Ederlezi Rising / FILM REVIEW [Eng - Esp]

The movie is from 2018, but it was a couple of nights ago that I found it while looking for something exotic to watch, it's sci-fi made in Serbia. That's what attracted me because from that country I saw a very perverse and controversial movie years ago. Besides, the official synopsis made me think it was science fiction with a political message, but it turned out to be a film about human behavior, minimalist, low budget and focused on the relationships between the two main characters. I liked it and that's why I'm writing this review.

La película es de 2018, pero fue hace un par de noches que la encontré mientras buscaba algo exótico para ver, es ciencia ficción hecha en Serbia. Eso fue lo que me atrajo porque de ese país vi hace años una película muy perversa y polémica. Además, la sinopsis oficial me hizo pensar que era ciencia ficción con mensaje político, pero resultó ser una película sobre la conducta humana, minimalista, de bajo presupuesto y centrada en las relaciones entre los dos personajes principales. A mí me gustó y por eso les hago esta reseña.

2021-07-12 at 21.18.04.jpg

Source

linehivebyjc.jpg

English

Don't be fooled by the synopsis that you will find on the internet, which caused me a bit of amusement because, like me, you may think that it will deal with political and social issues, but in reality the story is a science fiction erotic thriller.

Although maybe I didn't quite understand what the political background of this work will be. I don't know much about Serbia, I only know that it has a female prime minister, being the first woman to hold that position in the country, as well as being openly gay. The president has been Aleksandar Vučić since 2017. It is precisely one year after his election that this film is released. What is the political message of the film? I don't know, maybe some reader who lives in Serbia and has seen the film, can enlighten me.

I tried to find some criticism of the current society or the system of government in that country, but I couldn't associate anything. I remember the same thing happened with the film A Serbian Film , which according to its own director, stated that it was a criticism against the society and politics of his native country, but although I liked that film very much, I didn't see the social criticism clear either.

Lazar Bodroža is the director of the film written by Dimitrije Vojnov. This was his film debut. Subsequently, the filmmaker participated as one of the directors of a segment of the German horror anthology film Deathcember and has a sci-fi film starring Hollywood star Megan Fox due for release this year. The film is titled Aurora and looks set to return to his minimalist style and will tackle the theme of how loneliness affects the traveler in outer space.

Ederlezi Rising is an intimate science fiction film, with scenes of eroticism, something rarely seen in current productions.

Español

No se dejen engañar por la sinopsis que encontraran en internet, que me causó un poco de gracia porque, como yo, pueden pensar que tratará temas políticos y sociales, pero en realidad la historia es un thriller erótico de ciencia ficción.

Aunque quizás no entendí muy bien cuál será el trasfondo político de esta obra. No conozco mucho de Serbia, sólo sé que tiene una primera ministra, siendo la primera mujer que ocupa ese cargo en el país, además de ser abiertamente gay. El presidente es Aleksandar Vučić desde 2017. Precisamente un año después de su elección es que se estrena esta película. ¿Cuál es el mensaje político de la película? No lo sé, tal vez algún lector que viva en Serbia y haya visto la película, pueda aclarármelo.

Intenté encontrar alguna crítica a la sociedad actual o al sistema de gobierno de ese país, pero no pude asociar nada. Recuerdo que lo mismo ocurrió con la película A Serbian Film , que según su propio director, declaraba que era una crítica contra la sociedad y la política de su país natal, pero aunque me gustó mucho esa película, tampoco vi clara la crítica social.

Lazar Bodroža es el director de la película escrita por Dimitrije Vojnov. Este fue su debut cinematográfico. Posteriormente, el cineasta participó como uno de los directores de un segmento de la película antológica de terror alemana Deathcember y tiene pendiente de estreno este año una película de ciencia ficción protagonizada por la estrella de Hollywood Megan Fox. La película se titula Aurora y parece que volverá a su estilo minimalista y abordará el tema de cómo la soledad afecta al viajero en el espacio exterior.

Ederlezi Rising es una película de ciencia ficción intimista, con escenas de erotismo, algo poco visto en las producciones actuales.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

2021-07-12 at 21.16.10.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

What is the plot of the film?

A social engineer from the Ederlezi corporation informs veteran astronaut Milutin that he will be sent to Alpah Centauri, a colonized planet to transport an Eastern ideology. It is the year 2148 and the capitalist system seems to have created a collapse, that's why the big corporations in charge of colonizing other planets, have assumed socialism as an ideology. ( WTF????). Milutin as a good patriot accepts the mission, but this time he will not go alone. He will be accompanied by Nimani, a super advanced female android, with an artificial intelligence whose operating system makes her learn from the new experiences she will live with her traveling companion. Milutin seems to be a man with problems and now he will have to deal with an android, always having control over her. The relationship between the two will progress and change in the course of the mission. What will Milutin be capable of having an android he can control at will? What will happen when he gets tired of so much submission? Is he mentally prepared for the experience of living together? Can a human fall in love with an android? Can this android gain self-awareness? What is really the goal of the mission?

¿Cuál es el argumento de la película?

Un ingeniero social de la corporación Ederlezi informa al veterano astronauta Milutin de que será enviado a Alpah Centauri, un planeta colonizado para transportar una ideología oriental. Es el año 2148 y el sistema capitalista parece haber creado un colapso, por eso las grandes corporaciones que se encargan de colonizar otros planetas, han asumido el socialismo como ideología. ( WTF????). Milutin como buen patriota acepta la misión, pero esta vez no irá solo. Le acompañará Nimani, una androide femenina súper avanzada, con una inteligencia artificial cuyo sistema operativo le hace aprender de las nuevas experiencias que vivirá con su compañero de viaje. Milutin parece ser un hombre con problemas y ahora tendrá que lidiar con una androide, teniendo siempre el control sobre ella. La relación entre ambos progresará y cambiará en el transcurso de la misión. ¿De qué será capaz Milutin teniendo un androide que puede controlar a voluntad? ¿Qué pasará cuando se canse de tanta sumisión? ¿Está mentalmente preparado para la experiencia de convivencia? ¿Puede un humano enamorarse de un androide? ¿Puede este androide obtener conciencia de sí mismo? ¿Cuál es realmente el objetivo de la misión?

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-12-at-21.16.gif

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

My opinion

The political context we are informed about at the beginning of the story made me laugh a couple of times. The big capitalist corporations, faced with the collapse they have created, decide that salvation is to colonize planets and teach them socialist ideologies. What the hell is this?

Fortunately everything is limited to placing us in the future of the film. From there on, all politics, ideologies, etc. are forgotten. The story has nothing to do with that and I really don't know why they include that information at the beginning of the movie, because it doesn't really influence anything in the development of the story.

Good thing I wasn't swayed by the political introduction to the story, because I didn't want to watch a movie that was propaganda for an ideology that I personally detest.

This is a very low budget production, but the filmmaker who directed it has managed to use the few resources to make the interior of the spaceship believable. Using large spaces, he makes us feel that we are inside a huge spaceship. It is true that darkness is abused and many areas have no lighting, but it is a trick that works well.

It uses a lot of flashing lights, neons and small resources that help to create a futuristic and at the same time retro atmosphere. At times I felt like I was watching a sci-fi movie from the 1980s. Lately it is fashionable to use the nostalgia of past decades, although in this film they do it not for the nostalgic effect, it is because of the low budget to recreate the interior of the spaceships.

I have to praise the director, because he has managed to handle what he had at his disposal to capture on the screen some beautiful scenes of space and the spaceship where they travel. There are a lot of video clip tricks to disguise the visual gaps, but I find the result acceptable.

Mi opinón

El contexto político del que se nos informa al comenzar la historia, me hizo reír un par de veces. Las grandes corporaciones capitalistas, ante el colapso creado, deciden que la salvación es colonizar planetas y enseñarles ideologías socialistas. ¿Qué demonios es esto?

Afortunadamente todo se limita a situarnos en el futuro de la película. A partir de ahí, toda la política, las ideologías, etc. se olvidan. La historia no tiene nada que ver con eso y realmente no sé por qué incluyen esa información al principio de la película, porque realmente no influye en nada en el desarrollo de la historia.

Menos mal que no me dejé llevar por la introducción política de la historia, porque no quería ver una película que fuera propaganda de una ideología que personalmente detesto.

Se trata de una producción de muy bajo presupuesto, pero el cineasta que la ha dirigido ha sabido utilizar los pocos recursos para hacer creíble el interior de la nave espacial. Utilizando grandes espacios, nos hace sentir que estamos dentro de una enorme nave espacial. Es cierto que se abusa de la oscuridad y que muchas zonas no tienen iluminación, pero es un truco que funciona bien.

Utiliza muchas luces intermitentes, neones y pequeños recursos que ayudan a crear una atmósfera futurista y a la vez retro. A veces me parecía estar viendo una película de ciencia ficción de los años ochenta. Últimamente está de moda utilizar la nostalgia de décadas pasadas, aunque en esta película lo hacen no por el efecto nostálgico, es por el bajo presupuesto para recrear el interior de las naves espaciales.

Tengo que alabar al director, porque ha sabido manejar lo que tenía a su disposición para plasmar en la pantalla unas bellas escenas del espacio y de la nave espacial donde viajan. Hay muchos trucos de videoclip para disimular las lagunas visuales, pero el resultado me parece aceptable.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

2021-07-12 at 21.31.13.jpg

2021-07-12 at 21.30.42.jpg

2021-07-12 at 21.30.02.jpg

Source

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

Ederlezi Rising a few minutes after it starts shows its cards and what it's really about. An intimate sci-fi drama, with a high dose of erotic thriller. A combination that could have ended in a big mess, but by the end of the film I was satisfied with the story I was told.

Milutin and Nimani. A human who drags some traumas from her childhood. She is a last generation android, perfectly designed with an artificial intelligence that is learning from new experiences. Two different beings. One has life, blood, heart. The other is just a machine, wires, chips, a computer. Can a real relationship be created between them?

This is the main question posed by the story. How Milutin uses the android, not only as an assistant to the crew, but also to satiate his inherent sexual instincts. He is a man and has biological needs, that machine in the form of a beautiful woman, fulfills the goal of satisfying his primal instinct.

The human being, with its positive and negative parts, is represented in Milutin. He has the perfect woman by his side. She does not create problems for him, she obeys everything he orders her to do. He uses a program to make her have the moods he has installed. What can go wrong? Let the dark side and boredom take over Milutin.

Human behavior is incredibly confusing and sometimes it is difficult to understand behavior. Why do some people kill mercilessly? Why are some people not capable of harming another person? What determines the limit of psychopathy? Are we mentally prepared to have an android that blindly obeys what it is ordered to do?

I believe that someday advanced androids like the ones in the movie will be a reality. I may not see them, but my grandchildren may have that opportunity. This is a topic I am passionate about and that is why I watch so many movies where androids and artificial intelligence are part of human life. What will happen when this becomes a common reality in our lives? Will it be legal to act like Milutin, who even commits a terribly violent act against the android? Will there be laws regulating such behavior? Or will they let it pass, because at the end of the day they are nothing more than machines programmed to serve man.

The film makes us ask ourselves some questions, but we will also see how this strange relationship between human and machine is forged. Milutin no longer wants someone submissive, he wants to go further, to give life to the android, but perhaps in his attempt to give it freedom, things do not go as he expected, endangering the mission and his life. Milutin seems to go crazy, acting like a God willing to create a new life, will he succeed? You have to watch the movie and find out for yourself.

Ederlezi Rising a los pocos minutos de empezar muestra sus cartas y de qué va realmente. Un drama íntimo de ciencia ficción, con una alta dosis de thriller erótico. Una combinación que podría haber acabado en un gran desastre, pero al final de la película me he quedado satisfecho con la historia que me han contado.

Milutin y Nimani. Un humano que arrastra algunos traumas de su infancia. Ella es una androide de última generación, perfectamente diseñada con una inteligencia artificial que va aprendiendo de las nuevas experiencias. Dos seres diferentes. Uno tiene vida, sangre, corazón. El otro es sólo una máquina, cables, chips, un ordenador. ¿Puede crearse una relación real entre ellos?

Esta es la principal pregunta que nos plantea la historia. Como Milutin utiliza al androide, no sólo como asistente de la tripulación, sino también para saciar sus instintos sexuales inherentes. Es un hombre y tiene necesidades biológicas, esa máquina en forma de mujer hermosa, cumple el objetivo de satisfacer su instinto primario.

El ser humano, con sus partes positivas y negativas, está representado en Milutin. Quien tiene a su lado a la mujer perfecta. Ella no le crea problemas, obedece todo lo que le ordena. Utiliza un programa para que ella tenga los estados de ánimo que él ha instalado. ¿Qué puede salir mal? Que el lado oscuro y el aburrimiento se apoderen de Milutin.

El comportamiento humano es increíblemente confuso y a veces es difícil entender la conducta. ¿Por qué algunas personas matan sin piedad? ¿Por qué algunas personas no son capaces de hacer daño a otra persona? ¿Qué determina el límite de la psicopatía? ¿Estamos mentalmente preparados para tener un androide que obedezca ciegamente lo que se le ordena?

Creo que algún día los androides avanzados como los de la película serán una realidad. Quizá yo no los vea, pero mis nietos pueden tener esa oportunidad. Este es un tema que me apasiona y por eso veo tantas películas en las que los androides y la inteligencia artificial forman parte de la vida humana. ¿Qué pasará cuando esto se convierta en una realidad común en nuestras vidas? ¿Será legal actuar como Milutin, que incluso comete un acto terriblemente violento contra el androide? ¿Habrá leyes que regulen ese comportamiento? O lo dejarán pasar, porque al fin y al cabo no son más que máquinas programadas para servir al hombre.

La película nos hace plantearnos algunas preguntas, pero también veremos cómo se forja esta extraña relación entre humano y máquina. Milutin ya no quiere a alguien sumiso, quiere ir más allá, dar vida al androide, pero quizás en su intento de darle libertad, las cosas no salen como esperaba, poniendo en peligro la misión y su vida. Milutin parece volverse loco, actuando como un Dios dispuesto a crear una nueva vida. ¿Tendrá éxito? Tienes que ver la película y descubrirlo por ti mismo.

lineahivebyjc4.jpg

Characters / Personajes

linehivebyjc.jpg

2021-07-12 at 21.36.46.jpg

2021-07-12 at 21.36.18.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

An actress to create controversy.

I didn't have much information about the movie, but when I read the opening credits I recognized a name: Stoya. She is a famous actress in the American adult film industry. For years she was part of Digital Playground. She is an adult film star and has won several talent awards in that industry.

Stoya plays Nimani, the beautiful android who accompanies Milutin on the mission, but in addition to behaving as programmed in her advanced operating system, she is learning and storing new forms of behavior that she learns during the time she shares with Milutin. The actress gives a remarkable performance and I understand that she was selected to be able to shoot the large amount of sex scenes, plus in much of the footage she appears totally nude. I also understand that this may cause some controversy in the most conservative and perhaps this is the reason why the film has not had so much promotion at the time. There is a stupid taboo in the middle of the 21st century about erotic film artists trying to make a career in mainstream cinema.

Sebastian Cavazza is the Slovenian actor in charge of playing Milutin. A professional expert in fulfilling missions, but who has a life full of internal conflicts that go back to his past. The actor is 48 years old and well known in his country, with an extensive filmography, his entire career has been developed within his native country. His character was convincing, but I cannot add more about the actor, whose previous films I have not seen.

With small but important characters, we find the beautiful Marusa Majer playing the Social Engineer overseeing Milutin's mission and Kirsty Besterman voicing the computer assisting on the spaceship. In total there are four characters, of which two have the largest stage presence.

Una actriz para crear polémica.

No tenía mucha información sobre la película, pero cuando leí los créditos iniciales reconocí un nombre: Stoya. Es una famosa actriz de la industria del cine para adultos estadounidense. Durante años formó parte de Digital Playground. Es una estrella del cine para adultos y ha ganado varios premios al talento en esa industria.

Stoya interpreta a Nimani, la bella androide que acompaña a Milutin en la misión, pero además de comportarse como está programado en su avanzado sistema operativo, va aprendiendo y almacenando nuevas formas de comportamiento que aprende durante el tiempo que comparte con Milutin. La actriz hace una interpretación notable y entiendo que fue seleccionada para poder rodar la gran cantidad de escenas de sexo, además en gran parte del metraje aparece totalmente desnuda. También comprendo que esto pueda causar cierta controversia en los más conservadores y quizás sea la razón por la que la película no ha tenido tanta promoción en su momento. Existe un estúpido tabú en pleno siglo XXI sobre los artistas del cine erótico que intentan hacer carrera en el cine convencional.

Sebastian Cavazza es el actor esloveno encargado de interpretar a Milutin. Un profesional experto en cumplir misiones, pero que tiene una vida llena de conflictos internos que se remontan a su pasado. El actor tiene 48 años y es muy conocido en su país, con una extensa filmografía, toda su carrera se ha desarrollado dentro de su país natal. Su personaje fue convincente, pero no puedo añadir más sobre el actor, cuyas películas anteriores no he visto.

Con personajes pequeños pero importantes, encontramos a la bella Marusa Majer interpretando a la Ingeniera Social que supervisa la misión de Milutin y a Kirsty Besterman poniendo voz al ordenador que asiste en la nave espacial. En total hay cuatro personajes, de los cuales dos tienen la mayor presencia escénica.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Ederlezi Rising is a film that I will only recommend to those who like science fiction that deals with artificial intelligence and androids. It's not a film that will appeal to most people, but if you give it a chance, you may be pleasantly surprised by the approaches to human behavior and what may be the next evolutionary process when human-shaped machines are an everyday reality.

I know that reality is a long way off, most of us will not be alive, but these audiovisual products will serve as a study document for those future generations that will have to live a world similar to the one in the movie.

I recommend it only if you like this style of science fiction, if not, watch Black Widow, so you don't come to me and say that I only recommend bad movies. You know, if you have seen it, tell me your opinion in a comment.

Ederlezi Rising es una película que sólo recomendaré a quienes les guste la ciencia ficción que trata de la inteligencia artificial y los androides. No es una película que atraiga a la mayoría de la gente, pero si le das una oportunidad, puede que te sorprendas gratamente con los planteamientos sobre el comportamiento humano y lo que puede ser el próximo proceso evolutivo, cuando las máquinas con forma humana sean una realidad cotidiana.

Sé que falta mucho para esa realidad, la mayoría no estaremos vivos, pero estos productos audiovisuales servirán como documento de estudio para aquellas generaciones futuras que tendrán que vivir un mundo similar al de la película.

Te la recomiendo sólo si te gusta este estilo de ciencia ficción, si no, mira Black Widow, para que luego no me vengas a decir que sólo les recomiendo películas malas. Ya sabes, si la has visto, cuéntame tu opinión en un comentario.

lineahivedelgada.jpg

My Ranking:


3.6/5

lineahivedelgada.jpg

POSTER

2021-07-12 at 21.15.00.jpg

Source

lineahivedelgada.jpg

Gifs and separators made by me in photoshop

Other recent film reviews

Gaia / FILM REVIEWMéandre / FILM REVIEW My Heart Can't Beat Unless You Tell It To / FILM REVIEW

linehivebyjc.jpg

Join the community

linehivebyjc.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments