Méandre / FILM REVIEW [Eng – Esp]

Claustrophobic and entertaining sci-fi/horror thriller that seems to drink from the source of other productions with similar elements in its narrative (Cube, Nine Dead,Buried, The Hole, Saw, Oxygen). A mix that on a technical and artistic level works very well, creating an entertaining film and where everyone will have to draw their own conclusions about the story.

Claustrofóbico y entretenido thriller de ciencia ficción/horror que parece beber de la fuente de otras producciones con elementos similares en su narrativa (Cube, Nine Dead, Buried, The Hole, Saw, Oxygen). Una combinación que a nivel técnico y artístico funciona muy bien, creando una película entretenida y donde cada uno tendrá que sacar sus propias conclusiones sobre la historia.

2021-07-10 at 15.36.39.jpg

Source

linehivebyjc.jpg

English

Mathieu Turi writes and directs his second feature film. His first major film was Hostile, a 2017 post-apocalyptic drama that was not to everyone's liking. In that film he mixed a post-apocalyptic future with a love story. For me it was an interesting film, where the filmmaker showed signs of being an auteur with a well-defined vision and character. For this alone he has all my respect, I like risky filmmakers, who think about making the film they want to make, downplaying the importance of the reception they may have. He seems to be aware that his proposal may please many or expose himself to a legion of haters.

Although he is not well known to most of the public, Turi has a stellar track record, which some would like to see. He has worked as Tarantino's assistant director on Inglourious Basterds. With Guy Ritchie on Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows. With Easwoot on Hereafter. In addition to a hundred productions for film and television (Lucy, Gossip Girl, the remake of The Devil's Seed, etc). He must have learned something from his collaboration with renowned filmmakers. You can check out all the projects he has worked on by visiting his IMDB page.

Something I like about the filmmaker, which he had already done in his previous film, is that he leaves many things about the plot unanswered directly. He wants each viewer to dissect his film and find the key elements that can provide an answer or at least give each of us an interpretation of the story.

I think this is good and bad at the same time, because he will surely gain followers to his style and the film will please a group of viewers, but there will also be a large sector that may feel confused, lost and disappointed for not receiving concise answers. The film is entertaining and succeeds in the way it handles the mystery and the dangerous situations that the protagonist must overcome, but we must do our part to find a logical explanation (is there one?) to everything we are seeing.

Español

Mathieu Turi escribe y dirige su segundo largometraje. Su primera gran película fue Hostile, un drama postapocalíptico de 2017 que no fue del agrado de todos los públicos. En esa película mezclaba un futuro postapocalíptico con una historia de amor. Para mí fue una película interesante, donde el cineasta dio muestras de ser un autor con una visión y un carácter bien definidos. Sólo por esto tiene todo mi respeto, me gustan los cineastas arriesgados, que piensan en hacer la película que quieren hacer, restando importancia a la recepción que puedan tener. Él parece ser consciente de que su propuesta puede gustar a muchos o exponerse a una legión de haters.

Aunque no es muy conocido por la mayoría del público, Turi tiene una trayectoria estelar, que ya quisieran algunos. Ha trabajado como ayudante de dirección de Tarantino en Malditos bastardos. Con Guy Ritchie en Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows. Con Easwoot en Hereafter. Además de un centenar de producciones para cine y televisión (Lucy, Gossip Girl, el remake de La semilla del diablo, etc). Algo habrá aprendido de su colaboración con cineastas de renombre. Puedes consultar todos los proyectos en los que ha trabajado visitando su página de IMDB.

Algo que me gusta del cineasta, que ya había hecho en su anterior película, es que deja muchas cosas de la trama sin respuesta directa. Quiere que cada espectador diseccione su película y encuentre los elementos clave que puedan dar una respuesta o, al menos, darnos a cada uno una interpretación de la historia.

Creo que esto es bueno y malo a la vez, porque seguramente ganará adeptos a su estilo y la película gustará a un grupo de espectadores, pero también habrá un gran sector que puede sentirse confundido, perdido y decepcionado por no recibir respuestas concisas. La película es entretenida y acierta en la forma de manejar el misterio y las situaciones de peligro que debe superar el protagonista, pero debemos poner de nuestra parte para encontrar una explicación lógica (¿la hay?) a todo lo que estamos viendo.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

2021-07-10 at 15.37.36.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

What is the plot of Méandre?

Lisa is a woman standing in the middle of a little-traveled road, she seems sad, there is something tormenting her. A van stops, the driver's name is Adam and he offers to take her to the nearest gas station, about 11 kilometers away. She eventually accepts, but on the way she discovers that Adam is a dangerous person. The driver violently brakes the vehicle. After a fade to black, Lisa wakes up in a place that looks like a metallic cube, with a strange suit of futuristic design and a large bracelet that constantly lights up and activates a clock every so often. Without knowing anything, Lisa will have to go through this labyrinth, meandering tunnels that have deadly traps. Excavators, fire, water, acid and deformed creatures. Lisa's struggle to survive and escape from this place has begun. What is it? A spaceship? Is it a dream? Is it Lisa's mind? Is it purgatory? Will she manage to escape or will she die trying? Is she really alive?

¿Cuál es la trama de Méandre?

Lisa es una mujer que está en medio de una carretera poco transitada, parece triste, hay algo que la atormenta. Una camioneta se detiene, el conductor se llama Adam y ofrece llevarla a la gasolinera más cercana, a unos 11 kilómetros. Ella acaba aceptando, pero en el camino descubre que Adam es una persona peligrosa. El conductor frena violentamente el vehículo. después de un fundido a negro, Lisa se despierta en un lugar que parece un cubo metálico, con un extraño traje de diseño futurista y una gran brazalete que se ilumina constantemente y que activa un reloj cada cierto tiempo. Sin saber nada, Lisa tendrá que atravesar este laberinto, túneles en forma de meandros que tienen trampas mortales. Excavadoras, fuego, agua, ácido y criaturas deformes. La lucha de Lisa por sobrevivir y escapar de ese lugar ha comenzado. ¿Qué es eso? ¿Una nave espacial? ¿Es un sueño? ¿Es la mente de Lisa? ¿Es el purgatorio? ¿Conseguirá escapar o morirá en el intento? ¿Está realmente viva?

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-10 at 15.41.31.jpg

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

My opinion

I'll start by pointing out all the positive things about the film. Is it entertaining? The synopsis I've given you occurs in the first few minutes, quickly the protagonist, named Lisa, appears locked in a metal cubicle, where neither she nor we have any idea what it is. The doors open and she tries to escape through this intricate maze that seems to have been designed by someone with superior technology.

What the hell is going on, did Adam kidnap her and put her in that place? How can Adam use technology that appears to be made by otherworldly beings? Is Adam the one behind all this? These are the first questions I asked myself. I had to pay close attention to every detail, I couldn't find an explanation and I didn't see Adam's character capable of creating all those deadly traps that will make Lisa suffer.

The production design and the technical section is impeccable. A fantastic work that makes us feel all the suffering of Lisa going through those tunnels, that will not give her rest to recover. Each stage of the tunnels hides a dangerous trap. The photography creates an oppressive and claustrophobic atmosphere, highlighting the high-tech bracelet that works as the only source of light that the protagonist has to find the way out of that terrifying place.

The possible answers will emerge in the middle of the story (will it be true?) At least that is what we believe when we see how the labyrinth works and what seems to be the entity that controls it. But we shouldn't get complacent. I thought I had guessed the background of it all. The director takes us down a path, but in some parts of the movie there are clues that in my case, were the ones that gave me the information to draw my conclusion from this confusing and crazy story.

Mi opinón

Empezaré por apuntar todo lo positivo de la película. ¿Es entretenida? La sinopsis que les he dado ocurre en los primeros minutos, rápidamente la protagonista, llamada Lisa, aparece encerrada en un cubículo metálico, donde ni ella ni nosotros tenemos idea de lo que es. Las puertas se abren y ella trata de escapar a través de este intrincado laberinto que parece haber sido diseñado por alguien con una tecnología superior.

¿Qué demonios está pasando? ¿Adam la secuestró y la puso en ese lugar? ¿Cómo puede Adam utilizar una tecnología que parece estar hecha por seres de otro mundo? ¿Es Adam quien está detrás de todo esto? Estas son las primeras preguntas que me hice. Tuve que prestar mucha atención a cada detalle, no encontraba una explicación y no veía al personaje de Adam capaz de crear todas esas trampas mortales que harán sufrir a Lisa.

El diseño de producción y el apartado técnico es impecable. Un trabajo fantástico que nos hace sentir todo el sufrimiento de Lisa atravesando esos túneles, que no le darán descanso para recuperarse. Cada etapa de los túneles esconde una peligrosa trampa. La fotografía crea una atmósfera opresiva y claustrofóbica, destacando el brazalete de alta tecnología que funciona como única fuente de luz que tiene la protagonista para encontrar la salida de ese terrorífico lugar.

Las posibles respuestas surgirán a mitad de la historia (¿sera cierto?) Al menos eso es lo que creemos al ver cómo funciona el laberinto y lo que parece ser la entidad que lo controla. Pero no debemos confiarnos. Yo creía haber adivinado el trasfondo de todo. El director nos lleva por un camino, pero en algunas partes de la película hay pistas que en mi caso, fueron las que me dieron la información para sacar mi conclusión de esta confusa y loca historia.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-10 at 15.34.55.jpg

2021-07-10 at 15.34.42.jpg

2021-07-10 at 15.34.29.jpg

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

The film has scenes that fall squarely in the horror genre, the use of traps reminiscent of the SAW saga, although those in the film I review seem to be traps controlled by an entity that is not of this planet.

The protagonist will live an ordeal, a journey full of pain, physical and mental torture. Although there is something from her recent past that torments her, she has the will to live, sometimes it seems that she cannot go on and will give up, but this superior entity does not want her death to be quick either. It seems that its purpose is to push her to the limit, making her suffer horribly, until she accepts the apparent imminent fate.

A formidable performance by the lead actress, who had an important role in the series Vikings. Her work, both emotional and physical, transmits us that great amount of sensations, good and bad, that she lives during the whole story. A great performance, a challenge from which she emerges victorious, with a character who will look for a way to survive until the last moment.

What the hell is this movie really about, what are we watching? When the end of the film arrives, which seemed to me a bit sweetened, after maintaining a constant tension during almost all its duration, I felt a bit confused, but after a few minutes, tying the ends that some scenes leave us (attention to the visual details and some dialogues) I found an explanation of everything narrated. It is my interpretation of what I saw and the most logical sense I found. But I can't tell it in this post, because it would be a big spoiler.

It's a movie that you have to give coherence to, based on your beliefs. I think many viewers will have a different explanation. I like this, it is an ending open to many interpretations that will depend on the experiences, knowledge and beliefs that each one has. A filmmaker with balls to make a production with a story that seeks to make the viewer think. In the end you have two options: love it or insult it.

La película tiene escenas que entran de lleno en el género de terror, el uso de trampas recuerda a la saga SAW, aunque las de la película que reseño parecen ser trampas controladas por un ente que no es de este planeta.

La protagonista vivirá un calvario, un viaje lleno de dolor, tortura física y mental. Aunque hay algo de su pasado reciente que la atormenta, tiene la voluntad de vivir, a veces parece que no puede seguir y se va a rendir, pero esta entidad superior tampoco quiere que su muerte sea rápida. Parece que su propósito es llevarla al límite, haciéndola sufrir horriblemente, hasta que acepte el aparente destino inminente.

Una formidable interpretación de la actriz protagonista, que tuvo un importante papel en la serie Vikingos. Su trabajo, tanto emocional como físico, nos transmite esa gran cantidad de sensaciones, buenas y malas, que vive durante toda la historia. Una gran actuación, un reto del que sale victoriosa, con un personaje que buscará la forma de sobrevivir hasta el último momento.

¿De qué demonios va realmente esta película? ¿Qué estamos viendo? Cuando llega el final de la película, que me pareció un poco edulcorado, después de mantener una tensión constante durante casi toda su duración, me sentí un poco confuso, pero después de unos minutos, atando los cabos que nos dejan algunas escenas (atención a los detalles visuales y a algunos diálogos) encontré una explicación de todo lo narrado. Es mi interpretación de lo que vi y el sentido más lógico que encontré. Pero no puedo contarlo en este post, porque sería un gran spoiler.

Es una película a la que hay que darle coherencia, en base a tus creencias. Creo que muchos espectadores tendrán una explicación diferente. A mí me gusta esto, es un final abierto a muchas interpretaciones que dependerán de las experiencias, conocimientos y creencias que cada uno tenga. Un cineasta con cojones para hacer una producción con una historia que busca hacer pensar al espectador. Al final tienes dos opciones: amarlo o insultarlo.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

The actress / La actriz

linehivebyjc.jpg

2021-07-10 at 15.39.29.jpg

Source

Gaia Weiss is the French actress who plays Lisa. The main character of the film and on which the whole story is based. She is present throughout the film. From the beginning of the film, she is a mysterious character. Why is she in the middle of the road? He accepts Adam's proposal, with whom he will talk and leaves some clues about his life, he is from France, he is a tourist and apparently has a daughter. A magnificent interpretation, not only for all the emotions that the character must convey, but also for the physical work she does in the staging of all that labyrinth where she will be trapped. I think she is an actress who should be more taken into account and hopefully as a result of this powerful work, she will receive better proposals. I saw the actress some time ago, in the first seasons of the series Vikings, where she played Thorunn, one of the first wives of Bjorn Ironside, who was left with a disfigured face after a battle and decided to leave her husband. Where can we see her in the future? According to her IMDB profile, there are three films in pre-production that she is working on. All three projects look interesting and I will be following them closely when they are released.

The other important character is Adam, played by the well-known Finnish actor Peter Franzén. Coincidentally he is another actor who worked in the Viking series, you may not recognize him because in the movie he has no tattoos on his face, but he was the one who played the great King Harald. Unforgettable character of the series. In this movie he plays the mysterious Adam, the man who picks up Lisa on the road. At first we will think he is the sadistic killer behind everything, but then we will discover that he turns out not to be what we expected. He is a very minor character, but an important one in the story.

Gaia Weiss es la actriz francesa que interpreta a Lisa. El personaje principal de la película y en el que se basa toda la historia. Está presente en toda la película. Desde el principio de la película, es un personaje misterioso. ¿Por qué está en medio de la carretera? Acepta la propuesta de Adam, con el que hablará y deja algunas pistas sobre su vida, es de Francia, es turista y al parecer tiene una hija. Una magnífica interpretación, no sólo por todas las emociones que debe transmitir el personaje, sino también por el trabajo físico que realiza en la puesta en escena de todo ese laberinto donde quedará atrapada. Creo que es una actriz que debería ser más tomada en cuenta y ojalá a raíz de este potente trabajo, reciba mejores propuestas. Vi a la actriz hace tiempo, en las primeras temporadas de la serie Vikingos, donde interpretaba a Thorunn, una de las primeras esposas de Bjorn Ironside, que quedaba con la cara desfigurada tras una batalla y decidía abandonar a su marido. ¿Dónde podremos verla en el futuro? Según su perfil en IMDB, hay tres películas en pre producción en las que está trabajando. Los tres proyectos parecen interesantes y los seguiré de cerca cuando se estrenen.

El otro personaje importante es Adam, interpretado por el conocido actor finlandés Peter Franzén. Casualmente es otro actor que trabajó en la serie Vikingos, quizás no lo reconozcas porque en la película no tiene tatuajes en la cara, pero fue el que interpretó al gran rey Harald. Inolvidable personaje de la serie. En esta película interpreta al misterioso Adam, el hombre que recoge en la carretera a Lisa. Al principio pensaremos que es el sádico asesino que está detrás de todo, pero luego descubriremos que no resulta ser lo que esperábamos. Es un personaje muy secundario, pero importante en la historia.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Méandre is a film that you can either love or end up hating. The film will force us to think and draw our own conclusions, with an ending that is too open to different interpretations. The artwork and the scenes of the protagonist surviving all the dangers inside that metallic labyrinth, are entertaining and keep our interest to know what happens and how the story will end.

If you have seen it, you can tell me your interpretation of the movie in the comments.

Méandre es una película que se puede amar o que se puede acabar odiando. La película nos obligará a pensar y a sacar nuestras propias conclusiones, con un final demasiado abierto a diferentes interpretaciones. El trabajo artístico y las escenas del protagonista sobreviviendo a todos los peligros dentro de ese laberinto metálico, son entretenidas y mantienen nuestro interés por saber qué pasa y cómo terminará la historia.

Si la has visto, puedes contarme tu interpretación de la película en los comentarios.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

My Ranking:


3.6/5

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Trailer

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

POSTER

2021-07-10 at 15.33.18.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

The Last Matinee (Al morir la matinée ) / FILM REVIEWNo Sudden Move & The Tomorrow War / TWO FILM REVIEW My Heart Can't Beat Unless You Tell It To / FILM REVIEW

linehivebyjc.jpg

Join the community

linehivebyjc.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments