras cómicas (En donde el factor nostalgia juega un papel esencial) sino porque el del tiempo le ha dado un sabor amargo a una buena porción de sus chistes, considerando que estamos en la era de lo político correcto.

Pero no le demos muchas más vueltas y pasemos a hablar de la película en términos más concretos.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.46.47.png

Estrenada en el 2017 y coproducida por varios países como Perú, Mexico y por supuesto Chile, Condorito: La película fue dirigida por Eduardo Schuldty y Alex Orelle. El resultado, que podríamos catalogar como apenas decente, es una obra divertida que sufre un poco para estirar a casi una hora y media de duración un personaje cuya naturaleza entera estuvo construida para historias bastante cortas.

Con una animación que replica con más o menos eficacia el diseño de los personajes originales (No tanto su estética) Condorito The Movie empaca una buena cantidad de guiños a las viñetas originales, envueltos en una trama que tiene una escala innecesariamente grande.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.47.50.png

Sus mejores momentos son aquellos que siguen de forma más o menos fiel el espirito de las tiras cómicas, con planteamientos simples y gags iguales que le dan un sabor hispano bastante agradable a todo.

Vivimos épocas duras para este tipo de películas, con gigantes como Disney, Pixar, Dreamworks o Sony Pictures haciendo maravillas en términos de animación y narrativa, Condorito se queda corta para satisfacer nuestras expectativas - Seamos niños o adultos bien familiarizados con el personaje -, se siente innecesaria y forzada, pierde el foco con facilidad y visualmente no es nada del otro mundo.

Captura de pantalla 2021-07-29 19.46.54.png

Como experimento es un producto interesante y no puedo negar que me hizo sentir un poco de nostalgia (De muy chico tuve acceso a un par de cómics) pero en términos generales es una película fungible y reemplazable, incapaz de dejar una huella con un personaje que ya lo había hecho a lo largo del tiempo.

Leí que habían planes de una secuela y sin duda la seguiré de cerca, quizá repitan los errores de esta primera parte… o aprenderán de ella y entregarán una obra digna que respete a estos grandes personajes y sepa llevarlos a la actualidad de forma exitosa.

Separador.png

Twitter/Instagram: Alxxssss

AA4FE540-E68C-4DFF-90B3-32A2B0222C22.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments