Tides ( The Colony ) / FILM REVIEW [Eng - Esp]

A German-Swiss sci-fi production set in a post-apocalyptic world and starring one of the actresses from Army of the Dead, it has a beginning that promised a great adventure, but I think they missed the opportunity to make something more impactful. What did I think of the movie? I liked it, but they could have improved it.

Producción entre alemania y suiza de ciencia ficción, un mundo post apocalíptico y protagonizada por una de las actrices de Army of the Dead. Tiene un comienzo que prometía una gran aventura, pero creo que perdieron la oportunidad de hacer algo de mayor impacto. ¿Qué me pareció la película? Me ha gustado, pero podrían haberla mejorado.

2021-07-18 at 18.07.34.jpg

Source

linehivebyjc.jpg

English

Tides is the second film by Swiss filmmaker Tim Fehlbaum, who 10 years ago debuted with another post-apocalyptic film called Hell. I saw it a long time ago, the plot was about two sisters who had to survive a world being consumed by the Sun. Visually it was a film I liked, but it didn't bring anything new to the genre either.

Fehlbaum seems to like post-apocalyptic worlds, because now he's back to write and direct another film in that style, only instead of the sun, the earth has succumbed to ecological disaster and it's the seas that have destroyed civilization.

What has the filmmaker done in the last ten years? I haven't gotten much information on other work. The profile on IMDB only names a short film made in 2016. It seems strange to me, maybe he has been involved with other work within the industry, but that website is outdated.

The reviews towards his first film mostly agreed that the story was somewhat trite and had nothing different from other films with characters surviving in a destroyed world. But it was a movie I liked when I saw it. Why? Like the sci-fi movie I reviewed a few days ago ("Settlers") it is visually appealing. Could it have been better? Yes, but if we put aside some prejudices on the part of the specialized critics who have given it hard knocks, we are in front of a science fiction work that entertains.

Español

Tides es la segunda película del cineasta suizo Tim Fehlbaum, que hace 10 años debutó con otra película postapocalíptica llamada Hell. La vi hace mucho tiempo, la trama trataba de dos hermanas que debían sobrevivir a un mundo que estaba siendo consumido por el Sol. Visualmente era una película que me gusto, pero tampoco aportaba nada nuevo al género.

Parece que a Fehlbaum le gustan los mundos postapocalípticos, porque ahora vuelve a escribir y dirigir otra película de ese estilo, sólo que en lugar del sol, la tierra ha sucumbido al desastre ecológico y son los mares los que han destruido la civilización.

¿Qué ha hecho el cineasta en los últimos diez años? No he conseguido mucha información sobre otros trabajos. El perfil en IMDB sólo nombra un cortometraje realizado en 2016. Me parece extraño, tal vez ha estado involucrado con otros trabajos dentro de la industria, pero ese sitio web está desactualizado.

Las críticas hacia su primera película coincidían en su mayoría en que la historia era algo trillada y no tenía nada diferente a otras películas con personajes que sobreviven en un mundo destruido. Pero fue una película que me gustó cuando la vi. ¿Por qué? Al igual que la película de ciencia ficción que reseñé hace unos días ("Settlers") es visualmente atractiva. ¿Podría haber sido mejor? Sí, pero si dejamos de lado algunos prejuicios por parte de la crítica especializada que le ha dado duros golpes , estamos ante una obra de ciencia ficción que entretiene.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

What is the plot of Tides?

An ecological catastrophe caused the collapse of the Earth. A privileged group of humans was able to escape and establish a colony on a planet called Kepler 209. But the existence of human beings is in danger, because on that planet they have lost fertility. A mission called Ulysses 1 was sent to Earth to examine it, but nothing was heard from the astronauts. Years later, Louise Blake, the daughter of the captain of the previous mission, along with two other crew members, are sent from Kepler to Earth, in Ulysses 2, to study the state of the planet and see if it is possible to return. The fate of the Keplerians depends on that mission. As they enter Earth's orbit, a malfunction occurs, one of the crew members dies and only Blake and Tucker are left, who are taken prisoner by a tribe of savages, survivors of the apocalypse. Blake realizes that there are children and also hopes to find his father alive. Will he succeed in the mission? Who are these savages? Are the members of the first mission alive? Will they succeed in transmitting the message to Kepler 209? Or will something change Blake's mind? The fate of the human race is in his hands.

¿Cuál es el argumento de Tides?

Una catástrofe ecológica provocó el colapso de la Tierra. Un grupo privilegiado de humanos pudo escapar y establecer una colonia en un planeta llamado Kepler 209. Pero la existencia de los seres humanos está en peligro, porque en ese planeta han perdido la fertilidad. Una misión llamada Ulises 1 fue enviada a la Tierra para examinarlo, pero no se supo nada de los astronautas. Años después, Louise Blake, la hija del capitán de la misión anterior, junto con otros dos tripulantes, son enviados desde Kepler a la Tierra, en el Ulises 2, para estudiar el estado del planeta y ver si es posible regresar. El destino de los keplerianos depende de esa misión. Al entrar en la órbita de la Tierra, se produce una avería, uno de los tripulantes muere y sólo quedan Blake y Tucker, que son hechos prisioneros por una tribu de salvajes, supervivientes del apocalipsis. Blake se da cuenta de que hay niños y también espera encontrar a su padre con vida. ¿Tendrá éxito en la misión? ¿Quiénes son estos salvajes? ¿Están vivos los miembros de la primera misión? ¿Conseguirán transmitir el mensaje a Kepler 209? ¿O algo hará cambiar de opinión a Blake? El destino de la raza humana está en sus manos.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-18-at-18.10.gif

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

Opinion

The plot seems interesting, doesn't it? Human colonists who grew up on another planet, return to earth to study its state, before a possible return to be able to procreate and have offspring.

A totally destroyed earth, consumed by the waters. The survivors live like savages in settlements built by them and where they can protect themselves when the tide rises.

The first few minutes of the film, in which the crew members suffer an accident when landing on land and then are captured by the savages, are an excellent start. Everything is seen from the point of view of Louise Blake's character, who is amazed by the existence of children, something that no longer exists on her planet. Like any good soldier, the mission is paramount and he will do everything he can to communicate with his planet to give them the good news.

The story gets complicated when other factors come into play. The savages have no ill intentions towards Blake, they are only protecting themselves because they are victims of attacks from another side living inside some naval ships, which are actually members of the first mission who have stayed on earth and are led by Gibson, a crewmate of Blake's father.

It is at this point that the story becomes predictable. What could have been a film that delves into important themes, becomes a fight between good guys and bad guys, in which we immediately know who the villain of the story is, that is, there is not even a surprise, because everything is so obvious.

The film wastes all the potential it had to focus part of the story on the origins of the ecological disaster, which could have been caused by the effects of global warming. It would have been nice to delve a little deeper into this issue, as it is something that affects the planet today and will have dire consequences for future generations.

I was left wanting to see a little more of Kepler 209. How the society was formed, the system of government, to see the human colony on that planet. We are only shown a few flashbacks of Blake's memories talking to his father, in locked rooms. Possibly there was no budget to invest in special effects to show that planet in all its splendor.

Mi opinón

La trama parece interesante, ¿no? Colonos humanos que crecieron en otro planeta, regresan a la tierra para estudiar su estado, antes de un posible regreso para poder procrear y tener descendencia.

Una tierra totalmente destruida, consumida por las aguas. Los supervivientes viven como salvajes en asentamientos construidos por ellos y donde pueden protegerse cuando sube la marea.

Los primeros minutos de la película, en los que los tripulantes sufren un accidente al aterrizar en tierra y luego son capturados por los salvajes, son un excelente comienzo. Todo se ve desde el punto de vista del personaje de Louise Blake, que se asombra de la existencia de niños, algo que ya no existe en su planeta. Como todo buen soldado, la misión es primordial y hará todo lo posible por comunicarse con su planeta para darles la buena noticia.

La historia se complica cuando entran en juego otros factores. Los salvajes no tienen ninguna mala intención hacia Blake, sólo se protegen porque son víctimas de los ataques de otro bando que vive en el interior de unas buques navales, que en realidad son miembros de la primera misión que se han quedado a vivir en la tierra y que están dirigidas por Gibson, un compañero de tripulación del padre de Blake.

Es en este punto donde la historia se vuelve previsible. Lo que podría haber sido una película que profundizara en temas importantes, se convierte en una lucha entre buenos y malos, en la que enseguida sabemos quién es el villano de la historia, es decir, ni siquiera hay sorpresa, porque todo es muy evidente.

La película desperdicia todo el potencial que tenía para centrar parte de la historia en los orígenes del desastre ecológico, que podría haber sido causado por los efectos del calentamiento global. Hubiera estado bien ahondar un poco más en este tema, ya que es algo que afecta al planeta en la actualidad y que tendrá consecuencias nefastas para las generaciones futuras.

Me quedé con ganas de ver un poco más de Kepler 209. Cómo se formó la sociedad, el sistema de gobierno, ver la colonia humana en ese planeta. Sólo se nos muestran algunos flashbacks de los recuerdos de Blake hablando con su padre, en habitaciones cerradas. Posiblemente no había presupuesto para invertir en efectos especiales para mostrar ese planeta en todo su esplendor.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-18 at 18.12.26.jpg

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

It also misses the opportunity to do a more solid job regarding human behavior in the face of the eminent end of the species. The Keplerians are unable to have children, so it becomes necessary to warn them that Earth, despite being destroyed, can be habitable again. But resolving all this into a struggle between good and evil was the simplest thing to do. They go for the predictable, instead of creating something more complex that better explains the behavior and decision of some characters.

At least Blake's character manages to make us identify with her, she plays the surprised in a convincing way by the presence of the children, plus she will discover that her body reacts biologically normal, being in contact again with the planet earth, she becomes a fertile person again.

I liked the character and it was one of the reasons I watched the whole movie. She will have to make a tough decision, between fully complying with the mission and at the same time doing the right thing by helping the savages of the injustices they are experiencing because of the things the leader of the first mission that has been established on earth does.

Some professional film critics have made a comparison of the film to WaterWorld, the big Kevin Costner production that was a box office flop. And that's because the mix of water and film hasn't worked very well in many movies, with perhaps James Cameron's Titanic being one of the few exceptions.

I am an advocate of Costner's old movie, because I was one of the few who liked it and enjoyed it very much. More than a year ago I did a review remembering that movie. I tell you something: don't get carried away by those false claims of supposed specialists. I, JC, the crazy guy who likes movies, assure you that Tides is nothing like WaterWorld, they are pure inventions, a way to create headlines. The only thing they have in common is that the story takes place in a post apocalyptic world with lots of water. In Tides there are no mutants, pirate gangs or anything like that. Just two surviving sides of the catastrophe, each with different interests.

As I reported at the beginning, filmmaker Tim Fehlbaum presented a post-apocalyptic film ten years ago in which the visual aspect was very striking. Here he again creates a visually stunning world. If in Hell he emphasized the yellow color palette for the effects of the sun on the earth, this time he uses a grayscale to represent the effects of water and humidity on the earth.

To achieve this, he has surrounded himself with the same team he worked with 10 years ago. The same team in art direction, photography by Markus Förderer, editing by Andreas Menn, music by Lorenz Dangel. The same group of friends and professionals who worked with him on his first film. It should also be noted that both films were produced by the great Roland Emmerich. Yes, the filmmaker famous for Independence Day, The Day After Tomorrow, etc., productions with stories where the destruction of the world is the central axis, either by an invasion of aliens or by natural phenomena. Fehlbaum is very well sponsored with the support of a filmmaker like Emmerich.

When the film ended, I asked myself the same question I asked myself when I saw Settlers: all this for what? I found it entertaining, I wasn't bored. I found the protagonist a good character, another of the earthlings, a member of the savage tribe I also found an interesting character and the villain of the film perfectly fulfills his role. But I have to be honest: there is nothing new in this story.

También se pierde la oportunidad de hacer un trabajo más sólido respecto al comportamiento humano ante el eminente fin de la especie. Los keplerianos no pueden tener hijos, por lo que se hace necesario advertirles de que la Tierra, a pesar de estar destruida, puede volver a ser habitable. Pero resolver todo esto en una lucha entre el bien y el mal era lo más sencillo. Van a lo predecible, en lugar de crear algo más complejo que explique mejor el comportamiento y la decisión de algunos personajes.

Al menos el personaje de Blake consigue que nos identifiquemos con ella, se hace la sorprendida de forma convincente por la presencia de los niños, además descubrirá que su cuerpo reacciona biológicamente normal, al estar en contacto de nuevo con el planeta tierra, vuelve a ser una persona fértil.

Me gustó el personaje y fue una de las razones por las que vi toda la película. Ella tendrá que tomar una dura decisión, entre cumplir plenamente con la misión y al mismo tiempo hacer lo correcto ayudando a los salvajes de las injusticias que están viviendo por las cosas que hace el líder de la primera misión que se ha establecido en la tierra.

Algunos críticos de cine profesionales han hecho una comparación de la película con WaterWorld, la gran producción de Kevin Costner que fue un fracaso de taquilla. Y es que la mezcla de agua y cine no ha funcionado muy bien en muchas películas, siendo quizás Titanic de James Cameron una de las pocas excepciones.

Soy un defensor de la vieja película de Costner, porque fui de los pocos a los que les gustó y la disfrute mucho. Hace más de un año hice una crítica recordando esa película. Te digo algo: no te dejes llevar por esas falsas afirmaciones de supuestos especialistas. Yo, JC, el loco al que le gusta el cine, te aseguro que Tides no se parece en nada a WaterWorld, son puros inventos, una forma de crear titulares. Lo único que tienen en común es que la historia se desarrolla en un mundo post apocalíptico con mucha agua. En Tides no hay mutantes, bandas de piratas ni nada parecido. Sólo dos bandos supervivientes de la catástrofe, cada uno con intereses diferentes.

Como informé al principio, el cineasta Tim Fehlbaum presentó hace diez años una película postapocalíptica en la que el aspecto visual era muy llamativo. Aquí vuelve a crear un mundo visualmente impactante. Si en Hell destacaba la paleta de colores amarillos para los efectos del sol en la tierra, esta vez utiliza una escala de grises para representar los efectos del agua y la humedad en la tierra.

Para conseguirlo, se ha rodeado del mismo equipo con el que trabajó hace 10 años. El mismo equipo en la dirección artística, la fotografía de Markus Förderer, el montaje de Andreas Menn, la música de Lorenz Dangel. El mismo grupo de amigos y profesionales que trabajaron con él en su primera película. También hay que destacar que ambas películas fueron producidas por el gran Roland Emmerich. Sí, el cineasta famoso por Independence Day, El día después de mañana, etc., producciones con historias donde la destrucción del mundo es el eje central, ya sea por una invasión de extraterrestres o por fenómenos naturales. Fehlbaum está muy bien apadrinado con el apoyo de un cineasta como Emmerich.

Cuando terminó la película, me hice la misma pregunta que me hice cuando vi Settlers: ¿todo esto para qué? La encontré entretenida, no me aburrí. La protagonista me pareció un buen personaje, otra de las terrícolas, un miembro de la tribu salvaje también me pareció un personaje interesante y el villano de la película cumple perfectamente con su papel. Pero tengo que ser sincero: no hay nada nuevo en esta historia.

linehivebyjc.jpg

2021-07-18-at-18.11.gif

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Nora Arnezeder plays Louise Blake. A member of the Ulysses 2 mission, her mission is to see if Earth can become habitable again. But she is also on this mission for a personal matter, because she hopes to find her father alive on Earth. A woman with well-defined values and principles who will have to make difficult decisions. I liked the work of the actress, whom many of us have seen recently in Snyder's Army of the Dead. She was the one who played the attractive Coyote, who helped the characters in that film enter the zombie zone. She is an actress who is well suited to tough, battle-hardened characters.

Danish actress Sarah-Sofie Boussnina plays Narvik, one of the women who leads the group of surviving savages on earth. A tough female character who at first seems like she will be Blake's antagonist, but the events that occur in the film will unite them in a common cause. I have very little information about this actress, I have not seen any of her previous work and I believe she is little known. I enjoyed her performance and look forward to seeing her in another production. I will do further research on her and where she has worked.

Gibson is played by the great Iain Glen. A member of the crew of Ulysses 1 and a friend of Blake's father, he has taken it upon himself to create a colony of Keplerians on Earth. Apparently, Blake's arrival makes him happy, because now they will be able to communicate with the planet to report that Earth is habitable. Is that what he really wants? The actor known worldwide for his character of Jorah Mormont in Game of Thrones, the eternal lover of the Queen of Dragons, who didn't even get a kiss hahaha. He is forever in fiendzone. The actor is excellent at what he does and for me it was a pleasure to see him as the bad guy of the show.

Rounding out the cast are Sebastian Roché as Blake's father, Joel Basman as Palling, Gibson's right hand man and actor Sope Dirisu plays Tucker, Blake's mission partner.

Nora Arnezeder interpreta a Louise Blake. Miembro de la misión Ulysses 2, su misión es ver si la Tierra puede volver a ser habitable. Pero también está en esta misión por una cuestión personal, porque espera encontrar a su padre vivo en la Tierra. Una mujer con valores y principios bien definidos que tendrá que tomar decisiones difíciles. Me ha gustado el trabajo de la actriz, a la que muchos hemos visto recientemente en El ejército de los muertos de Snyder. Ella era la que interpretaba a la atractiva Coyote, que ayudaba a los personajes de esa película a entrar en la zona zombie. Es una actriz que se adapta muy bien a los personajes duros y aguerridos.

La actriz danesa Sarah-Sofie Boussnina interpreta a Narvik, una de las mujeres que lidera el grupo de salvajes supervivientes en la tierra. Un personaje femenino duro que al principio parece que será la antagonista de Blake, pero los acontecimientos que ocurren en la película les unirán en una causa común. Tengo muy poca información sobre esta actriz, no he visto ninguno de sus trabajos anteriores y creo que es poco conocida. Me gustó su actuación y espero verla en otra producción. Investigaré más adelante sobre ella y dónde ha trabajado.

El gran Iain Glen interpreta a Gibson. Miembro de la tripulación del Ulises 1 y amigo del padre de Blake, se ha encargado de crear una colonia de keplerianos en la Tierra. Al parecer, la llegada de Blake le hace feliz, porque ahora podrán comunicarse con el planeta para informar de que la Tierra es habitable. ¿Es eso lo que realmente quiere? El actor mundialmente conocido por su personaje de Jorah Mormont en Juego de Tronos, el eterno enamorado de la Reina de los Dragones, que ni siquiera recibió un beso jajaja. Está para siempre en fiendzone. El actor es excelente en lo que hace y para mí fue un placer verlo como el malo de la función.

Completan el reparto Sebastian Roché como el padre de Blake, Joel Basman como Palling, la mano derecha de Gibson y el actor Sope Dirisu interpreta a Tucker, el compañero de misión de Blake.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Tides has been titled for the American market as The Colony. I recommend it to science fiction fans whose stories take place in post-apocalyptic worlds, where all humans show their savage side. In a world totally destroyed, new rules must be imposed and these will always be made by the strongest.

That yes, be clear about what I said, the story does not bring anything new, it has many elements within the plot that could have been treated with more depth, to make us reflect, but it is not so. Anyway, if you are a fan of this kind of movies, you will like it. But don't expect something of great impact.

If you've already seen it, I'd like to know your opinion. You can do it in the comments.

Tides ha sido titulada para el mercado americano como The Colony. La recomiendo a los aficionados a la ciencia ficción cuyas historias se desarrollan en mundos postapocalípticos, donde todos los humanos muestran su lado salvaje. En un mundo totalmente destruido, hay que imponer nuevas reglas y éstas siempre serán hechas por los más fuertes.

Eso sí, ten claro lo que he dicho, la historia no aporta nada nuevo, tiene muchos elementos dentro de la trama que podrían haber sido tratados con más profundidad, para hacernos reflexionar, pero no es así. De todas formas, si eres fan de este tipo de películas, te gustará. Pero no esperes algo de gran impacto.

Si ya la has visto, me gustaría saber tu opinión. Puedes hacerlo en los comentarios.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

TRAILER

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

POSTER

2021-07-18 at 18.05.11.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

Settlers / FILM REVIEWMéandre / FILM REVIEW Ederlezi Rising / FILM REVIEW

linehivebyjc.jpg

Join the community

linehivebyjc.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments