My first short film / CINEMA

Chronicle of a failed filmmaker was the title I had in mind for this post, but besides the fact that it was too long, in reality my adventure in making my first short film I cannot call it a failure. It was a learning process, a trial and error process that gave me experience, leaving me great lessons that would help me in the course of my life. Today I will continue with the series of posts about my personal experience with the world of cinema, this time, when I managed to make my first short film.

Crónica de un cineasta fracasado era el título que tenía en mente para este post, pero además de que era demasiado largo, en realidad mi aventura en la realización de mi primer cortometraje no puedo llamarla un fracaso. Fue un proceso de aprendizaje, un proceso de ensayo y error que me dio experiencia, dejándome grandes lecciones que me ayudarían en el transcurso de mi vida. Hoy continuaré con la serie de posts sobre mi experiencia personal con el mundo del cine, esta vez, cuando logré realizar mi primer cortometraje.

Vídeo Full HD 1920x1080 px (1).gif

Self-portrait edited with the Photo Lab mobile application and cover made with free resources from the Crello application.

linehivebyjc.jpg

English

I was very young, I was full of dreams, I had the feeling that I would eat the world. I was deluded, I had no idea that the world was going to swallow me up hahaha.

I loved cinema so much and I had started doing theater, a stage I will talk about later in another post and in the corresponding community. Why not make my own movie? That was the first thing that came to my mind, I dreamed big, a movie. As if making it was something easy, but I was blinded by that youthful energy, I felt unstoppable.

I did theater, but acting wasn't my forte, I always wanted to take the reins of directing, it's something I like and I know how to do well. I had taken scriptwriting courses with a Cuban playwright, Miguel Ponce, who worked on Francis Ford Coppola's Dracula. Ponce later founded a theater group in Nueva Esparta where he would spend his last days. I also took courses in television production, to learn and obtain knowledge that would be useful for the projects I had in mind.

The opportunity

In the city there was a civil association that was organizing the first meeting of videomakers in the region, when I heard about it, I looked for the requirements to participate and the deadline to submit the material. It was then when the opportunity to make a short film arose, I had a couple of months before the deadline to submit the material. I was glad that in my city a film movement was emerging, unfortunately I didn't know that later those people would form a group that was too closed.

The Camera

I had some money saved up and I used it to develop the short film. The main thing was to get a camera. Thanks to a friend from the theater group whose boyfriend was a cameraman, she put me in touch with another cameraman who had an old Panasonic camera for sale (I don't remember the exact model) that used VHS video tape to record. It was the cheapest I could get, I didn't have enough money to buy one of the cameras that used small video tapes and were the most modern of the time. Without thinking too much about it, we did the deal, the camera was big, but it worked for my plans.

The script

I thought I was an expert after having taken the course with the expert and having read several books on how to write screenplays. It took me a week to write the script, I remembered a very famous urban legend at that time and I was inspired to create my story. I went a little crazy, there were several characters and locations, I got carried away and at the end I had the 30 pages of the script. Was it bad? Good? Hell, I can't give a subjective answer, when I finished it I thought it was a masterpiece, for my first script, it wasn't that bad, of course it wasn't perfect, but it wasn't garbage either. It was made with a lot of passion and enthusiasm.

Español

Era muy joven, estaba lleno de sueños, tenía la sensación de que me comería el mundo. Era un iluso, no tenía ni idea de que el mundo me iba a tragar a mi jajaja.

Me gustaba tanto el cine y había empezado a hacer teatro, una etapa de la que hablaré más adelante en otro post y en la comunidad correspondiente. ¿Por qué no hacer mi propia película? Eso fue lo primero que se me ocurrió, soñé a lo grande, una película. Como si hacerla fuera algo fácil, pero me cegaba esa energía juvenil, me sentía imparable.

Hice teatro, pero la actuación no era mi fuerte, siempre quise tomar las riendas de la dirección, es algo que me gusta y sé hacer bien. Había tomado cursos de guión con un dramaturgo cubano, Miguel Ponce, que trabajó en la película Drácula de Francis Ford Coppola, el maestro Ponce luego fundó un grupo de teatro en Nueva Esparta donde pasaría sus últimos días. También tomé cursos de producción de televisión, para aprender y obtener conocimientos que me fueran útiles para los proyectos que tenía en mente.

La oportunidad

En la ciudad había una asociación civil que estaba organizando el primer encuentro de videastas de la región, cuando me enteré, busqué los requisitos para participar y la fecha límite para presentar el material. Fue entonces cuando surgió la oportunidad de hacer un cortometraje, tenía un par de meses antes de que se cerrara el plazo para presentar el material. Me alegré de que en mi ciudad se estuviera gestando un movimiento cinematográfico, lamentablemente no sabía que luego esas personas formarían un grupo demasiado cerrado.

La Cámara

Tenía algo de dinero ahorrado y lo utilicé para desarrollar el cortometraje. Lo principal era conseguir una cámara. Gracias a una amiga del grupo de teatro cuyo novio era camarógrafo, me puso en contacto con otro camarógrafo que tenía a la venta una vieja cámara Panasonic ( no recuerdo modelo exacto) que utilizaba cinta de vídeo VHS para grabar. Era lo más barato que podía conseguir, no tenía suficiente dinero para comprar una de las cámaras que usaban cintas de vídeo pequeñas y que eran las más modernas de la época. Sin pensarlo demasiado, hicimos el negocio, la cámara era grande, pero funcionaba para mis planes.

El guión

Me creía un experto después de haber hecho el curso con y haber leído varios libros sobre cómo escribir guiones. Tardé una semana en elaborar el guión, me acordé de una leyenda urbana muy famosa en aquella época y me inspiré para crear mi historia. Me volví un poco loco, había varios personajes y localizaciones, me dejé llevar y al final tenía las 15 páginas del guión. ¿Era malo? ¿Bueno? Joder, no puedo dar una respuesta subjetiva, cuando lo terminé me pareció una obra maestra, para ser mi primer guión, no estaba tan mal, claro que no era perfecto, pero tampoco era una basura. Estaba hecho con mucha pasión y entusiasmo.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

The actors

It was one of the tasks that I thought would be the most difficult for me. I had no money to pay the actors and actresses, but all my friends decided to support me and agreed to participate, they all wanted to do something, I was one of the few who proposed them to participate in a short film. Everything came together so that the girls said yes, especially the ones I selected to play the characters with nude scenes. Yes, the story had sex scenes, semi-nude scenes, fights, physical violence, many already know that I'm sick in the head and that script had a lot of influence from Tarantino's films, at least on paper, another thing is that in the execution not everything went as planned.

We were a group of young people who coincided with the illusion to create, dedicated to art. Most of them wanted to dedicate themselves to acting and were part of the acting workshops that my friend and I gave in the city. Without the support of all of them it would have been impossible to make the production, they put effort, they spent money from their own pockets to travel, they invested their time in this crazy short film that I proposed them to make. Without getting paid, they did it out of passion. Although this would leave me with another lesson that I will tell you later.

The locations

Again, my fellow actors helped me get the locations. One of them lent part of his house to shoot in the living room and the nude scenes in one of the bedrooms, which we did with minimal equipment, so that the actress would be comfortable, it was just my partner operating the camera, the actress's cousin who also had a role in the short, the actress and me, who was the actor and director. Yes, I was everything in that short film. Actor, director, writer, producer and editor. Hahahaha complete madness

Another of the locations was an apartment, owned by my friend's family, who currently lives in the United States, sometimes we communicate through a social network, remembering together those crazy experiences. I am very grateful to him for trusting me and helping me to capture in images my dreams of being a filmmaker.

El Elenco

Fue una de las tareas que pensé que sería más difícil para mí. No tenía dinero para pagar a los actores y actrices, pero todos mis amigos decidieron apoyarme y aceptaron participar, todos querían hacer algo, yo fui uno de los pocos que les propuso participar en un cortometraje. Todo confluyó para que las chicas dijeran que sí, sobre todo las que seleccioné para interpretar los personajes con escenas de desnudo. Sí, la historia tenía escenas de sexo, semidesnudos, peleas, violencia física, muchos ya saben que estoy mal de la cabeza y ese guión tenía mucha influencia de las películas de Tarantino, al menos en el papel, otra cosa es que en la ejecución no todo saliera como lo había planeado.

Éramos un grupo de jóvenes que coincidíamos con la ilusión por crear, dedicados al arte. La mayoría de ellos querían dedicarse a la actuación y formaban parte de los talleres de actuación que mi amigo y yo dábamos en la ciudad. Sin el apoyo de todos ellos hubiera sido imposible realizar la producción, pusieron empeño, gastaron dinero de sus propios bolsillos para viajar, invirtieron su tiempo en esta locura de cortometraje que les propuse hacer. Sin cobrar, lo hicieron por pasión. Aunque esto me dejaría otra lección que les contaré más adelante.

Las localizaciones

De nuevo, mis compañeros actores me ayudaron a conseguir las localizaciones. Uno de ellos prestó parte de su casa para rodar en el salón y las escenas de desnudo en uno de los dormitorios, que hicimos con un equipo mínimo, para que la actriz estuviera cómoda, sólo estábamos mi compañero manejando la cámara, la prima de la actriz que también tenía un papel en el corto, la actriz y yo, que era el actor y director. Sí, yo lo era todo en ese cortometraje. Actor, director, guionista, productor y montador. Jajajaja una completa locura.

Otra de las localizaciones fue un apartamento, propiedad de la familia de mi amigo, que actualmente vive en Estados Unidos, a veces nos comunicamos a través de una red social, recordando juntos aquellas locas experiencias. Le estoy muy agradecido por confiar en mí y ayudarme a plasmar en imágenes mis sueños de ser cineasta.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

IMG_20211121_195200.jpg

Own photograph, taken with my cell phone/ Fotografía propia, tomada con mi teléfono móvil. Videocassettes I used in the cameras I acquired after making my first short film. In the background a VHS cleaner, a relic. / Videocintas que use en las cámaras que adquirí después de hacer mi primer cortometraje. Al fondo un limpiador de VHS, una reliquia.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

Production

With an elaborate shooting schedule, locations secured and all the cast confirmed, I started the shooting of the short film with a lot of nerves. I remember the fear I felt, until that moment I only knew the theory to carry out a recording. I made a storyborad with horrible drawings that only I understood, but it helped me a lot to know all the shots I had to do.

My fear was that everything would go very wrong, that they would lose confidence in me and then say they weren't going to continue. Fortunately I did very well, I armed myself with security, I put on a suit of armor so as not to show nervousness. Besides, we were all friends and there was no tension in the atmosphere, everything was fun. When it came to filming, I was strict and demanding, everyone in the cast, even if they were not professional actors, behaved in a totally professional manner. It was something that struck me, to see the level of commitment they all had. When the scene was cut and I informed them that the shot was okay, we started joking, making jokes, laughing, having a good time.

The camera was very big and it was difficult for me to do several takes. At that time I wanted to experiment, doing shots that were not often seen in national films, which were burdened by the soap opera style of the talking heads.

For example, in the sequence where a character is preparing dinner, I wanted to do a panoramic shot from above. But I didn't have the crane to do it, so I tried to do it manually, but the shot came out shaky. We spent some time thinking about how to solve it, I had to give up doing it as a tracking shot and just do fixed shots from above. It wasn't what I had planned from the beginning, but time was running out and I only had that one day to get that shot. I learned to make decisions, regardless of sacrificing my artistic vision, it was just an aesthetic thing, thinking I was a great cinematographer hahaha. The important thing was that it didn't influence the plot.

Another anecdote from that day was another shot I wanted to do: the screen was going black and the character was opening the fridge to get the products for dinner, but the camera was too big. We had to change the compartments of the fridge, which was on, it was the fridge of the family who lived there. It was also a risk to subject the chamber to moisture or a drop of water falling from the freezer. I had to protect the camera with plastic bags, we rehearsed the scene several times, counted the seconds and finally got the shot. That shot alone, lasts a few seconds in the short film, took us about half an hour to do.

All of that was a learning process for everyone. For the cast it was the closest thing to participating in a production and for me, learning by putting into practice everything I had read, everything that was in my mind only in theory. That's why, when I see a low-budget production, I feel more respect and I don't make criticisms that could harm the director, because even if it's something very amateur, I understand the effort and work that any audiovisual production deserves, no matter how simple it may seem.

Guerrilla filmmaking

That's what we did for one of the scenes in which two characters had to fight. They didn't give us permission in the nightclubs we visited. I explained to the actors (2 girls and 3 men) how we were going to do it. It was getting dark and it was the only day the girls could go shooting. We went to a mall that had a restaurant with tables in the hallway. We sat down, ordered some beers, were drinking, paying. I started filming, they didn't tell us anything.

Then I gave the order to the actors to start the argument and the fight, everything came out very natural, people saw how two men were arguing and then one hit the other, ending up both on the floor. The mall security guard tried to interfere, but I told him that it was a recording, to watch the camera. We did it as quickly as possible, in one take, before someone called the police because they thought it was a real fight.

The owner of the place knew me by sight, he frequented the mall a lot and had also seen me with the group of young rockers who lived near his house and were friends with his daughter, he didn't like me very much, but he didn't say anything, I told him it was a recording for a college short film (a white lie) and that was the only time he smiled with me. The waiter and the security guard were thrilled when I told them it was a recording for a short film and agreed to be in the scene. Everything went very well, I made a quick decision again, something you have to learn when you don't have a big budget or the necessary locations. In those cases you can apply guerrilla filmmaking techniques, shoot fast and run away hahaha.

La producción

Con un elaborado calendario de rodaje, localizaciones aseguradas y todo el reparto confirmado, comencé el rodaje del cortometraje con muchos nervios. Recuerdo el miedo que sentía, hasta ese momento sólo conocía la teoría para llevar a cabo una grabación. Hice un storyborad con unos dibujos horribles que sólo yo entendía, pero me sirvió mucho para saber todas las tomas que tenía que hacer.

Mi miedo era que todo saliera muy mal, que perdieran la confianza en mí y luego dijeran que no iban a continuar. Afortunadamente lo hice muy bien, me armé de seguridad, me puse una armadura para no mostrar nerviosismo. Además, éramos todos amigos y no había tensión en el ambiente, todo era divertido. A la hora de rodar, yo era estricto y exigente, todos los del reparto, aunque no fueran actores profesionales, se comportaban de forma totalmente profesional. Fue algo que me impactó, ver el nivel de compromiso que tenían todos. Cuando se cortó la escena y les informé de que la toma estaba bien, empezamos a bromear, a hacer chistes, a reírnos, a pasarlo bien.

La cámara era muy grande y me resultaba difícil hacer varias tomas. En aquella época quería experimentar, haciendo tomas que no se veían a menudo en las películas nacionales, las cuales estaban lastradas por el estilo telenovelesco de las cabezas parlantes.

Por ejemplo, en la secuencia en la que un personaje está preparando la cena, quería hacer una panorámica desde arriba. Pero no tenía la grúa para hacerlo, así que intenté hacerlo manualmente, pero la toma salía movida. Estuvimos un tiempo pensando en cómo solucionarlo, tuve que renunciar a hacerlo como plano de seguimiento y limitarme a hacer planos fijos desde arriba. No era lo que había planeado desde el principio, pero el tiempo se agotaba y sólo tenía ese día para hacer esa toma. Aprendí a tomar decisiones, sin importar sacrificar mi visión artística, sólo era algo estético, pensando que era un gran cineasta jajaja. Lo importante era que no influyera en la trama.

Otra anécdota de ese día fue otra toma que quería hacer: la pantalla se ponía en negro y el personaje abría la nevera para coger los productos para la cena, pero la cámara era demasiado grande. Tuvimos que cambiar los compartimentos de la nevera, que estaba encendida, era la nevera de la familia que vivía allí. También era un riesgo someter la cámara a la humedad o a una gota de agua que cayera del congelador. Tuve que proteger la cámara con bolsas de plástico, ensayamos la escena varias veces, contamos los segundos y finalmente conseguimos la toma. Sólo esa toma, que dura unos pocos segundos en el cortometraje, nos llevó cerca de media hora hacerla.

Fue un proceso de aprendizaje para todos. Para el reparto fue lo más parecido a participar en una producción y para mí, aprender poniendo en práctica todo lo que había leído, todo lo que estaba en mi mente sólo en teoría. Por eso, cuando veo una producción de bajo presupuesto, siento más respeto y no hago críticas que puedan perjudicar al realizador, porque aunque sea algo muy amateur, entiendo el esfuerzo y el trabajo que merece cualquier producción audiovisual, por sencilla que parezca.

Cine de guerrilla

Eso es lo que hicimos para una de las escenas en las que dos personajes tenían que pelear. No nos dieron permiso en los locales nocturnos que visitamos. Les expliqué a los actores (2 chicas y 3 hombres) cómo íbamos a hacerlo. Estaba anocheciendo y era el único día que las chicas podían ir a rodar. Fuimos a un centro comercial que tenía un restaurante con mesas en el pasillo. Nos sentamos, pedimos unas cervezas, estuvimos consumiendo, pagando. Empecé a filmar, no nos dijeron nada.

Entonces di la orden a los actores para que empezaran la discusión y la pelea, todo salió muy natural, la gente veía como dos hombres discutían y luego uno golpeaba al otro, acabando los dos en el suelo. El vigilante del centro comercial intentó interferir, pero le indiqué que era una grabación, que viera la cámara. Lo hicimos lo más rápido posible, en una sola toma, antes de que alguien llamara a la policía porque pensaba que era una pelea de verdad.

El dueño del local me conocía de vista, frecuentaba mucho el centro comercial y también me había visto con el grupo de jóvenes rockeros que vivían cerca de su casa y eran amigos de su hija, no le caí muy bien, pero no dijo nada, le dije que era una grabación para un corto universitario (una mentira blanca) y esa fue la única vez que sonrió conmigo. El camarero y el guardia de seguridad se emocionaron cuando les dije que era una grabación para un cortometraje y aceptaron salir en la escena. Todo salió muy bien, volví a tomar una decisión rápida, algo que hay que aprender cuando no se tiene un gran presupuesto ni las localizaciones necesarias. En esos casos se pueden aplicar técnicas de cine de guerrilla, grabar rápido y salir corriendo jajaja

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

The most difficult scene

As I mentioned in previous paragraphs, it was the love and nudity scene that I had put in the script. We were all rookies, but we set an example of how to work as professionals. The minimum crew was four people in the room. I was the male actor and I played the scene with total respect for the actress, we talked for a while before shooting, I told her to tell me immediately if anything made her feel uncomfortable. The whole sequence went well, personally, I didn't feel anything, I just interpreted what was written in the script, if there was kissing, I had to show passion, but everything was acted. For me it was a personal achievement and gave me experience for future scenes in other short films of friends in which I participated. Above all, a lot of respect for the scene partner and being professional.

Post-production

At this stage began my hate relationship with editing. In fact, it is my least favorite part of an audiovisual production and it is better to leave it in the hands of a professional. I visited a company that was in charge of the editing and they asked me for a lot of money. How to solve that? Would I have time to include it in the videographer's meeting? I already had everything recorded, I could not afford a professional editing, so I had to continue with my amateur style until the end. The camera recorded on VHS, I had all the material on VHS tapes.

I went to a store run by Asians in the center of town, the area where all the stores were and VHS were very cheap, there was already the DVD which was the new king of homes. I bought two VHS sets and decided to do the assembly myself, cutting and pasting, from one set to the other. An exhausting job, I only had the nights available to do it and it took me a week to get everything ready.

I had to add the opening and closing credits, I had no computer. In the office where I worked I printed all the credits on sheets of paper. Then, at home, I took photos of each of the sheets, which I would later insert into the final product. All very handmade, but we did it! Another lesson learned: don't let anyone tell you what you can and can't do. In the style of Locke's character in the series Lost.

La escena más difícil

Ya lo conté en párrafos anteriores, fue la escena de amor y desnudez que había puesto en el guión. Éramos todos novatos, pero dimos ejemplo de cómo trabajar como profesionales. El equipo mínimo era de cuatro personas en la sala. Yo era el actor masculino e interpreté la escena con total respeto a la actriz, hablamos un rato antes de rodar, le dije que me dijera inmediatamente si algo la hacía sentir incómoda. Toda la secuencia salió bien, personalmente, no sentí nada, sólo interpreté lo que estaba escrito en el guión, si había besos, tenía que mostrar pasión, pero todo estaba actuado. Para mí fue un logro personal y me dio experiencia para futuras escenas en otros cortos de amigos en los que participé. Sobre todo, mucho respeto por el compañero de escena y ser profesional.

Postproducción

En esta etapa comenzó mi relación de odio con la edición. De hecho, es la parte que menos me gusta de hacer una producción audiovisual y es mejor dejarla en manos de un profesional en la materia. Visité una empresa que se encargaba del montaje y me pedian mucho dinero. ¿Cómo solucionar eso? ¿Tendría tiempo de incluirlo en la reunión del videógrafos? Ya tenía todo grabado, no podía permitirme un montaje profesional, así que tuve que seguir con mi estilo amateur hasta el final. La cámara grababa en VHS, tenía todo el material en cintas VHS.

Fui a una tienda regentada por asiáticos en el centro de la ciudad, la zona donde estaban todas las tiendas y los VHS eran muy baratos, ya estaba el DVD que era el nuevo rey de los hogares. Compré dos equipos VHS y decidí hacer yo mismo el montaje, cortando y pegando, de un equipo a otro. Un trabajo agotador, sólo tenía las noches disponibles para hacerlo y tardé una semana en tenerlo todo listo.

Tenía que añadir los créditos iniciales y finales, no tenía ordenador. En la oficina donde trabajaba imprimí todos los créditos en hojas de papel. Luego, en casa, tomé fotos de cada una de las hojas, que luego insertaría en el producto final. Todo muy artesanal, ¡pero lo conseguimos! Otra lección aprendida: No dejes que nadie te diga lo que puedes o no puedes hacer. Al estilo del personaje de Locke en la serie Lost.

linehivebyjc.jpg

Sin título-1.png

[Screenshots of the short film, they are in very bad resolution, they are from a copy transferred from VHS to DVD in an obsolete video format. / Capturas de pantalla del cortometraje, están en muy mala resolución, son de una copia pasada de VHS a DVD en un formato de vídeo obsoleto. ]

linehivebyjc.jpg

The screening / La proyección

lineahivedelgada.jpg

The event took place in the city museum, in a room with chairs and a projector, not in a movie theater. There were people from different parts of the country. Among the special guests was a man who had created the new advertising campaign for the Venevisión channel and who had also done the same for a major television channel in Panama. Being in that meeting with many people who supposedly loved the seventh art, I was excited, but to my regret I was quickly disappointed.

At that time I was very open to people and I found out the hard way that as everywhere, there were many envious, bad and hypocritical people. From all the negative things I draw life lessons, I was a very stupid young man, I thought I was going to meet a lot of nice people, but unfortunately I met a lot of toxic and false people. That's why I don't believe in public compliments.

For a moment I thought they wouldn't screen my short film. I still believe that one of the organizers tried to stop them from screening it. I watched the whole thing from a distance. Up to that point they had only shown boring experimental short films, the kind where a character just stares at the horizon in silence for 10 minutes, without any interesting plot or story. That's the kind of product that the snob of that kind of festival likes. Another lesson learned, Jotace!

My short film told a story, had a cast of about 20 actors and left a positive message to the viewer. It was very handmade, but at least it had coherence. I had followed all the lessons learned in the creation of a story, the presentation of the characters, the development of the plot, the plot twists (3). But, apparently, the eminences present at the meeting did not like it.

That important man from the country's television channel approached me to ask me how I had managed to get all the actors to work without pay, especially the girl who showed her breasts, and he indirectly criticized me for the positive message left by the end of my story, telling me that being so young, the message was a bit conservative. I understood that the entertainment world in the country, at that time, was interested in stories in which criminals were heroes or that incited drug use. That's why they didn't like my short film, it wasn't what they wanted, instead they were delighted with a short film about some guys who put a small camera on their ankles and rode around the city on skateboards. Images that contributed nothing, no story, no message. Empty content, the kind that the country's television likes to broadcast.

Some came to congratulate me, but I noticed the falseness in their faces, in fact it was in a mocking tone, since they were professionals who had traveled the world and made short films in Spain, France, etc. I gave them back the same hypocritical smile. Assimilating, learning the lessons that life was giving me. Only two people approached me in a more private way and if they really congratulated me, I could check, we exchanged phone numbers to be in touch and do something together in the future. Thanks to that kind of experience I am the person I am today, I am grateful to have entered that sea of piranhas, because after that I felt better prepared to deal with them.

With the organizers I would later collaborate as an actor in one of their projects, but I am a very bad actor, I admit it. They were a very closed group, when I expressed an idea I had for a script, I realized that they thought I was crazy. Years later, in a meeting I said I was working on a love story between two girls, set in the city and they looked at me, a complicit look of contempt towards my idea. I have that script written, tucked away in one of my boxes.

Apprenticeship

I am proud of my first short film. The final result was not what I had in mind, because I had to solve some problems. Some time later I read in a blog of a filmmaker, whose name I can't remember, that you don't make the film you want, you make the film you can. That phrase stayed in my mind and I repeated it many times to other friends who ventured to make productions, one of them managed to make a film and according to those who attended the film forum, he mentioned me in the conversation, saying that he was right when he said that phrase, it was not mine, I just do not remember who said it.

That short film is one more son for me, I keep it with great affection, because thanks to it, I learned great lessons about life and it helped to forge my way of being. Learning from disappointments, from failures, from mistakes. He also showed me the dark side of people related to the artistic world, preparing me for the battles I had to face later on.

But what I value most is that I met incredible people who helped me to carry out this project. Who trusted this madman who always spoke to them with sincerity. None of them charged a cent, it was all a team effort. Each one received a copy on CD, an expense that I assumed, finishing with all the savings I had. I was left with no money, but with the satisfaction of having made my short film, that dreams could come true. That when you connect with people who are passionate about what you are passionate about, no one can stop you. It doesn't matter if the product is good or bad, if it has technical flaws or is flawless. The important thing is to dare to take that step and take action. I hope that all those who were part of my first short film are well, with some of them I am still in touch and I know they are scattered around the world, United States, Chile, Spain. I wish them all success in whatever they are doing.

Are you one of those who want to make films? do it! Now it's easier, from a Smartphone you can make a video, a short film, whatever you want. Don't let anyone put limits on you, don't believe in those who discourage you, it doesn't matter if you don't have experience, you just have to take the first step. Do it no matter what the world thinks of you or your product.

If you've made it this far in the post, thanks so much for reading! I wanted to share this old memory with all the movie lovers who make life on the platform.

Bye!

El acto tuvo lugar en el museo de la ciudad, en una sala con sillas y un proyector, no en una sala de cine. Había gente de diferentes partes del país. Entre los invitados especiales estaba un hombre que había creado la nueva campaña publicitaria del canal Venevisión y que también había hecho lo mismo para un importante canal de televisión en Panamá. Al estar en esa reunión con muchas personas que supuestamente amaban el séptimo arte, me emocioné, pero muy a mi pesar me decepcioné rápidamente.

En ese momento estaba muy abierto a la gente y descubrí de mala manera que como en todas partes, había mucha gente envidiosa, mala e hipócrita. De todas las cosas negativas saco lecciones de vida, era un joven muy estúpido, pensaba que iba a conocer a mucha gente amable, pero desgraciadamente conocí a mucha gente tóxica y falsa. Por eso no creo en los halagos públicos.

Por un momento pensé que no proyectarían mi cortometraje. Todavía creo que uno de los organizadores intentó impedir que lo proyectaran. Lo vi todo desde la distancia. Hasta ese momento sólo habían proyectado aburridos cortometrajes experimentales, de esos en los que un personaje se limita a mirar el horizonte en silencio durante 10 minutos, sin ninguna trama o historia interesante. Ese es el tipo de productos que le gusta al snob de ese tipo de festivales. ¡Otra lección aprendida, Jotace!

Mi cortometraje contaba una historia, tenía un reparto de unos 20 actores y dejaba un mensaje positivo al espectador. Era muy artesanal, pero al menos tenía coherencia. Había seguido todas las lecciones aprendidas en la creación de una historia, la presentación de los personajes, el desarrollo de la trama, los giros argumentales (3). Pero, al parecer, a las eminencias presentes en la reunión no les gustó.

Aquel importante hombre del canal de televisión del país, se acercó a mí para preguntarme cómo había conseguido que todos los actores trabajaran sin cobrar, especialmente la chica que enseñaba los pechos y me criticó indirectamente por el mensaje positivo que dejaba el final de mi historia, me dijo que al ser tan joven, el mensaje era un poco conservador. Comprendí que al mundo del espectáculo en el país, en esa época, le interesaban las historias en las que los delincuentes eran héroes o que incitaban al consumo de drogas. Por eso no les gustó mi corto, no era lo que querían, en cambio estaban encantados con un corto sobre unos chicos que se ponían una pequeña cámara en los tobillos y recorrían la ciudad en monopatín. Imágenes que no aportaban nada, ninguna historia, ningún mensaje. Contenido vacío, del tipo que le gusta emitir a la televisión del país.

Algunos vinieron a felicitarme, pero noté la falsedad en sus rostros, de hecho era en tono de burla, ya que eran profesionales que habían viajado por el mundo y hecho cortometrajes en España, Francia, etc. Les devolví la misma sonrisa hipócrita. Asimilando, aprendiendo las lecciones que me daba la vida. Sólo dos personas se acercaron a mí de forma más privada y si me felicitaron de verdad, lo pude comprobar, intercambiamos números de teléfono para estar en contacto y hacer algo juntos en el futuro. Gracias a ese tipo de experiencia soy la persona que soy hoy, agradezco haber entrado en ese mar de pirañas, porque después de eso me sentí mejor preparado para lidiar con ellas.

Con los organizadores colaboraría después como actor en uno de sus proyectos, pero soy muy mal actor, lo reconozco. Eran un grupo muy cerrado, cuando expresaba una idea que tenía para un guión, me daba cuenta de que pensaban que estaba loco. Años más tarde, en una reunión dije que estaba trabajando en una historia de amor entre dos chicas, ambientada en la ciudad y se miraron, una mirada cómplice de desprecio hacia mi idea. Tengo ese guión escrito, guardado en una de mis caja.

Aprendizaje

Estoy orgulloso de mi primer cortometraje. El resultado final no era el que tenía en mente, porque tuve que resolver algunos problemas. Tiempo después leí en un blog de un cineasta que no recuerdo el nombre, que no se hace la película que se quiere, se hace la que se puede. Esa frase se quedó en mi mente y la repetí muchas veces a otros amigos que se aventuraron a hacer producciones, uno de ellos logró hacer una película y según me contaron los que asistieron al foro de cine, me nombró en la conversación, diciendo que tenía razón cuando decía esa frase, no era mía, sólo que no recuerdo quién la dijo.

Ese cortometraje es un hijo más para mí, lo guardo con mucho cariño, porque gracias a él, aprendí grandes lecciones sobre la vida y ayudó a forjar mi forma de ser. Aprender de las decepciones, de los fracasos, de los errores. También me mostró el lado oscuro de las personas relacionadas con el mundo artístico, preparándome para las batallas que tuve que afrontar más adelante.

Pero lo que más valoro es que conocí a gente increíble que me ayudó a llevar a cabo este proyecto. Que confiaron en este loco que siempre les habló con sinceridad. Ninguno de ellos cobró un céntimo, todo fue un trabajo en equipo. Cada uno recibió una copia en CD, un gasto que asumí, acabando con todos los ahorros que tenía. Me quedé sin dinero, pero con la satisfacción de haber hecho mi cortometraje, de que los sueños podían hacerse realidad. Que cuando conectas con gente a la que le apasiona lo mismo que a ti, nadie te puede parar. No importa si el producto es bueno o malo, si tiene fallos técnicos o está impecable. Lo importante es atreverse a dar ese paso y pasar a la acción. Espero que todos los que formaron parte de mi primer cortometraje estén bien, con algunos de ellos sigo en contacto y sé que están dispersos por el mundo, Estados Unidos, Chile, España, Ecuador. Les deseo a todos éxito en lo que estén haciendo.

¿Eres de los que quieren hacer cine? ¡hazlo! Ahora es más fácil, desde un Smartphone puedes hacer un vídeo, un corto, lo que quieras. No dejes que nadie te ponga límites, no creas en los que te desaniman, no importa si no tienes experiencia, sólo tienes que dar el primer paso. Hazlo sin importar lo que el mundo piense de ti o de tu producto.

Si has llegado hasta aquí en el post, ¡muchas gracias por leer! Quería compartir este viejo recuerdo con todos los amantes del cine que hacen vida en la plataforma.

Hasta un futuro post.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent post

Dune - The Green Knight - Army of Thieves – Free Guy / FILM REVIEW Lamb / FILM REVIEWMy experience in the film club / CINEMA

linehivebyjc.jpg

Join the community

linehivebyjc.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency