How to avoid Spoilers / CINEMA OPINION [ENG-ESP]

Nowadays it is a difficult task to avoid spoilers for a movie or TV series. In this post I tell you what I do to try not to eat a spoiler. It worked for me and I hope it helps you to avoid them too.

En la actualidad es tarea difícil evitar los spoilers de una película o serie de televisión. En este post te cuento lo que yo hago para intentar no comerme un spoiler. Me ha funcionado y espero que te ayude a esquivarlos a ti también.


Source - Edited in photoshop

English


We have to go back! We have to go back! was Jack's shout to Kate, as a plane took off and flew overhead. It was the last episode of Lost's third season, titled Through the Looking Glass and aired in the United States on May 23, 2007. I watched it the next day, May 24, due to time differences in my country. The episode blew most fans of the series away, but a week earlier the full plot had been leaked on the internet and many regular readers of sites like Lostpedia, one of the ones I read the most, had found out everything. That was one of the biggest spoilers leaked that ruined the viewing of the series for the unwary or daring, who read it on the internet.

I realized that, from that moment on, I would have to be more careful with the information I found on the internet about my favorite series or upcoming movie releases. Back then I was a frantic reader of movie and series blogs, something that over time I had to decrease, because I kept finding articles that dropped spoilers.

The rise of social networks aggravated the problem. The avalanche of information anyone could share, the proliferation of memes, clickbait news, etc. All of that became an incredible weapon to launch spoilers about a movie or series, revealing things so important that they ruin my experience as a viewer. I want a movie or episode to surprise me, so I try to watch a movie knowing only the basics and be dazzled by the story.

Español

¡Tenemos que volver! ¡Tenemos que volver! Fue el grito de Jack a Kate, mientras un avión despegaba sobrevolaba sobre ellos. Fue el episodio final de la tercera temporada de Lost, titulado A través del espejo y emitido en Estados Unidos el 23 de Mayo del año 2007. Yo lo vi fue al día siguiente, el 24 de Mayo, por diferencias horaria de mi país. El capitulo dejo alucinando a la mayoría seguidores de la serie, pero una semana antes, el argumento completo se había filtrado en internet y muchos asiduos lectores de páginas, como Lostpedia, una de de las que yo más leía, se habían enterado de todo. Eso fue uno de los mayores spoilers filtrados que arruino el visionado de la serie incauto u osado, que lo leyeron en internet.

Yo me percate que a partir de ese momento, tendría que tener más cuidado con la información que encontrara en internet sobre mis series favoritas o próximos estrenos cinematográficos. Para esa época yo era un lector frenético de blogs de cine y series, algo que con el tiempo tuve que disminuir, porque fui encontrando artículos que soltaban un spoiler.

El boom de las redes sociales agudizo el problema. La avalancha de información que cualquiera podía compartir,la proliferación de memes, noticias de clickbait, etc. Todo eso se convirtió en una increíble arma para lanzar spoiler sobre una película o serie, develando cosas tan importantes que arruinan mi experiencia como espectador. Yo quiero que una película o un episodio me sorprendan, por eso intento ver un film sabiendo solo lo más básico y lograr que la historia me sorprenda.

Source

Imagine going to see The Sixth Sense knowing the ending: no more surprise! The secret to that film's success was its twist ending, which left the viewer with their mouth open. I went to see it without knowing anything, there was no facebook or twitter. Those were other times. I had not even seen the trailer. I left the theater surprised, delighted by that surprise ending and grateful that no one had told me a spoiler. To achieve that now? It seems like an impossible task, but I've self-imposed some habits that help me continue to enjoy the seventh art and TV series, without swallowing a spoiler.

Will they work for everyone? I don't know. But they have worked for me. I'll tell you an example so you can see that it works for me: I didn't know anything about Dark for three years. I never watched the series, only when the third season was released and after suggestions from many friends, I watched the whole series. A marvel! I enjoyed incredibly watching the series and for three years I didn't know anything about the story, not a single spoiler. How was it possible, how could I avoid coming across a meme or a tweet that said a spoiler? I tell you with examples, everything I do (or rather, don't do) to avoid running into giant spoilers.

Imagínense ir a ver Sexto Sentido sabiendo el final. ¡Ya no habría sorpresa! El secreto del éxito de ese film era su giro final, que dejaba al espectador con la boca desencajada. Yo la fui a ver sin saber nada, no existía facebook ni twitter. Eran otros tiempos. No había visto el tráiler. Salí de la sala de cine sorprendido, encantado por ese final y agradeciendo que nadie me hubiese dicho un spoiler. ¿Lograr eso ahora? Parece tarea imposible, pero yo me he auto impuesto algunos hábitos que me ayudan a seguir disfrutando del séptimo arte y las series de televisión, sin tragarme un spoilers.

¿Funcionaran para todos? No lo sé. Pero a mí me ha dado resultado. Te cuento un ejemplo para que te des cuenta que me funciona: Yo por tres años no supe nada de Dark. Nunca vi la serie, solo cuando estrenaron la tercera temporada y ante las sugerencias de muchos amigos, la vi completa. ¡Una maravilla! Disfrute de forma increíble viendo la serie y por tres años no me llegue a enterar de nada de la historia, ni un solo spoiler. ¿Cómo fue posible? ¿Cómo pude evitar toparme con un meme o un tweet que dijera un spoiler? Te diré con ejemplos, todo lo que hago (o mejor dicho, no hago) para evitar toparme con spoiler gigante.

Trailers

This is the first weapon of destruction in a movie. Most trailers these days gut the entire movie, don't believe me? Watch the Hobbs & Shaw trailer and it's the whole story in a nutshell. The best scenes, the funny moments, are in the trailer. When you watch the movie in the theater or on streaming service, I'm not excited about something I've already seen in the trailer. It's unfortunate, but Hollywood executives think we're dumb and that they should show us in the promo the best scenes of the movie. I give as an example again a Fast and Furious movie, where the trailer showed a car jumping from one building to another. A spectacular scene that would have been great to see in the cinema and not in the trailer. I'm sure many fans of that saga would have jumped out of their seats, screaming with excitement. But they had already seen it in the trailer, the excitement had dissipated.

That's why I stopped watching movie trailers. It may surprise you that someone who writes about movies watches very few trailers. But that's the reality, I avoid most of them. Sometimes it's hard, the temptation to watch them is great, but I manage to resist the urge and don't watch them. I only watch trailers for movies I know I'm not going to see and I'm not interested in knowing the story through the promotional trailer. I am selective and choose which ones to see and which ones not to see. I'll illustrate with an example: superhero movie trailers I do watch, because there are few of those movies that excite or surprise me. Superheroes, even if they get killed in one movie, will be resurrected in another. But there are other movies that I don't watch the trailer at all, because I don't want to find out anything important or see the best scene in the trailer. Here's my first piece of advice. Don't watch the trailers. I assure you that you will enjoy the movie more.

Este es la primera arma de destrucción de una película. La mayoría de los tráilers de la actualidad destripan toda la película. ¿No me lo crees? Mira el tráiler de Hobbs & Shaw y esta toda la historia resumida. Las mejores escenas, los momentos divertidos, aparecen en el tráiler. Cuando ves la película en el cine o en el servicio de streaming, no me causa emoción algo que ya vi en el tráiler. Es lamentable, pero los ejecutivos de Hollywood piensan que somos tontos y que deben mostrarnos en la promoción las mejores escenas del film. Vuelvo a poner como ejemplo una película de Rápido y Furioso, donde el trailer mostraba un auto saltando de un edificio a otro. Una escena espectacular que hubiese sido genial ver en el cine y no en el tráiler. Estoy seguro que muchos fanáticos de esa saga hubiesen saltado de su asiento, gritado de emoción. Pero ya lo habían visto en tráiler, la emoción se había disipado.

Fue el motivo deje de ver trailes de películas. Te sorprenderá que alguien que escribe sobre cine vea muy poco trailers. Pero es la realidad, evito la mayoría de ellos. A veces es difícil, la tentación de verlos es grande, pero logro aguantar las ganas y no los veo. Solo miro trailers de películas que se que no voy a ver y no me interesa enterarme de la historia a través del tráiler promocional. Soy selectico y escojo cuales ver y cuáles no. Te ilustro con un ejemplo: los trailers de películas de súper héroes si los veo, porque son pocas de esas películas que me emocionan o sorprenden. Los Súper héroes, así los maten en una película, resucitara en otra. Pero hay otras películas que para nada veo el tráiler, porque no quiero enterarme de nada importante ni ver la mejor escena en el avance. Este es el primer consejo que les doy. No vean los trailers. Les aseguro que disfrutaran mejor el film.*

Film and Television Blogs and Websites

You have to be very selective with the sites you read about movies. Years ago I used to follow a lot of blogs and websites, I would check them all looking for a lot of information, as a good movie lover I wanted to know what was new. But more and more blogs were created and many of them are not recommended to read if you don't want to know anything. Some pages would drop spoilers without warning or start discussion threads in the comments. It took me a while to discard blogs that I saw were irresponsible telling important plot details and deleted them from my bookmarks. Today I only go in to read two news sites, one is Spanish and the other is American. I follow about three blogs that don't release spoilers. Another thing I do, is that I don't read any reviews until I see them. Only after watching a movie or series, I look for reviews to compare them with my opinions. My recommendation is to select very well the movie blogs you are going to follow. There is a group of cinephiles on Hive that you can follow with peace of mind, because they won't give any major spoilers.

Hay que ser muy selectivo con las páginas que lees sobre cine. Años atrás yo seguía muchos blogs y paginas, las revisaba todas en busca de mucha información, como buen amante del cine quería enterarme de las noticias. Pero cada vez aumentaban el número de blogs creados y muchos de ellos no son recomendables de leer si no quieres enterarte de nada. Algunas páginas soltaban spoilers sin avisar o comenzaban hilos de discusión en los comentarios. Me costó un tiempo ir desechando los blogs que veía que eran irresponsables contando datos importantes de la trama y los quite de mis marcadores. Actualmente solo entro a leer dos páginas de noticias sobre cine, una es española y otra es americana. Sigo como tres blogs que se no sueltan spoilers. Otra cosa que hago, es que no leo ninguna reseña hasta no verla. Solo después de ver un film o serie, es que busco reseñas para compararla con mis opiniones. Mi recomendación es selecciones muy bien a los blogs de cine que seguirás. Hay un grupo de cinéfilos en Hive que puedes seguir con tranquilidad , porque no darán ningún spoiler importante.

Youtubers

Be very careful with youtubers who talk about movies. Many of them may even drop spoilers in the title of the video, just with the intention of gaining views. I only follow three youtube accounts that deal with movies. A Mexican journalist who is very accurate in her videos, the Spanish guy from sensacine and a cinephile who publishes few videos. Beware of the youtube algorithm, when it detects that you see yotubers who talk about cinema, you get suggestions of other similar channels. watch out!!!!! I don't pay attention to youtube suggestions, I only watch three and play blind to the others. I do not follow channels that put as title "explaining the end of X movie" I am not stupid, I do not need a youtuber to explain me the end of a movie, they just want subscribers to the channel, visits, to make money on youtube. For example, the Mexican journalist I see on youtube, doesn't ask you to subscribe, or hit the little bell, or like. Besides the fact that we almost always agree on the points of view about a movie, she doesn't have the channel to make money. I went three years without watching any Dark video on youtube, for not heeding the recommendations of her algorithm. This is my third suggestion, put it into practice in a staggered way, until you see the results.

Mucho cuidado con los youtubers que hablan sobre cine. Muchos de ellos pueden hasta soltar spoilers en el titulo del video, solo con la intención de ganar visitas. Yo solo sigo tres cuentas en youtube que tratan el tema del cine. Una periodista mexicana muy acertada en sus vídeos, el chico español de sensacine y un cinéfilo que publica pocos vídeos. Ten cuidado con el algoritmo de youtube, cuando detecta que ves yotubers que hablan de cine, te van a salir sugerencias de otros canales similares. ¡Mucho cuidado! Yo no le prestó atención a las sugerencias de youtube, yo solo veo a tres y me hago el ciego ante los demás. No sigo los canales que ponen como título “explicando el final de X película” Yo no soy tonto, no necesito que un youtuber me explique el final de una película, esos solo quieren suscriptores al canal, visitas, para ganar dinero en youtube. Pase tres años sin ver ningún vídeo de Dark en youtube, porque no hacía caso a las recomendaciones de su algoritmo. Es mi tercera sugerencia, ponlo en práctica de forma escalonada, hasta que veas los resultados.

Twitter

This is the nuclear bomb of spoilers. OMG, I've reactivated the twitter account to promote Hive and I only follow the Hollywood Report page to find out some news. But you have to be very careful on Twitter. Stop following people who share spoilers for movies and series. That's the first thing you should do. It doesn't matter if they are your friends, don't follow them! Why? I'll explain with an easy example: Imagine you are a fan of Game of Thrones, but the night the episode of the battle against the Night King aired, you had an important appointment or you were busy at work. For some reason you went on twitter and suddenly you got a gif of Arya killing the Night King (Oh this is a spoiler for those who haven't seen it) ruining the surprise of the episode you were planning to watch later. A simple gif shared on twitter can damage the enjoyment of a movie or series. Twitter is the most dangerous social network for spoilers. Stop following spoilers, spoiler accounts, etc. Ignore trends, don't even look at them. That's what I do, I don't look at trends. I'm just going to share posts and promote the hive. For many this will be difficult, as some people use this social network too much. But slowly introduce habit changes on twitter, eventually you will thank me for it.

Esta es la bomba nuclear de los spoilers. ¡Dios mío! Yo reactive la cuenta de twitter para promocionar Hive y solo sigo a la página de Hollywood Report para enterarme de algunas noticias. Pero tienes que ser muy cuidadoso en Twitter. Deja de seguir a la gente comparte spoilers de las películas y series. Es lo primero que debes hacer. No importa que sean tus amigos. ¡No los sigas! ¿Por qué? Te lo explico con un ejemplo fácil: Imagina que eras un seguidor de Juego de Tronos , pero l a noche que transmitían el episodio de la batalla contra el Rey de la Noche, tenias una cita importante o estabas ocupado en el trabajo. Por algún motivo entraste a twitter y de repente te salía un gif de Arya matando al Rey de la noche ( Oh esto es u spoiler para quien no lo ha visto) arruinando la sorpresa del episodio que tenias planeado ver luego. Un simple gif compartido en twitter puede dañar el disfrute de un film o serie. Twitter es la red social más peligrosa para los spoilers. Deja de seguir a la gente que los hace, a la cuentas de series, etc. No has caso a las tendencias, ni las mires. Es lo que yo hago, no miro las tendencias. Yo solo voy a compartir post y promocionar hive. Para mucho esto será difícil, ya que algunos usan demasiado esta red social. Pero lentamente cambia tus hábito en twitter, con el tiempo me lo agradecerás.

Facebook

Do not think that facebook is not dangerous to find spoilers, it is! Here you should do the same, remove or restrict from your contacts the friends who like to spoil the movie and tell the endings on facebook. I also suggest you stop following groups or facebook pages of a series that is airing and of which you are a fan. why? Even the production company itself can drop a spoiler, don't you think? Let me remind you what happened in 2014, when The Walkind Dead episode titled Coda aired, in that episode Maggie's sister Beth died, and the official TWD facebook page put her image and a farewell phrase on the front page. Furious fans started writing about such spoiler, then they changed the image, but the damage was done. A mistake by the people in charge of the official facebook page ruined the surprise for many. Fortunately I saw the episode as soon as it was aired, but from that moment on I stopped following the official pages of all the series I watched. Here's the other suggestion for not accidentally running into a spoiler.

No creas que facebook no es peligroso para encontrar spoilers. ¡Lo es! Aquí debes hacer lo mismo, elimina o restringe de tus contactos a los amigos que les gusta estropear la película y contar los finales en facebook. También te sugiero que dejes de seguir a grupos o paginas de facebook de una serie que este emitiéndose y seas fanático. ¿Por qué? Hasta la misma empresa productora puede soltar un spoiler. ¿No lo crees? Déjame recordarte lo que paso en el año 2014, cuando se emitió el episodio de The Walkind Dead titulado Coda, en ese capítulo muere la Beth la hermana de Maggie y la pagina oficial de TWD en facebook coloco de portada su imagen y una frase de despedida. Fanáticos furiosos comenzaron a escribir por semejante spoiler, luego cambiaron la imagen, pero el daño estaba hecho. Un error de los encargados de la página oficial en facebook arruino la sorpresa para muchos. Afortunadamente yo vi el capito apenas se emitió, pero a partir de ese momento deje de seguir las paginas oficiales de todas las series que veía. Esta es la otra sugerencia para que no te topes accidentalmente con un spoiler.

The loudmouth on duty

All these suggestions, if you put them into practice, will end up preventing you from running into too many spoilers. But there is one earthquake that can destroy all the effort we make. It is the loudmouth friend, who knows you and knows that you like movies and comes to tell you the whole plot of a movie or what happened in the next chapter of a series you watch. They are not really your friend, but you might like them. It's best to stay away from them, so they don't come with all the intention in the world to ruin your movie watching. I'm a person of few friends, so I don't have that problem.

El bocazas de turno. Todas las sugerencias si las pones en práctica, con el tiempo evitaran que te topes con muchos spoilers. Pero hay un terremoto que puede destruir todo el esfuerzo que hacemos. Se trata el amigo bocazas, que te conoce y sabe que te gusta el cine y viene a contarte toda la trama de una película o lo que paso en el utlimo episodio de una serie que tú ves. Ese en realidad no es tu amigo, pero quizás le tienes aprecio. Lo mejor es que te alejes de ellas, para que no vengan con toda l amala intención del mundo, a arruinarte el visionado de una película. Soy persona de pocos amigos, así que yo no tengo ese problema.

Source

These are my internet and social media habits that I put into practice to avoid encountering a nasty spoiler. I hope they are useful for those who decide to do the same, they have worked for me! Thanks to this I can stumble upon movies that surprise me with their story and I fully enjoy TV series. It is not 100% effective. There will always be the risk of accidentally swallowing a spoiler, but this way you will avoid them. If you have any other suggestions, let me know in the comments, to protect me from spoilers.

See you next post!

Estos son mis hábitos en Internet y redes sociales que pongo en práctica para evitar encontrarme con un desagradable spoiler. Espero que les sea útil a los que decidan hacer lo mismo. ¡A mí me han resultado! Gracias a esto puedo encontrarme con películas que me sorprenden con su historia y disfruto plenamente de las series de televisión. No es algo 100% efectivo. Siempre existirá el riego de tragarnos un spoiler por accidente, pero de esta forma los evitaras. Si tú tienes alguna otra sugerencia, dímela en los comentarios, para resguardarme de los spoilers.

¡Hasta el próximo post!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency