Gaia / FILM REVIEW [Eng -Esp]

After a few days with no desire to watch movies, last night I found a production distributed by XYZFilms, a company that has distributed good productions which I have reviewed in the past, such as Wolf of Snow Hollow, Syncronich, El Hoyo, Come True and Block Island Sound. The latter has in common the subgenre of ecological horror.

Después de unos días sin ganas de ver películas, anoche encontré una producción distribuida por XYZFilms, empresa que ha distribuido buenas producciones las cuales he reseñado en el pasado, como Wolf of Snow Hollow, Syncronich, El Hoyo, Come True y Block Island Sound. Esta última tiene en común el subgénero de terror ecológico.

2021-07-08 at 17.43.02.jpg

Source

linehivebyjc.jpg

English

I call it Ecological Horror, but I think the correct term would be Eco-Horror, a sub-genre that was popular in decades past and was part of the exploitation film mainstream. I think Eco-Horror has evolved, in the older productions the fantastic element was mostly animals rebelling against humans, creatures that caused terror and killed the characters in the story.

The most recent films that I can include in this genre, it is no longer animals or creatures that are the antagonists of the stories. Now it is nature, which is in charge of creating chaos and destroying the characters in those stories. Recently I also saw In The Earht, a film that has some similarities with the one I am about to review.

Block Island Sound is another film I saw, which is part of the ecological horror subgenre, but in it nature was not acting of its own accord, it was manipulated by otherworldly beings, who used every living thing for their experiments.

This subgenre is not one of my favorites, I prefer another type of horror, but it is always interesting to see different proposals. Although Gaia in its concept of how nature acts and what the protagonists must face, may remind and it is possible that it is influenced by a famous video game that is in the process of adaptation to series format. But it is only in the concept of nature as an entity that invades the human body, transforming it into creatures. The rest of the story is totally different.

Another factor that caught my attention and made me decide to see the film, is that it is a film from South Africa directed by Jaco Bouwer, a filmmaker from that country of whom I have not seen any previous work, so my expectations increased, I love to see little known films, difficult to find in the commercial circuit.

The film lived up to my expectations? absolutely! It's an eco-horror worth seeing.

Español

Yo lo llamo Horror Ecológico, pero creo que el término correcto sería Eco-Horror, un subgénero que fue popular en décadas pasadas y que formaba parte de la corriente del cine de explotación. Creo que el Eco-Horror ha evolucionado, en las antiguas producciones el elemento fantástico eran sobre todo animales que se rebelaban contra los humanos, criaturas que causaban terror y mataban a los personajes de la historia.

Las películas más recientes que puedo incluir en este género, ya no son animales o criaturas los antagonistas de las historias. Ahora es la naturaleza, la que se encarga de crear el caos y destruir a los personajes de esas historias. Hace poco tiempo también vi In The Earht, una película que tiene algunas similitudes con la que voy a reseñar.

Block Island Sound es otra película que vi, que forma parte del subgénero de terror ecológico, pero en ella la naturaleza no actuaba por decisión propia, era manipulada por seres de otro mundo, que utilizaban a todo ser vivo para sus experimentos.

Este subgénero no es de mis favoritos, prefiero otro tipo de terror, pero siempre es interesante ver propuestas diferentes. Aunque Gaia en su concepto de cómo actúa la naturaleza y a lo que deben enfrentarse los protagonistas, puede recordar y es posible que esté influenciada por un famoso videojuego que está en proceso de adaptación a formato de serie. Pero es sólo en el concepto de la naturaleza como un ente que invade el cuerpo humano, transformándolo en criaturas. El resto de la historia es totalmente diferente.

Otro factor que me llamó la atención y me hizo decidirme a ver la película, es que se trata de una película de Sudáfrica dirigida por Jaco Bouwer, un cineasta de ese país del que no he visto ningún trabajo anterior, por lo que mis expectativas aumentaron, me encanta ver películas poco conocidas, difíciles de encontrar en el circuito comercial.

¿La película estuvo a la altura de mis expectativas? ¡absolutamente! Es un eco-horror que merece la pena ver.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

2021-07-08-at-17.43.gif

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

What is the plot of Gaia?

Gabi and Winston work for the forestry center and are on a reconnaissance mission in one of South Africa's vast forests. The drone they are using seems to have hit something (or been shot down). Gabi decides to go deeper into the forest while Winston is still in the boat to go change the chip on the surveillance cameras they have installed at various points. Gabi suffers a foot injury, the result of a trap set by Barend and Stefan, father and son, who have been living isolated in the forest for years. They will help Gabi and she will get involved in their lives, discovering that Barend has a special connection with nature, he seems to be a crazy fanatic who practices his own cult of nature and the forest, which is full of fungi, seems to have a life of its own, fed by humans, turning them into blind but dangerous creatures. What mystery does Barend hide? What are these creatures? How should they take care not to become one of them? Why does nature do it? What will be Gabi's destiny? Will she manage to save herself?

¿Cuál es la trama de Gaia?

Gabi y Winston trabajan para el centro forestal y están en una misión de reconocimiento en uno de los vastos bosques de Sudáfrica. El dron que están utilizando parece haber chocado con algo (o haber sido derribado). Gabi decide adentrarse en el bosque mientras Winston sigue en el bote para ir a cambiar el chip de las cámaras de vigilancia que han instalado en varios puntos. Gabi sufre una herida en el pie, producto de una trampa colocada por Barend y Stefan, padre e hijo, que llevan años viviendo aislados en el bosque. Ellos ayudarán a Gabi y ella se involucrará en sus vidas, descubriendo que Barend tiene una conexión especial con la naturaleza, parece ser un loco fanático que practica su propio culto a la naturaleza y el bosque, que está lleno de hongos, parece tener vida propia, alimentada por los humanos, convirtiéndolos en criaturas ciegas pero peligrosas. ¿Qué misterio esconde Barend? ¿Qué son estas criaturas? ¿Cómo deben cuidarse para no convertirse en una de ellas? ¿Por qué lo hace la naturaleza? ¿Cuál será el destino de Gabi? ¿Conseguirá salvarse?

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-08-at-17.45.gif

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

My opinion

A forest, a cabin, four main characters and some strange creatures are enough to capture all our attention, in a forest that conveys mystery and danger.

The most fascinating part of the story is the use of special effects, make-up and photography. For a small film, the special effects in which nature acts as something with its own entity and a definite purpose, are well done, because despite being an element of fantasy, they manage to be credible.

The photography is beautiful and disturbing, a perfect combination that shines in the dreamlike scenes, product of the hallucinations suffered by some of the characters. Especially Gabi. The work is by cinematographer and also producer of the film Jorrie van der Walt. Checking his IMDB profile, he has previously worked with the director and the lead actress.

Those scenes were the ones that triggered a hypnotic power in me. I found those images very seductive, they were the parts I liked the most in the film. I think the images in the film, in the moments when Gabi is under the effects of hallucinogenic mushrooms, helped me with my state of mind.

Not only are the visual effects appealing, the story written by Tertius Kapp introduces us to this universe where nature, in its evolutionary process, is entering its next level, consuming all the beings that for centuries have abused it. In the end it is a somewhat idealistic message that has much relevance today, because of the damage that the hand of man causes to the environment.

Mi opinón

Un bosque, una cabaña, cuatro personajes principales y unas extrañas criaturas son suficientes para captar toda nuestra atención, en un bosque que transmite misterio y peligro.

Lo más fascinante de la historia es el uso de los efectos especiales, el maquillaje y la fotografía. Para ser una película pequeña, los efectos especiales en los que la naturaleza actúa como algo con entidad propia y un propósito definido, están bien hechos, pues a pesar de ser un elemento de fantasía, consiguen ser creíbles.

La fotografía es bella e inquietante, una combinación perfecta que brilla en las escenas oníricas, producto de las alucinaciones que sufren algunos de los personajes. Especialmente Gabi. El trabajo es del director de fotografía y también productor de la película Jorrie van der Walt. Comprobando su perfil en IMDB, ha trabajado anteriormente con el director y la actriz principal.

Esas escenas fueron las que provocaron un poder hipnótico en mí. Encontré esas imágenes muy seductoras, fueron las partes más me gustaron de la película. Creo que las imágenes de la película, en los momentos en que Gabi está bajo los efectos de las setas alucinógenas, me ayudaron con mi estado de ánimo.

No sólo los efectos visuales son atractivos, la historia escrita por Tertius Kapp nos introduce en este universo donde la naturaleza, en su proceso evolutivo, está entrando en su siguiente nivel, consumiendo a todos los seres que durante siglos han abusado de ella. Al final es un mensaje un tanto idealista que tiene mucha relevancia en la actualidad, por el daño que la mano del hombre causa al medio ambiente.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-08-at-17.46.gif

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

Barend's character is the man of science who seems to be mad, convinced that Mother Nature is the new deity he worships. Is he right, is nature a God, and what is Bran willing to sacrifice? Like any cult leader, even if it is only two people, he and his son, he is a man absorbed in his madness, seeing and believing what he imagines nature asks of him.

The more Gabi gets to know these two men, the more she realizes the danger that lurks in their midst. She will also be an element that will make Stefan, Barend's son, who is young and seems to have grown up in the forest, question some of the things his father does. In addition, the young man will begin to feel something deeper for Gabi, it is the first contact he has with another woman in the forest. Stefan will feel the sexual awakening inherent in every human being.

I liked the depiction of the forest, abundant in fungi, which are the ones that penetrate the human being, to feed on his blood, eyes and internal organs. It is an ordeal for those who begin to undergo the transformation, and when they are trapped in this situation, they will beg for mercy and to be killed.

A bite from the creatures, the blood of the creatures, all of this can be deadly and contaminate another human being, who will end up consumed by nature. The forest will feed on them and they will become part of the landscape. Nature doing justice after the constant abuses of man.

The most astute will ask themselves that after the disappearance of those two members of the forestry team, why didn't a rescue team appear in the area a few days later. I asked myself that question, but I let that detail pass because the story and the images had me spellbound. That small inconsistency is what doesn't make it a rounded work. But it doesn't detract from everything else. It is a highly recommendable film, with a bittersweet ending, but which leaves open the possibility of hope in a world that seems to be closer to the apocalypse.

El personaje de Barend es el hombre de ciencia que parece estar enloquecido, convencido de que la Madre Naturaleza es la nueva deidad a la que adora. ¿Tiene razón? ¿Es la naturaleza un Dios? ¿Qué está dispuesto a sacrificar Bran? Como cualquier líder de una secta, aunque sólo sean dos personas, él y su hijo, es un hombre absorto en su locura, viendo y creyendo lo que imagina que la naturaleza le pide.

Cuanto más conoce Gabi a estos dos hombres, más se da cuenta del peligro que les acecha. Ella también será un elemento que hará que Stefan, el hijo de Barend, que es joven y parece haber crecido en el bosque, se cuestione algunas de las cosas que hace su padre. Además, el joven comenzará a sentir algo más profundo por Gabi, es el primer contacto que tiene con otra mujer en el bosque. Stefan sentirá el despertar sexual inherente a todo ser humano.

Me ha gustado la representación del bosque, abundante en hongos, que son los que penetran en el ser humano, para alimentarse de su sangre, ojos y órganos internos. Es un calvario para los que empiezan a sufrir la transformación, y cuando están atrapados en esta situación, pedirán clemencia y que los maten.

Un mordisco de las criaturas, la sangre de las criaturas, todo esto puede ser mortal y contaminar a otro ser humano, que acabará consumido por la naturaleza. El bosque se alimentará de ellos y pasarán a formar parte del paisaje. La naturaleza haciendo justicia tras los constantes abusos del hombre.

Los más avispados se preguntarán que tras la desaparición de esos dos miembros del equipo forestal, por qué no apareció un equipo de rescate en la zona unos días después. Yo me hice esa pregunta, pero dejé pasar ese detalle porque la historia y las imágenes me tenían embelesado. Esa pequeña incoherencia , es lo que no la convierte en una obra redonda. Pero no desmerece todo lo demás. Es una película muy recomendable, con un final agridulce, pero que deja abierta la posibilidad de la esperanza en un mundo que parece estar más cerca del apocalipsis.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

Characters / Personajes

linehivebyjc.jpg

Gabi is the forestry center worker leading the mission, they are exploring the area with a drone, collecting chips from the surveillance cameras. At first she will be suspicious of these men who live like savages, but they will help her heal the wound on her foot. She begins to discover what the forest hides. But she will also discover Barend's madness and his ideas about mother nature. A great performance by South African actress Monique Rockman. I didn't know anything about this actress and now I want to see some of her previous works, I loved her character.

Gabi es la trabajadora del centro forestal que dirige la misión, están explorando la zona con un dron, recogiendo chips de las cámaras de vigilancia. Al principio desconfiará de estos hombres que viven como salvajes, pero la ayudarán a curar la herida de su pie. Comienza a descubrir lo que el bosque esconde. Pero también descubrirá la locura de Barend y sus ideas sobre la madre naturaleza. Una gran interpretación de la actriz sudafricana Monique Rockman. No conocía nada de esta actriz y ahora quiero ver alguno de sus trabajos anteriores, me encantó su personaje.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Barend is the scientist who has made discoveries that have transformed him. Of course, to me he has gone mad. He has left science to be a worshipper of his new god. A disturbing character and one that will be a danger to all. He is played by American actor Carel Nel, whom I have seen in several TV series and movies, including Raised by Wolves.

Barend es el científico que ha hecho descubrimientos que lo han transformado. Claro que para mí se ha vuelto loco. Ha dejado la ciencia para ser un adorador de su nuevo dios. Un personaje inquietante y que será un peligro para todos. Está interpretado por el actor estadounidense Carel Nel, al que he visto en varias series de televisión y películas, entre ellas Raised by Wolves.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Stefan is Bran's son. He and Gabi will begin a strange rapprochement and relationship. He is played by the young South African actor Alex van Dyk. Winston is Gabi's companion, who desperately goes into the forest when he notices that Gabi is in danger, but he doesn't know that he will get in the middle of something he has never seen before. He is played by actor Anthony Oseyemi.

Stefan es el hijo de Bran. Él y Gabi comenzarán un extraño acercamiento y relación. Está interpretado por el joven actor sudafricano Alex van Dyk. Winston es el compañero de Gabi, que se adentra desesperadamente en el bosque cuando nota que Gabi está en peligro, pero no sabe que se pondrá en medio de algo que nunca ha visto. Está interpretado por el actor Anthony Oseyemi.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

2021-07-08 at 17.50.50.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Gaia is an excellent choice, a story that has similarities with other recent films, where nature is the supernatural force that seeks to balance the ecosystem. The victims: human beings, some possessed by their own madness. But focusing it only on a handful of characters and in a certain area, a mysterious and dangerous forest.

I recommend it, I hope your opinion about the film in the comments.

Gaia es una excelente elección, una historia que tiene similitudes con otras películas recientes, donde la naturaleza es la fuerza sobrenatural que busca equilibrar el ecosistema. Las víctimas: los seres humanos, algunos poseídos por su propia locura. Pero centrándola sólo en un puñado de personajes y en una zona determinada, un bosque misterioso y peligroso.

La recomiendo, espero tu opinión sobre la película en los comentarios.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

My Ranking:


3.7/5

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Trailer

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

POSTER

2021-07-08 at 17.47.35.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

The Last Matinee (Al morir la matinée ) / FILM REVIEWNo Sudden Move & The Tomorrow War / TWO FILM REVIEW My Heart Can't Beat Unless You Tell It To / FILM REVIEW

linehivebyjc.jpg

Join the community

linehivebyjc.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments